Continue Manual Run after Design Step Change

by Community Manager on ‎02-02-2012 12:37 PM

Question

Began running a test set, stopped the run and changed a Design Step in the Test Plan module. When I go back into the Test Lab and Continue Manual Run, the changed step is not shown. I have to do Run the Test Set from beginning for the changed Design Step to be brought over - this causes previous run data to be cleared.

Anyone have an idea on how we can bring the changed step over to the test set and continue the run without losing what we had before?

Answer

What you describe Digikey is how the process was designed. It is working as expected.

To preserve the integrity of the original run. The tester needs to start a new manual run. This will copy over the edited plan. The previous run data is not removed. It is still there as a seperate iteration of the test instance.

This methodology requires that all the steps previously executed be re-run. The changes made to the plan may have adverse or unexpected consequences. The steps are re-run to rule out these unexpected effects.


Search
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
HP Blog

HP Software Solutions Blog

Featured


Follow Us
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.