Re: Quality Center VB Scripting (3666 Views)
Occasional Visitor
Jackson00412
Message 1 of 13 (4,129 Views)

Quality Center VB Scripting

Hey guys/gals,

I'm new to QC and would like to see some vb script examples.

Post away!

Thanks in advance,
Jackson
Frequent Advisor
Sukanya_R
Message 2 of 13 (4,129 Views)

Re: Quality Center VB Scripting

QC is a test management tool. You do not need to know VB Scripting for it. Use of QTP requires VB Scripting.
Valued Contributor
shambu
Message 3 of 13 (4,129 Views)

Hey jackon,

You want more info on VB script and QTP, you can check out my Blog.

http://test-automate.blogspot.com/
http://qtp-automate.blogspot.com/
Valued Contributor
Anliker Marc
Message 4 of 13 (4,129 Views)

Hi Jackson

The last few years I wrote some thousend lines of VBScripts to enhance the possibilities of QC. It makes no sense to provide you with this information if you are not familiar with VBScipt. But I suggest to have a look to the scipts in a new project, you will see only the "empty" subs and functions. Then try the scripts wizards and look where and how the workflow is changed. A possibility is also to check the examples of scripts in the help (however they are not all working...).
Then just try to do some simple changes, you will get familiar with scripting quite soon.
Marc
Occasional Visitor
Jackson00412
Message 5 of 13 (4,129 Views)

Hi Marc,

I have extensive familiarity with vb scripting, and would not mind seeing some of your code snippets. I am just requesting some code snippets in order to get a "feel", if you will, for the scripting environment in QC.

Please get back to me.
Honored Contributor
Rhonda Robinson
Message 6 of 13 (4,129 Views)

That's just it - you're being too vague.

There are lots of different code snippets available in the Administrator's Guide and/or the API Reference Manual.