MSA 1000 with 2 controller and 2 MSA SAN Switch 2/8 + Cisco MDS 9120 (143 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-01-2006
Message 1 of 5 (143 Views)

MSA 1000 with 2 controller and 2 MSA SAN Switch 2/8 + Cisco MDS 9120

Hi there,

We bought MSA 1000 with 2 controller and 2 MSA SAN Switch 2/8

We need to connect(integrate) to an existing SAN network (Cisco MDS 9120)

Please, give us a step-by-step instruction how to configure ports on SAN switch 2/8/ and on Cisco MDS 9120.
I read all documentation that was on CD, but dont resolve the problem.
We have this licenses:
Web license
Zoning license
Fabric license
Valued Contributor
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 2 of 5 (143 Views)

Re: MSA 1000 with 2 controller and 2 MSA SAN Switch 2/8 + Cisco MDS 9120

If this is all new to you, you really need to get someone knowledgeable about configuring switches. ESPECIALLY if your Cisco's are hosting storage to Production servers!!!!!
Below is an example of some of the steps that need to be taken - Carefully!

You need to change the domain names of the 2 new 2/8 switches.
You need to be sure that the OS versions on the Cisco and Brocade switches are compatible. Check with HP. You may, or may not, need to change the firmware on the 2/8 switches depending on what version HP supports when connecting to the Cisco MDS9120.
You will need to fc cable each 2/8 switch to one of the MDS9120's. and do the same for Fabric B.
Once that is resolved you can power on the one 2/8 switch join fabric A, and the other 2/8 switch join fabric B.
Employ switch zoning to connect new servers to storage in the Fabrics.
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-01-2006
Message 3 of 5 (143 Views)

Re: MSA 1000 with 2 controller and 2 MSA SAN Switch 2/8 + Cisco MDS 9120

Thanks for answers.
Is anybody who made a connection between SAN switch 2/8 and Cisco MDS9120?
Is it possible?
Valued Contributor
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 4 of 5 (143 Views)

Re: MSA 1000 with 2 controller and 2 MSA SAN Switch 2/8 + Cisco MDS 9120

You will need to call HP 1-800-okcompaq to be sure. From the latest copy of the MSA1000 compatability guide from the website, it looks like the have qualified the your MDS9120 (a C series switch) with the MSA1000 using 4.x firmware and specific HBAs and drivers).



Occasional Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-01-2006
Message 5 of 5 (143 Views)

Re: MSA 1000 with 2 controller and 2 MSA SAN Switch 2/8 + Cisco MDS 9120

I read MSA1000 compatibility guide
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c00222327/c00222327.pdf

, but it does not helps me. The guide tells that MSA1000 compatible with Cisco MDS9120, but not specifies that SAN switch 2/8 is compatible with Cisco MDS9120. I cant call 1-800-okcompaq, because I live in Russia. That is why I want to ask some people who tries to connect SAN swith 2/8 and Cisco MDS9120 in real? Is it possible?
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.