Re: No System password (114 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
JKrucus
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎06-21-2004
Message 1 of 7 (114 Views)
Accepted Solution

No System password

I have a new (to me) AlphaServer DS10L with console version 7. VMS 7.3-1. When I login at the console as System it logs in without asking for a password, which is a problem. Other accounts ask for a password. The sysuaf looks fine. Com1_mode in the console is set to snoop instead of through. Is this the problem?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Steven Schweda
Posts: 9,074
Registered: ‎02-23-2005
Message 2 of 7 (114 Views)

Re: No System password

Have you tried "SET PASSWORD"?

> Com1_mode in the console is set to snoop
> instead of through.

Eh?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Archunan Muthiah
Posts: 1,050
Registered: ‎05-02-2004
Message 3 of 7 (114 Views)

Re: No System password

JKrucus,

I thing your SYSTARTUP procedure has an entry to not to ask the SYSTEM password when you login from Console.

We can set this "NO password" option in SYSTARTUP_*.COM file, this is useful feature, this prevents situations where you are locked out from the machine should the password be changed or forgotten.

If you don't want you can comment out the following lines from your SYSTARTUP_*.COM file like this.....

$! No system password required for console.
$ write sys$output "[Modifying console settings]"
$ SET TERMINAL OPA0: /PERMANENT /NOSYSPASSWORD

Archunan
God is Artist, we are all just brushes
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
JKrucus
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎06-21-2004
Message 4 of 7 (114 Views)

Re: No System password

That sounds plausible. I will check this when I get back to the office tonight.
Please use plain text.
HP Pro
Ian Miller.
Posts: 4,370
Registered: ‎06-03-2003
Message 5 of 7 (114 Views)

Re: No System password

The system password ment here
$ SET TERMINAL OPA0: /PERMANENT /NOSYSPASSWORD
is not the password for the username system but a password to be entered before the username prompt.

If you login as system not on the console does it as for the password?
___________________
Purely Personal Opinion
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
John Gillings
Posts: 2,992
Registered: ‎07-31-2003
Message 6 of 7 (114 Views)

Re: No System password

when you say "sysuaf looks fine" are you talking about following the logical name "SYSUAF" or a specific file, like SYS$SYSTEM:SYSUAF.DAT? Or, perhaps you're just running AUTHORIZE and accessing a "private" SYSUAF.DAT in your login directory?

Please check the logical name. It may also help to enable login failure audits and see what they say when you try logging in.

I suspect the logical name SYSUAF points to a non-existent file.
A crucible of informative mistakes
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
JKrucus
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎06-21-2004
Message 7 of 7 (114 Views)

Re: No System password

The set password worked.
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation