Re: v9.12 PPM Project financial summary is all 0s (515 Views)
Reply
Trusted Contributor
kwood55
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎04-09-2012
Message 1 of 9 (603 Views)

v9.12 PPM Project financial summary is all 0s

I can not get anything in a PPM v9.12 Project's Financial Summary

- Work Plans are MS Project Controlled
- I have a project with a pushed schedule that is 41% complete.
- I do not have staffing Profiles nor Resources
- All background services are running Cost Rate Rule Update, Cost Rollup, Financial Summary Rollup, Task Actual Rollup
- I have Cost Rules that look good to me. Only 2.
- Project Settings > Cost and Effort has Financial Management enabled.
  And I have tried different radio buttons and checkboxes.
  Project Settings > Cost and Effort Time Management is not enabled.
- Both PPM Server log files do not show errors
- Project was created from a Proposal.

At a minimum I would hope that actual cost would be in the Project's Financial Summary.
Based on actual hours and a Cost Rule.

Honored Contributor
dirkf
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎04-07-2010
Message 2 of 9 (573 Views)

Re: v9.12 PPM Project financial summary is all 0s

Ok, so let’s verify some settings please to see what we have…

 


- I have Cost Rules that look good to me. Only 2.

è So, the cost rules are created for what? Resources that are assigned to the workplan tasks? What are the tasks assigned to?

è Make sure that in cost factors, you also have this cost rule category in the priority list (on the right screen and that it is top of the list if you are not using any other cost factors.

 

You need to have the following settings in Cost and Effort project settings (I’ll assume for a minute that you are using cost rules to calculate planned and actual costs that are supposed to be rolled up from workplan tasks:

 

Resource Load Settings section:

Work plan task assignments represent the work load imposed by the project

 

Scheduled Effort in the Work Plan section:

Use Scheduled Effort during planning

… the other settings are optional

 

Actual Effort in the Work Plan section:

Track Actual Effort per resource assignment

… the other settings are optional

 

Financial Management section

Enable Financial Management for work plan

Planned labor costs on the work plan will be: Automatically calculated based on scheduled effort and rates

Actual labor costs on the work plan will be: Automatically calculated based on actual effort and rates

Costs on the Financial Summary:

Calculate the actual labor costs from the work plan and time sheets

Calculate the actual non-labor costs from the work plan.

 

So I’ve created an msp-workplan.

Make sure you only use fields that map per default with PPM

Eg. Actual work: actual effort on PPM side

Make sure that the resources for the task show correctly and that the effort assigned by the task is fully assigned and not unassigned.

 

I imported the workplan to PPM: Check, shows correct results and the finsum shows planned and actual costs…

 

Best regards,

Dirk

 

Please solve this thread if you are satisfied you have the correct answers.

 

-        Kudos always welcome -

Trusted Contributor
kwood55
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎04-09-2012
Message 3 of 9 (569 Views)

Re: v9.12 PPM Project financial summary is all 0s

- When we push a schedule in from MS Project we do not map resources.
  Seq 0 or task 0 Does show the PPM name of the MS Project pusher under the Resources column.
  All other seq/tasks are empty under the resource column.

- My cost rule is simple   Project/Resource/Role Feb 1,2011  Feb 3,2020 USD 100.
  I only have two rules but I know it is using this one since when I change the rate.
  Next run of "Cost Rate Rule Update Service" executes with a duration of 1 sec.
  Next run of "Cost Rollup Service" processes records.
  Remarkably we can get by with a simple rule.

- Also, only working with this for a single Project (all others Financial Mgmt is off).
  For this Project the Financial Management portlet "Project Cost Summary":
    Has a value for Operating Labor Forecast but 0 for Operating Labor Actual.

- For the project in question project settings for Cost and Effort:
  Work plan task assignments represent the work load imposed by the project
  Use Schedule Effort during planning
  Track actual effort per resource assignment
  Time Management is off
  Enable Financiakl Management for work plan

  All Cost and Effort settings were already set as you described.

It looks like the effort is unassigned to a resource.
I will edit the workplan in PPM and manually assign the effort in the resource column and see what happens.

I was hoping to simply let PPM Project Managers simply push a schedule and forget.

I will try the resource thing first.

Trusted Contributor
kwood55
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎04-09-2012
Message 4 of 9 (547 Views)

Re: v9.12 PPM Project financial summary is all 0s

Still can not get anything in my financial summary.

 

I do not know why a MS Project Pushed workplan with a Scheduled Duration of 85 days is computed to be a Scheduled Effort (hrs) of 2,208.

 

Not maing any progress forward.

Honored Contributor
dirkf
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎04-07-2010
Message 5 of 9 (533 Views)

Re: v9.12 PPM Project financial summary is all 0s

 

Since I wasn't able to reproduce it, there MUST be something in your environment that is configured differently than in mine.

Suggestion can only be to open a support case - we'd only be doing trail and error here.

Trusted Contributor
kwood55
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎04-09-2012
Message 6 of 9 (527 Views)

Re: v9.12 PPM Project financial summary is all 0s

Pushed a real simple schedule.

Task 0 duration (days) 4 but Schedule Effort (hrs) is 160hrs ?

Task 1 summary task displays the same.

All 4 tasks display correct scheduled effort (hrs).

 

When I push in a schedule how is Scheduled Effort (hrs) computed ?

Honored Contributor
dirkf
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎04-07-2010
Message 7 of 9 (524 Views)

Re: v9.12 PPM Project financial summary is all 0s

Absolutely no offense meant, but I think I pretty much summed it up in my previous post.

I don't know how MSP or PPM are configured and / or if there are any customizations in place.

Log a call, send screenshot(s) of all sections of the project settings -> MSP-integration and an example mpp-file - then we'll be able to help

Trusted Contributor
kwood55
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎04-09-2012
Message 8 of 9 (521 Views)

Re: v9.12 PPM Project financial summary is all 0s

None taken.

 

Not ready to give up just yet.

 

This is just something I am working on.

Current project managers do not really care about the financials.

They simply want their schedules published in the Work Plan and Milestone Summary portlets.

 

Trusted Contributor
kwood55
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎04-09-2012
Message 9 of 9 (515 Views)

Re: v9.12 PPM Project financial summary is all 0s

First of all I am a Software Hack/Admin and not a project manager.

 

I went back to MS Project and looked around. (I move thru MS Project with the skills of a small child).

When I assigned resources in MS Project they somehow became overallocated (causing weird scheduled effort).

I thougth PPM was computing scheduled effort from my MS Project durations. Not the case.

 

Financial Summary is now showing actual cost. (but no forecast cost)

Financial Management Project Cost Summary portlet is showing actuals (but no forecast labor)

 

 

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.