Re: Using PPM commands through PL/SQL (748 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
Keeko
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-20-2013
Message 1 of 6 (837 Views)

Using PPM commands through PL/SQL

Hi,

 

Can we use PPM commands through PL/SQL?

 

The actual requirement is to create Financial Summary Snapshots of projects in the system. The 'Take Snapshot' commands takes request ID as a parameter. Can't think of a way to call this command repeatedly for all projects. 

 

 

Thanks

Advisor
Bharath_Kumar
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 2 of 6 (814 Views)

Re: Using PPM commands through PL/SQL

Hey Keeko,

 

Use the OOB command

 

ksc_take_snapshot

 

which takes the following four arguments as parameters:

1) Req ID, 2) Snapshot name 3) Snapshot Desc and 4) Plan of Record (T or F).

 

if the version was upgraded all the budgets would have automatically converted to FS, however please us the above command in PL SQL code to achieve your goal.

Occasional Contributor
Keeko
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-20-2013
Message 3 of 6 (806 Views)

Re: Using PPM commands through PL/SQL

Hi Bharat,

 

I know about that command, but the question is how can I use it to create snapshots of all the active projects in the system at one go. Trying of doing it through a report, but I'm not sure how to do it. I mean, creating a FS snapshot for single project is one thing, and creating FS snapshopts for all active projects is another. Need some ideas on that

Honored Contributor
Utkarsh_Mishra
Posts: 713
Registered: ‎07-13-2010
Message 4 of 6 (748 Views)

Re: Using PPM commands through PL/SQL

Create a command which loops through the requested Projects/Proposals (can hard code it), then pass the ID one by one in ksc_take_snapshot.

Call this command in Report.

It works, I had done the same to mass update the work plan status.
Cheers..
Utkarsh Mishra

-- Remember to give Kudos to answers! (click the KUDOS star)
Occasional Contributor
PMOpartners
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-23-2009
Message 5 of 6 (526 Views)

Re: Using PPM commands through PL/SQL

That would be really useful, but I would not know how to start to prepare the list of projects and then go through one by one to call the 'take snapshot' special command using commands.

 

Any  prepared examples?

Honored Contributor
Utkarsh_Mishra
Posts: 713
Registered: ‎07-13-2010
Message 6 of 6 (489 Views)

Re: Using PPM commands through PL/SQL

Well, using web servies is the asiest way to do.

 

In case of using command; you can create a CSV file (Project ID, Snapshot description..etc)... and use the method described in this post (below).

 

http://www.unix.com/shell-programming-scripting/31608-read-csv-file-assign-values-variable.html

 

You can google to get more example.

Cheers..
Utkarsh Mishra

-- Remember to give Kudos to answers! (click the KUDOS star)
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.