Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply (1008 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
CLehm
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-11-2011
Message 1 of 19 (1,278 Views)

Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

Hi Folks,

few days ago a power supply in our eva44 was conked out. So we replace the fault ps and the light became back green. But the Management Interface shows still a hardware warning and the controller enclosure properties shows PS2 operational state: "not installed"

Replacing this part again with another ps has no effect. Part-No are identical.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

regards
carsten
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Amar_Joshi
Posts: 511
Registered: ‎11-21-2006
Message 2 of 19 (1,278 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

I have not seen this personally but would try several things.

- CVEVA: Try restarting CVEVA services or if any newer version is available, install it.

- PS: (if above doesn't work) Reinsert Power supply.

- HP will have to refresh the EVA configuration to reflect the correct state of HW.
Please use plain text.
HP Pro
hvhari
Posts: 312
Registered: ‎11-25-2010
Message 3 of 19 (1,278 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

You can also check the LED status on the power supplies. If it does not show fail & CV EVA shows an error, restarting CVEVA should help .

Regards,
Hari

If this post was useful , click the Kudos Star on the left side to say Thanks!
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
CLehm
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-11-2011
Message 4 of 19 (1,278 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

Hi,

thanks for help.

Wether restarting CV nor reinstalling the ps did resolve the problem. Operational state shows still attention.


regards
Carsten
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Víctor Cespón
Posts: 2,397
Registered: ‎11-09-2007
Message 5 of 19 (1,278 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

Sometimes Command View does not refresh the information.

Try closing Command View and restarting it's service (HP Command View in services.msc)

You can also stop the service, delete the CV cache (c:\Program files\Hewlett Packard\SanWorks\Element Manager for Storageworks HSV\cache) and restart the service, this should reload all the configuration and logs from the EVA.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Johan Guldmyr
Posts: 3,804
Registered: ‎06-14-2009
Message 6 of 19 (1,278 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

Might be better to just rename that directory in case you want to get old logs ;)

Was the psu broken/not plugged in during a restart of a controller/power up of the array?


Click the Kudos Star if this was a good post.
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
CLEB
Posts: 366
Registered: ‎11-11-2004
Message 7 of 19 (1,278 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

I've seen that after a failed disk is replaced a discover needs to be done in CV otherwise it does not show the changes.

Perhaps this needs to be done after changing the power supply.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
perillo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 8 of 19 (1,278 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

Hello , i have EXACTLY the same problem - any NEW ideas?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Johan Guldmyr
Posts: 3,804
Registered: ‎06-14-2009
Message 9 of 19 (1,278 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

Can you see in the controller event logs that a new PSU is installed?

Maybe you actually have a midplane problem?

Restart the controllers 1 by 1?


Click the Kudos Star if this was a good post.
Please use plain text.
HP Pro
Niloufer Sharon
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 10 of 19 (1,278 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

Hi, You could try hitting the "Refresh" Button on the Command View EVA home page.
I work for HP.

For more EVA solutions : http://h20180.www2.hp.com/apps/Nav?h_pagetype=s-905&h_lang=en&h_cc=us&h_product=470489&h_audience=smb&h_client=s-h-e010-1&h_audiencerestrict=true〈=en&cc=us
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
RHSysAdmin
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-18-2010
Message 11 of 19 (1,250 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

Ditto: Same issue here. Anyone found a fix yet? Our old PS died (amber light). We replaced it with a new one and the hardware itself now appears clear. All lights on the unit itself are green. But the CV Web UI still shows the PS as not installed.

 

We have refreshed and even restarted the management module with no luck.

 

Checked the power supply itself and all looks good.

Please use plain text.
Advisor
Jianmin Tan_1
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎05-09-2011
Message 12 of 19 (1,239 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

Hi CLehm,

At first,you should try to restart the service of command view eva.

Secondary,copy all log files to other place then install the latest CV EVA software.

Please restart the controller only If those method can't resolve the problem.

---------------------------------

Thanks & Best Regards
JM
Please use plain text.
Occasional Collector
John Stevens_9
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-27-2002
Message 13 of 19 (1,229 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

Just a offhand question, but what version of CV are you running on the SBM / ABM?  What version of XCS? We have 4 EVA4400's in the field and until we upgraded them to at least XCS09534000 / CV 9.2, we used to get all kinds of "false positives" for hardware failures.


I once had a 4400 with both cache batteries "failed" yet the array was operating normally.  It was running XCS9522000 at the time.  We've also had IO controllers "disappear" on the IOB channels on disk shelves (i.e. CV reporting that they didn't exist yet the loops were up and all the lights were green).

 

John

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Ruben Renders
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-27-2009
Message 14 of 19 (1,221 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

Have you examined the controller event log? Are there any notifications about the new power supply?

What is the physical state of the leds on the power supply (orange, green, none)?

 

I suggest you try to restart the command view EVA services. If there is no change, i think it's best you open a hardware case at HP support to clarify the issue.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
amirsem
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
Message 15 of 19 (1,142 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

[ Edited ]

We are experiencing the same exact issue. The power supply is showing as "Not Installed" in Command View although the PS itself is at normal state.

 

Any solutions yet?

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
sbalmer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 16 of 19 (1,122 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

I have the same issue, green led on the power supply 2 and not installed display in the web monitor, i have restarted the services, removed the cache and i keep the not installed display.

 

Any idea, except restart the EVA... 

 

Thanks

 

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
TFerg
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-06-2012
Message 17 of 19 (1,008 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

First thing to try is to restart the master controller in the EVA.  As you are only restarting a single controller all LUNs should failover to the other controller and your hosts shouldn't see an interruption of IO, barring any special circumstances of course.  After the restart of the controller the issue should disappear.  Should the issue remain it may be necessary to restart the HP Command View EVA services running on the Command View server or to restart the management module in the EVA should you be using Array Based Management (ABM) to manage the EVA4400.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
liy90424
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-09-2013
Message 18 of 19 (151 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

Same issue! dose anyone have good idea to fix this problem?

 I found ps2 was dead,and there was a alarm light on the face board.Then i pulled it out to cheak the PN number.After that I insested it back , few secend later ,light went green.and the all alarm light was missing.I found the cveva still shows ps2 is NOT INSTALLED.So I swich the ps2 ,but it still says not installed.I aready refresh the cveva,and restart the cveva server , and I found the log only shows the events  when i pulled outand insert  the ps first time,after that there are only a  few new events, all of them are not related to the ps issue. Is any suggest.

Thank you all any way.If there`s any kind grammer faults i apology it.

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 22,953
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 19 of 19 (148 Views)

Re: Replace EVA4400 Power Supply

I remember a power supply related issue with older firmware. What firmware is running? Current is XCS 11200000.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! star in the left column!   
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation