Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it? (1759 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
Joe_P
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎08-28-2007
Message 1 of 22 (1,759 Views)
Accepted Solution

firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

Hi all,

I'm looking to upgrade the firmware of a Brocade 4100 4/32 switch.

I found the upgrade path in another forum thread:
v5.1.0b -> v5.3.1a
v5.3.1.a -> 6.0.1a
6.0.1a -> v6.1.0c

However, I can't find 6.0.1a anywhere.
There is a link, but there is no file to download: http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?swItem=co-60659-1〈=en&cc=us&idx=0&mode=4&

I'll keep looking, but if someone has a working link, could you please post it?

Thanks.



Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,277
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 2 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

I used version 6.0.0b without problems.

Do you have any 6.0 version?

BTW, 6.1 is followed by 6.2 and even 6.3 now!

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,277
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 3 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareIndex.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodNameId=454521&p...



Looks like 6.0 is not required, according to this:

IMPORTANT: The recommended procedure for upgrading Fabric OS firmware
levels is to limit the release levels to two or fewer releases. For
example, upgrading a switch to v6.1.0c is only allowed from v5.3x Please
read the release notes for further information.


http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12...

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Frequent Advisor
Joe_P
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎08-28-2007
Message 4 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

No, not yet.

The download page has v5.3.1a and then skips directly to 6.1.0c

I'll try to find any 6.0 version then.

Frequent Advisor
Joe_P
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎08-28-2007
Message 5 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

sorry, only read your reply after I posted the answer to your previous reply...

Frequent Advisor
Joe_P
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎08-28-2007
Message 6 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

Torsten, I should really learn how to read these things better.

You're right.

Thanks for fast replies.
Advisor
Francisco Mata_1
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎09-08-2005
Message 7 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

Release notes fro 6.1.0c says:

"Upgrading to Fabric OS 6.1.0c is only allowed from Fabric OS 6.0.0b and later. This policy to support only one-level migration, which began with Fabric OS 6.0.0, provides more reliable and robust migrations for customers."

So it it is mandatory to get a 6.0.X version.

do anybody knows where are them?

Thanks.
Frequent Advisor
TechHelp24
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-24-2005
Message 8 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

If the current FabOS release is lower than 6.0.x ( ie. 5.3.x ) you need firt to upgrade to 6.0 in order to upgrade to 6.1 or 6.2 or 6.3.

You can find more about upgarde procedure in Brocade community forum at http://community.brocade.com
Advisor
Francisco Mata_1
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎09-08-2005
Message 9 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

The problem is to download the 6.0 version.

It is not available from the HP Web.

It should have to be in http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareIndex.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodNameId=454521&p...
But it is missing.
Honored Contributor
Víctor Cespón
Posts: 2,397
Registered: ‎11-09-2007
Message 10 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

6.0.x versions haev been removed, even from the FTP server.

Used to be here:

ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softlib/software9/COL22074/co-58042-1/v6.0.0b.zip

and

ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softlib/software10/COL22074/co-60659-1/v6.0.1a.zip

They are still available internally, so anyone on this situation must contact HP and ask them to upload the file somewhere you can donwload it.
Advisor
Francisco Mata_1
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎09-08-2005
Message 11 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

Thanks Victor, I opened the case whith HP and get the file (as you already know).

Thanks again.
Frequent Visitor
Process evCGI.cgis
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-22-2009
Message 12 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

please It is not available from the HP Web and ftp
Honored Contributor
Víctor Cespón
Posts: 2,397
Registered: ‎11-09-2007
Message 13 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

That's precisely what's stated above.
HP has removed the downloads from the public web and FTP. So call them as ask them to upload the files to some place you can get them.
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,277
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 14 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

What I really don't understand is, on a randomly chosen B-series switch site I find fabric OS versions from 3.something, then

16x 6.1.x
18x 6.2.x

but only a link to the 6.0.0(b) advisories:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?lang=de&cc=de&taskId=130&prodSeriesId=...


A 6.1 version is ~450MB in size, 6.2 version is ~640MB in size.
This makes in summary ~19GB of fabric OS for these versions, but there is nowhere this wanted 6.0.x version...

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Honored Contributor
Víctor Cespón
Posts: 2,397
Registered: ‎11-09-2007
Message 15 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

Pffff, I've complained internally and asked who had the brilliant idea of removing that from the FTP (on other cases the link is not on the downloads page but the files are still on the FTP)...

After a $2.2 billion profit on the 3rd quarter, there should be some loose change available to purchase a 1 TB disk and put firmwares there. 1 TB is enough to store all the firmwares I can think of.

I have even joked about making a collect and give $99.99 to HP so they can purchase at least a 1 TB SATA hard disk...
gco
Occasional Visitor
gco
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 16 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

Hi there,

i have the same issue.
Did someone find this firmware ?

Thx guys
Greg
Frequent Advisor
Joe_P
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎08-28-2007
Message 17 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

Gco,

If you open a case with HP they will provide with a link to download the firmware.
Frequent Advisor
Joe_P
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎08-28-2007
Message 18 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

closing this thread.
Honored Contributor
gregersenj
Posts: 1,214
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Message 19 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

HP has provided links for upgrade path fw:

Interim B-Series Firmware V6.x upgrade path for HP StorageWorks Fibre Channel Switches

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareIndex.jsp?lang=en&cc=dk&prodNameId=3185359&...

BR
/jag
Honored Contributor
gregersenj
Posts: 1,214
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Message 20 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

gco
Occasional Visitor
gco
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 21 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

Hi, thanks for your answers

FW 6.0.x not being on HP website, I finally found my answer here: http://forums11.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=1413036

See you
Greg
Honored Contributor
gregersenj
Posts: 1,214
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Message 22 of 22 (1,759 Views)

Re: firmware brocade 6.0.1a, where is it?

6.0.x
Is available now. I learned appr. one month ago.

Just a service information.

Br
/jag
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.