Re: HIDS Error Message (59 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
Alex Ferreira
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎04-04-2002
Message 1 of 8 (59 Views)

HIDS Error Message


G'day to all,

I have installed HIDS and now trying to create certificates for my host. The error I am getting is :

The IDS_genAdminKeys program is known to run using Java version 1.3.1.
You must install a version of Java greater or equal to 1.3.1.

The thing is, when I do java -version it shows that java is running :

Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.4.2.03-040401-16:07)
Java HotSpot(TM) Server VM (build 1.4.2 1.4.2.03-040401-18:59-PA_RISC2.0 PA2.0 (aCC_AP), mixed mode)

I have installed the patches that are required and also have java running.

Only concern is as root user, when I do a java -version it shows that 1.3 version is running. When I su - ids, it shows that 1.4 is running. Could this be conflicting??

Can someone please advise if something is missing, or if I have left something out.

Thanks

Alex
Honored Contributor
Steve Steel
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎02-13-2000
Message 2 of 8 (59 Views)

Re: HIDS Error Message

Hi

cd /opt
ll

look for javan.n


Probably the users have paths looking at different versions


Steve Steel
If you want truly to understand something, try to change it. (Kurt Lewin)
Occasional Visitor
Tomasz Firek
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 3 of 8 (59 Views)

Re: HIDS Error Message

Hi!

I have the same problem. I have only one Java version 1.3.1.13.
Maybe I have to define some variables?

Regards
Tom
Respected Contributor
Pierre Pasturel
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎12-30-2001
Message 4 of 8 (59 Views)

Re: HIDS Error Message

Alex -

Post the output of the following command:

# swlist -l product | grep Java

Pierre


Respected Contributor
Prashant Zanwar_4
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎04-30-2004
Message 5 of 8 (59 Views)

Re: HIDS Error Message

You can invoke swremove GUI and check what all filesets are associated with Java.
And also
swlist -l fileset -a state

This will tell you if anything is wrong from installetion side and also you can check versions of all filesets. If something is suspicious..get rif of it.

Thanks
Prashant
"Intellect distinguishes between the possible and the impossible; reason distinguishes between the sensible and the senseless. Even the possible can be senseless."
Exalted Contributor
Steven E. Protter
Posts: 33,806
Registered: ‎08-15-2002
Message 6 of 8 (59 Views)

Re: HIDS Error Message

perhaps check the SHLIB_PATH of the user that starts HIDS.

I have run java 1.2,1.3 and 1.4 on the same machines without issue. It is possible without too much complex configuration.

SEP
Steven E Protter
Owner of ISN Corporation
http://isnamerica.com
http://hpuxconsulting.com
Sponsor: http://hpux.ws
Twitter: http://twitter.com/hpuxlinux
Founder http://newdatacloud.com
Occasional Visitor
Tomasz Firek
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-26-2003
Message 7 of 8 (59 Views)

Re: HIDS Error Message

Hi!
Thx for response.

swlist -l product|grep Java shows:

Jdk13 1.3.1.13.00 Java2 1.3 SDK
Jre13 1.3.1.13.00 Java2 1.3 RTE 1.3

All filesets are configured.

How should I set the SHLIB_PATH?

Are there another environment varables that I should set?

There isn't any info about environment variables in HIDS Admin Guide!

Tom
Respected Contributor
Pierre Pasturel
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎12-30-2001
Message 8 of 8 (59 Views)

Re: HIDS Error Message

Tom - Are you having the same problem as Alex? With the products Tom listed, I can not reproduce the problem.

Forget about setting the SHLIB_LIB path. HIDS does not use this.

Instead there is a script called /opt/ids/lbin/ids_checkJavaVersion which sets some internal variables, JAVA_RUN and JAVA_LIB. This script is called by /opt/ids/bin/idsgui and /opt/ids/bin/IDS_genAdminKeys which use those variables to invoke the correct version of java.

For some reason, ids_checkJavaVersion can not find a match. Start adding some echo statements inside the script to print variables to see why it does not find a match. Sorry to have you do this, but w/o being able to reproduce the problem, I can't help you much.

For starters, put the following at the very end of ids_checkJavaVersion:

ids_checkJavaVersion myroutine

Then you can invoke /opt/ids/lbin/ids_checkJavaVersion directly.

Please let me know what you find out.

Pierre














The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.