Re: ProLiant DL380 G7 iLo2 (1050 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
xfirestorm
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-19-2011
Message 1 of 7 (1,846 Views)

ProLiant DL380 G7 iLo2

Hello!

 

We have just received our Proliant DL380 G7 server and while going through the user guide for it, specifically for iLo configuration, the guide describes configuration for iLo2, but when I log in through the web interface to the iLo console it logs me in to iLo3 Standard. But because I needed the iLo console right away I downloaded the trial iLO3 Advanced license and when received the .doc document with the license number the document states:

"NOTE:  Integrated Lights-Out (iLO 2) Advanced software is pre-installed on ProLiant 300 & 500 series servers and advanced features are activated with the above license key."

 

So, now, is it possible to use the iLo2(if advanced is preinstalled on this server at all?) on our server, or will we have to purchase the iLo3 Advanced license?

 

Kind regards,

Thomas

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Johan Guldmyr
Posts: 3,821
Registered: ‎06-14-2009
Message 2 of 7 (1,836 Views)

Re: ProLiant DL380 G7 iLo2

Hi, I searched through the DL380 G7 server user guide ( 594660-00, feb 2011, edition 2) and there is no "ilo2" or "ilo 2" in that document.

What guide were you looking through?

If you look in the quickspecs of DL380 G7 and G5.

http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/13595_na/13595_na.html
http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/12477_na/12477_na.html

You'll see that 512485-B21 is available for both the G7 and G5. Based on that I'd say that the license should work on ILO3.


Click the Kudos Star if this was a good post.
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Sirajul haque
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎09-09-2009
Message 3 of 7 (1,808 Views)

Re: ProLiant DL380 G7 iLo2

I think he got confused

 

All G7 servers will have iLO3, you cannot have iLO2 on it.

 

Now regarding the comment "NOTE:  Integrated Lights-Out (iLO 2) Advanced software is pre-installed on ProLiant 300 & 500 series servers and advanced features are activated with the above license key"

 

You are right, its Pre-installed but not activated. Once you buy/enter license it will get activated and you can use it.

 

Hope this will help you :)

Though I work for HP, I do not represent HP here :)
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Netintegrity
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Message 4 of 7 (1,732 Views)

Re: ProLiant DL380 G7 iLo2

No he's not confused, just badly written.

 

The issue is the same I am having, I have a G7 model, and for some stupid reason the major Australian HP Distributor are not able to supply a ILO license key (paid for), waiting for stock. Wonder how long it takes to manufacture a key...???

 

So in the interim, I thought it would quick to install a trial key, so went to the HP ILO 3 webpage, clicked the correct links for the trial.

 

It provides a document with the trial licence key like so

 

Integrated Lights-Out Advanced - Evaluation License

 

License key: 3323L-4434X-X232C-23426-8W233 (its not the one I have...doctored for posting)

Number of licenses: 10

Duration: 60 days

 

NOTE:  Integrated Lights-Out (iLO 2) Advanced software is pre-installed on ProLiant 300 & 500 series servers and advanced features are activated with the above license key.

 

So what the original poster should have said, is that he tried the License key and it came back as Invalid, and the last sentence in the document is what he hung his hat on, thinking that he has been provided a ILO 2 license. And to be fair to the original poster, with no other versioning numbers on the document, reading that line, you would assume that it was a iLO 2 license....

 

Poorly thought out and executed by HP. Produce a well engineered product, but fail on the "extras".

 

Regards

 

Bob

 

 

Please use plain text.
Frequent Visitor
Livitin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
Message 5 of 7 (1,090 Views)

Re: ProLiant DL380 G7 iLo2

Did you get a solution?

Please use plain text.
Esteemed Contributor
Goutham_Sabala
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎02-16-2012
Message 6 of 7 (1,050 Views)

Re: ProLiant DL380 G7 iLo2

All, this issue is quite common in ILO2/3 , please keep in mind that trial key will be the same for ILO2/3 and 4, the solution lies in resetting the ILO using the ILO bios,
> press at POST F8 and then go into iLO and file > factory reset; then apply again the license via the GUI.
Was the post useful? Say thanks by clicking the white KUDOS Star!
Goutham Sabala
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
saliya
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-04-2009
Message 7 of 7 (889 Views)

Re: ProLiant DL380 G7 iLo2

Thnks a lot.

ILO reset option worked.

 


Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation