Re: QC 10 Password Error when attempting to create New Project (359 Views)
Reply
Valued Contributor
CPTLaura
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎12-13-2012
Message 1 of 5 (396 Views)
Accepted Solution

QC 10 Password Error when attempting to create New Project

Good Morning!

 

It seems as though this password error received when attempting to create a new project would be easy to overcome.

 

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

 

A new project has not been created in 2 years on this system.  I can log into the SQL database from the old project without issue.

 

Messages:

Failed to Create Project;

Failed to create Quality Center project;

Failed to check database version with jdbc url jdbc:mercury:sqlserver://STQCDB:1433 and admin td_db_admin;

[Mercury][SQLServer JDBC Driver][SQLServer]Login failed for user 'td_db_admin'.;

 

Stack Trace:

java.sql.SQLException: [Mercury][SQLServer JDBC Driver][SQLServer]Login failed for user 'td_db_admin'.

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserverbase.BaseExceptions.createSQLException(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserverbase.BaseExceptions.createException(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserverbase.BaseExceptions.getException(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserver.tds.TDSRequest.processErrorToken(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserver.tds.TDSRequest.processReplyToken(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserver.tds.TDSLoginRequest.processReplyToken(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserver.tds.TDSRequest.processReply(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserver.tds.TDSLoginRequest.submitRequest(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserver.SQLServerImplConnection.open(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserverbase.BaseConnection.doConnect(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserverbase.BaseConnection.connect(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserverbase.BaseConnection.setupImplConnection(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserverbase.BaseConnection.open(Unknown Source)

at com.mercury.jdbc.sqlserverbase.BaseDriver.connect(Unknown Source)

at java.sql.DriverManager.getConnection(DriverManager.java:525)

at java.sql.DriverManager.getConnection(DriverManager.java:140)

at com.mercury.optane.core.db.CTdDriverManager.getConnection(CTdDriverManager.java:81)

                wrapped in com.mercury.optane.core.CTdException:

at com.mercury.optane.core.db.CTdDriverManager.getConnection(CTdDriverManager.java:88)

at com.mercury.optane.core.db.CConnectionPool.newConnection(CConnectionPool.java:801)

at com.mercury.optane.core.db.CConnectionPool.tryToGetConnection(CConnectionPool.java:588)

at com.mercury.optane.core.db.CConnectionPool.getConnection(CConnectionPool.java:356)

at com.mercury.optane.core.db.CConnectionManager.getNotTransactedConnection(CConnectionManager.java:242)

at com.mercury.optane.core.db.CConnectionManager.getConnection(CConnectionManager.java:215)

at com.mercury.optane.core.db.CConnectionManager.getConnection(CConnectionManager.java:169)

at com.mercury.optane.core.db.CTdDatabaseMetaData.<init>(CTdDatabaseMetaData.java:42)

at com.mercury.optane.core.db.utils.CDbGeneralFunctions.isDbVersionSupported(CDbGeneralFunctions.java:2144)

                wrapped in com.mercury.optane.core.CTdException: Failed to check database version with jdbc url jdbc:mercury:sqlserver://STQCDB:1433 and admin td_db_admin

at com.mercury.optane.core.db.utils.CDbGeneralFunctions.isDbVersionSupported(CDbGeneralFunctions.java:2160)

at com.mercury.td.saserver.api.logics.CProjectLogic.assertDbVersionSupported(CProjectLogic.java:6329)

at com.mercury.td.saserver.api.logics.CProjectLogic.createProject(CProjectLogic.java:1857)

                wrapped in com.mercury.optane.core.CTdException: Failed to create Quality Center project

at com.mercury.td.saserver.api.logics.CProjectLogic.createProject(CProjectLogic.java:1945)

at com.mercury.td.saserver.api.logics.CProjectLogic.createProject(CProjectLogic.java:1710)

at com.mercury.td.saserver.requests.CreateProject.execute(CreateProject.java:56)

at com.mercury.optane.core.web.RequestsDispatcher.execute(RequestsDispatcher.java:91)

                wrapped in com.mercury.optane.core.CTdException: Failed to Create Project

at com.mercury.optane.core.web.RequestsDispatcher.execute(RequestsDispatcher.java:98)

at com.mercury.td.web.CAbsServlet.executeFunction(CAbsServlet.java:449)

at com.mercury.td.web.CAbsServlet.processRequest(CAbsServlet.java:441)

at com.mercury.td.web.CAbsServlet.doPost(CAbsServlet.java:337)

at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:717)

at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:810)

at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:252)

at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:173)

at com.hp.qc.core.utils.gzipfilter.GZIPFilter.doFilter(GZIPFilter.java:30)

at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:202)

at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:173)

at org.jboss.web.tomcat.filters.ReplyHeaderFilter.doFilter(ReplyHeaderFilter.java:81)

at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:202)

at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:173)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardWrapperValve.invoke(StandardWrapperValve.java:213)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContextValve.invoke(StandardContextValve.java:178)

at org.jboss.web.tomcat.security.CustomPrincipalValve.invoke(CustomPrincipalValve.java:39)

at org.jboss.web.tomcat.security.SecurityAssociationValve.invoke(SecurityAssociationValve.java:153)

at org.jboss.web.tomcat.security.JaccContextValve.invoke(JaccContextValve.java:59)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardHostValve.invoke(StandardHostValve.java:126)

at org.apache.catalina.valves.ErrorReportValve.invoke(ErrorReportValve.java:105)

at org.apache.catalina.valves.FastCommonAccessLogValve.invoke(FastCommonAccessLogValve.java:481)

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardEngineValve.invoke(StandardEngineValve.java:107)

at org.apache.catalina.connector.CoyoteAdapter.service(CoyoteAdapter.java:148)

at org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11Processor.process(Http11Processor.java:856)

at org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11Protocol$Http11ConnectionHandler.processConnection(Http11Protocol.java:744)

at org.apache.tomcat.util.net.PoolTcpEndpoint.processSocket(PoolTcpEndpoint.java:527)

at org.apache.tomcat.util.net.MasterSlaveWorkerThread.run(MasterSlaveWorkerThread.java:112)

at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:595)

Regular Advisor
msmithson
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎02-08-2012
Message 2 of 5 (390 Views)

Re: QC 10 Password Error when attempting to create New Project

I had a similar issue that appeared to be the password but ended up my QC license had expired. It does look like your database password has expired for that account though.

Honored Contributor
john scarpino
Posts: 1,344
Registered: ‎02-15-2008
Message 3 of 5 (379 Views)

Re: QC 10 Password Error when attempting to create New Project

Hi Laura,

 

Did someone change the password? Is your system PC or Server off network? Did you loose your QC connection to the server? Try pinging your server do you receive a response.

 

Best regards,

John Scarpino, D.Sc.

Valued Contributor
CPTLaura
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎12-13-2012
Message 4 of 5 (377 Views)

Re: QC 10 Password Error when attempting to create New Project

Thank you, Everyone, for your insight.  Actually, John, I did perform a ping from the DB Server tab in Site Admin, and when it came back successful I was able to create a new project. 

 

Very odd...and makes me wonder what that ping feature actually does.  Does it just go out and confirm connectivity...or by performing the ping does it actually make a connection?  hmmmm.....

 

thank you for responding, I am good to go!

 

Laura

Honored Contributor
john scarpino
Posts: 1,344
Registered: ‎02-15-2008
Message 5 of 5 (359 Views)

Re: QC 10 Password Error when attempting to create New Project

Great to hear! A ping command is a test command to see if you can get a response but it is still sending a small packet from your nic (network interface card) to the servers nic. You may have a bigger networking issue at hand within your environment? You may want your infrastructure team to look into it.

 

Again glad to see you are on your way.

 

John Scarpino, D.Sc.

Keep finding bugs!

 

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.