Re: Proliant 1600 Will not boot (33 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
asnoble
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-10-2012
Message 1 of 6 (121 Views)

Proliant 1600 Will not boot

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

I have seen a few articles on this particualr model on the site, but need some additional help. Mine powers up, but I get no display. Everything that I can see is hooked up. Am I supposed to have 2 voltage regulators? I have also tried plugging in an PCI video card and am getting the same thing. IMAG0161.jpg

P.S. This thread has been moved from ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL) to ProLiant Servers - Netservers. -HP Forum Moderator
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Jimmy Vance
Posts: 1,363
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 2 of 6 (90 Views)

Re: Proliant 1600 Will not boot

I haven't seen the inside of one of thos systems in years. If I recall, you only need the 2nd VR module if you have a 2nd CPU

 

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
asnoble
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-10-2012
Message 3 of 6 (89 Views)

Re: Proliant 1600 Will not boot

What can I check to rule some of the things out?
Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
Mark Matthews
Posts: 413
Registered: ‎08-09-2001
Message 4 of 6 (46 Views)

Re: Proliant 1600 Will not boot

Looks like you have the 2nd CPU installed without the casing around it.

Both CPUs will need to be exactly the same (which will be difficult to tell with no casing on the 2nd one)

 

You'll also need a 2nd VRM unit installed which it looks like you dont have at the moment...

 

I'd try booting it with only one CPU / VRM and the minimum amount of RAM needed (the label on the inside of the cover should help you with this)

 

 


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please click the white Kudos star to the left if this post is helpful :)
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Matti_Kurkela
Posts: 6,249
Registered: ‎12-02-2001
Message 5 of 6 (38 Views)

Re: Proliant 1600 Will not boot

@Mark Matthews:

 

The "CPU without casing" seems to be only barely half the height of the black CPU module support posts. The layout of the components on the visible side of it seems more like a row of small components than a single big chip with auxilliaries.

 

I would guess that the "casing-less CPU" is actually a CPU bus terminator, which was required in an unpopulated CPU slot in some models.

MK
Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
Mark Matthews
Posts: 413
Registered: ‎08-09-2001
Message 6 of 6 (33 Views)

Re: Proliant 1600 Will not boot

Ahh, well remembered Matti.
You're probably correct, its been a long time since I've seen one of these old servers!


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please click the white Kudos star to the left if this post is helpful :)
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation