What does it stand for? (16 Views)
Reply
Super Advisor
sam.greg
Posts: 303
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Message 1 of 8 (16 Views)

What does it stand for?

Hi,

While looking at one DataSource, I could see the following where clause -
"AND KRHD.PARAMETER10 IN ([VP.SCHEDULED_RELEASE.TO_STRING]"


Here, what does VP. stand for?

Sorry, I am new to PPM/QC with little knowledge on SQL.

Thanks in advance.


Regards
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Mahen M
Posts: 1,029
Registered: ‎11-12-2008
Message 2 of 8 (16 Views)

Re: What does it stand for?

VP Stands for Visible Parameter.

You can see two types of naming.

User_data & Visible_user_data (For user Tables)
and
Parameter & Visible_Parameter.(for other Tables)

Mostly the custom field values are stored in 2 values 'ID' in Parameter and 'Name' in Visible_Parameter.

Regards,
Mahendran M
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
sam.greg
Posts: 303
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Message 3 of 8 (16 Views)

Re: What does it stand for?

Thanks Mahendra.

If I need to add new filter to this DataSource, its asking me to add where clause.

Please see image attached (marked red circle). What value I should provide in this case? and how?


Regards,
Sam.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Mahen M
Posts: 1,029
Registered: ‎11-12-2008
Message 4 of 8 (16 Views)

Re: What does it stand for?

If you are adding filter.... which means you are adding a line in Where clause.

The DS Where clause should begin with 'And'

example:

and P.Test_Field = '[VP.Test_User_Field]'

From my portlet
and P.Prj_project_manager_username like '%[VP.PROJECT_MANAGER]%'

Regards,
Mahendran M
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Mahen M
Posts: 1,029
Registered: ‎11-12-2008
Message 5 of 8 (16 Views)

Re: What does it stand for?

Sorry I made a small mistake.

the first part is DB field and the second part is Filter token.

Please see the snap.

Regards,
Mahendran M
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
sam.greg
Posts: 303
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Message 6 of 8 (16 Views)

Re: What does it stand for?

Thanks Mahendra.

Is there any documentation available may be within our build or here in forum?


Regards,
Sam.
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
sam.greg
Posts: 303
Registered: ‎05-14-2009
Message 7 of 8 (16 Views)

Re: What does it stand for?

Hi,

How do I create and populate DB field and Filter token?


Thanks
Sam.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Mahen M
Posts: 1,029
Registered: ‎11-12-2008
Message 8 of 8 (16 Views)

Re: What does it stand for?

By DB, I mean that this is a part of Query.

If I want to run a below Query as a Portlet.

Select * from KNTA_USERS where Full_name ='Mahendran Muthu'

When the Value 'Mahendran Muthu' can be changed to any value like below.

Select * from KNTA_USERS where Full_name ='Sam Greg'

or

Select * from KNTA_USERS where Full_name ='XYZ'

For this Purpose we create a filter. For that filter we have the Token Name called 'TEST_FIELD'.

In the 'When this filter Field has value, append to where clause'

I will write as below

Full_name ='[VP.TEST_FIELD]'

Please note, I am not prefixing 'and' before the clause (Full_name ='[VP.TEST_FIELD]') because it is the first and only 'where' value.

Hope I confused you more :-))

Regards,
Mahendran M
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation