SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server (721 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Pharris_1
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Message 1 of 13 (721 Views)

SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

I'm trying to boot a DL360 G5 Server using the SmartStart(SS)CD that came with it(although I have tried different versions, the latest and older ones)

What happens is the server boots without any errors, everything lights up as it should. The drives are detected, ram detected, etc. It then gives the option to boot to SmartStart or the hard drive.

When I select boot from SS the progress bar appears and then fills up to 100% at which point the screen goes blank and nothing happens.

Any ideas

I can't get past this part
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
sanesh vig
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎12-12-2007
Message 2 of 13 (721 Views)

Re: SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

Hi,

Which version of Smart start you are using ?

Have u tried booting from OS CD ?

Which do u want to install ?

Make Sure that the BIOS firmware is updated

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
sanesh vig
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎12-12-2007
Message 3 of 13 (721 Views)

Re: SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

Sorry !!

Which OS do u want to install ?
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
sanesh vig
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎12-12-2007
Message 4 of 13 (721 Views)

Re: SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

Also check the Boot order & Boot controller order in BIOS.

Make sure that the correct controller is selectec as first option under Boot controller order.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Pharris_1
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Message 5 of 13 (721 Views)

Re: SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

Hi

Thanks for your response.

I have tried using the following versions of SmartStart:

7.60
7.90
7.91 (the latest download)

The boot order is set to boot:

CD
Hard Drive
Network
Floppy
USB


The controller order is:

Smart array P400i
HP integrated PCI IDE controller.


I haven't even got to the point where the operating system is required but when I do get there is will be Win2003 Server

I don't have a bootable OS CD and I need to boot into SmartStart
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
sanesh vig
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎12-12-2007
Message 6 of 13 (721 Views)

Re: SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

Hi,

Thanks for the update!!

How many PCI cards are installed ?

Is there any third party Hardware installed in the server? If yes then try to boot without it.


Also, Please make sure that the firmware is updated.

use the following link for the Firmware Maintenance CD

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=15...

Regards
Please use plain text.
Advisor
Mislav Puškar
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-22-2006
Message 7 of 13 (721 Views)

Re: SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

Hi

If you have 2 CPU in your server, try removing one from motherboard. I had this problem on DL360 G4, and it was bad CPU.
You must only take care that CPU0 must be always populated.
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
TRS
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎11-22-2007
Message 8 of 13 (721 Views)

Re: SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

Hi Pharris,
Have u tried with hardware refix??If not just try once.
Try with minimum hardware(single cpu/mimimum ram/without extra hardware)
try after f/w updates also.

Please use plain text.
Advisor
seehigh
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-22-2007
Message 9 of 13 (721 Views)

Re: SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

Go ahead and clear the NVRAM go into the BIOS F9 and set defaults...then let us know !
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Pharris_1
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Message 10 of 13 (721 Views)

Re: SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

Hi

Okay I have removed the second processor and it now will boot into SmartStart.

I'm going to configure the drives and then replace the processor and see if it works. It did detect both processors before so I don't think there is an issue there. Hopefully I can get it working that way.

Will keep you posted.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Allen George
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-02-2008
Message 11 of 13 (720 Views)

Re: SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

I have the same problem with a ML350 G5. I updated the BIOS to the latest version and it made no difference. I took out the second processor (per suggestion in this thread) and SmartStart ran fine. Once the system was built (Server 2003 Enterprise x64) I put the the second processor in and everything appears to work fine.

But.... I built a ML350 G5 a couple of weeks ago and did not have a problem with SmartStart.

Still makes me wonder what is going on though. I fear there may still be some underlying problems that have not surfaced yet.

Any further thoughts on why SmartStart won't run with the second processor installed?
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Pharris_1
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Message 12 of 13 (720 Views)

Re: SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

Okay everyone you'll be please to know that I have resolved the issue but it was a bit weird.

Built the server to win2003 with one processor with no problems

Added the second processor and the server would reach the Win2003 screen where it detects the hardware and then it would reboot, and would loop in this fashion, reaching the same point and rebooting.

I then swapped the 2 processors over and rebooted and it booted without any problems.

I had two identical servers with exactly the same issue and this fix worked for both.

No idea why this would happen as I had been swapping the processors around thinking that one of the 4 was faulty but they all worked fine individually.

It was only the swapping between slots that appeared to fix this.

Hopefully that's helpful and makes sense to everyone.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Doug_134
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-06-2005
Message 13 of 13 (720 Views)

Re: SmartStart blank screen DL360 G5 Server

Check out this advisory.

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&objectID=c01293621&jumpi...

Advisory: SYSTEM ROM UPDATE RECOMMENDED: Mixed Stepping Processor Configurations May Cause a Linux Kernel Panic in Some ProLiant Servers
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation