MSA 2312fc wrong enclosure ID (764 Views)
Reply
Regular Advisor
sam bell
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎11-03-2009
Message 1 of 8 (764 Views)

MSA 2312fc wrong enclosure ID

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

I've just added a second MSA2000 dual IO enclosure to a MSA2312fc dual controller (currently with only one I/O module connected). Usually the new enclosure should have ID 2, however, it is shown as enclosure ID 3.

 

I've already performed a disk channel rescan but this didn't change anything. Does anybody know how the wrong enclosure ID can be corrected?


Thanks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
HP Pro
Sudhakar Subramaniam
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎12-07-2010
Message 2 of 8 (757 Views)

Re: MSA 2312fc wrong enclosure ID

Please refer the below PDF for cabling diagram which should resolve the issue

 

http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c01755933.pdf

Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
sam bell
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎11-03-2009
Message 3 of 8 (755 Views)

Re: MSA 2312fc wrong enclosure ID

Thanks, the cabling looks fine to me? Ctrl A is connected to IO module A. Or is this because I only have one IO module connected?

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Johan Guldmyr
Posts: 3,803
Registered: ‎06-14-2009
Message 4 of 8 (745 Views)

Re: MSA 2312fc wrong enclosure ID

Would this cause any issues?


Click the Kudos Star if this was a good post.
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
sam bell
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎11-03-2009
Message 5 of 8 (740 Views)

Re: MSA 2312fc wrong enclosure ID

I don't think so, but it bugs me that it is not correct. But if it is not possible to correct - I guess I'll have to live with it. Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
SUBHAJIT KHANBARMAN_1
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎03-23-2011
Message 6 of 8 (724 Views)

Re: MSA 2312fc wrong enclosure ID

Try the following,

 

To rescan using SMU, as an Advanced Manage user:

Select Manage > Utilities > Disk Drive Utilities > Rescan.

In the Rescan For Devices panel, click Rescan.


It can take up to two minutes for the enclosure IDs to be corrected.

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
SUBHAJIT KHANBARMAN_1
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎03-23-2011
Message 7 of 8 (720 Views)

Re: MSA 2312fc wrong enclosure ID

Ignore my last post.

 

I hope you have already tried disk channel scan but no go.

 

May be controller restart or the power cycle the array may help.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Johan Guldmyr
Posts: 3,803
Registered: ‎06-14-2009
Message 8 of 8 (718 Views)

Re: MSA 2312fc wrong enclosure ID

Where is this enclosure ID stored?
How and when is it selected? 



Click the Kudos Star if this was a good post.
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation