Re: Upgrading to 4 CPUS LX Pro (145 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Julian Sansom
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 1 of 5 (145 Views)
Accepted Solution

Upgrading to 4 CPUS LX Pro

Hi,
I currently have a Netserver LX Pro (the model on the back says D4315B) and I wish to add another 2 cpus+processor board. The processor board in my system at the moment has the part number D4311-60005 on it.
The problem is that I've noticed HP seem to have about 3 different part numbers for the same (or similar) thing. From what i can tell the D4311-60002/60005/60008 are all compatible, would anybody else be able to confirm this or tell me the difference between these parts? Any help would be much appreciated.
Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
BR642007
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎11-05-2001
Message 2 of 5 (145 Views)

Re: Upgrading to 4 CPUS LX Pro

Julian,

The D4311-60002 has been succeeded by the D4311-60005 which is also succeeded by the D4311-60008. The last partnumber support 200 MHz/ 1MB Cache CPU's, which for instance cannot be used on a D4311-60002 CPU board.

Hope this helps.
...I also hope that you still can get these old parts...

Marco.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Julian Sansom
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 3 of 5 (145 Views)

Re: Upgrading to 4 CPUS LX Pro

ah excellent, I had a feeling it might be that the older models didn't support the 1MB cache cpus. My current CPUs are only 512KB anyway, so thats not a problem. Can i however have one processor board be a 60005 and the other be a different part number as long as all 4 processors are the same speed/cache?
Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
BR642007
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎11-05-2001
Message 4 of 5 (145 Views)

Re: Upgrading to 4 CPUS LX Pro

I think you can mix different CPU board partnumbers because the -60008 is used to replace all broken CPU boards (so the -60002 and the -60005 are replaced by a -60008 when they're bad).

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Julian Sansom
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 5 of 5 (145 Views)

Re: Upgrading to 4 CPUS LX Pro

ah good, I had hoped and logically thought that would be the case. If somebody could 100% confirm that is the case it would be good, otherwise that pretty much answers my question. Cheers for the help :)
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation