Re: Missing Spare Management option in ACU (417 Views)
Reply
Occasional Collector
David Mynatt
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2004
Message 1 of 6 (888 Views)

Missing Spare Management option in ACU

I have an DL380 G5 server with three 72 GB drives and three 146 GB drives.  There are two RAID1 arrays configured.  The first (72 GB drive) array has a spare configured.  The second (146 GB drive) array is missing the option for Spare Management.  See the attached picture.

 

Can anyone explain this?  Is it possible to correct?  I have updated the ACU, but that didn't help.

 

Thanks in advance,

David

Please use plain text.
HP Pro
Suman_1978
Posts: 907
Registered: ‎12-07-2010
Message 2 of 6 (873 Views)

Re: Missing Spare Management option in ACU

Hi David,

 

What is the ! mark/message about?

Have you tried updating the P400 firmware for this issue?

Is a BBWC installed?

 

Technically speaking P400 should be able to handel multiple Spare Drives.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Matty-CT
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
Message 3 of 6 (859 Views)

Re: Missing Spare Management option in ACU

[ Edited ]

If you haven't already, try upgrading to the latest ACU for Windows for your server.  It has fixed any number of problems for me over the years.  Good luck!

 

*edit* Whoops!  Just re-read your post.  I notice in your screen shot that the little yellow exclamation point is showing on your P400. This means that some ACU process is underway.  Normally, no changes to arrays can be made while in this state.  I wonder if the problem went away after the controller finished its task...

Please use plain text.
Visitor
Ray Winchester
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-28-2003
Message 4 of 6 (432 Views)

Re: Missing Spare Management option in ACU

I have the same problem. Did any one solve it. May have to raise call with HP. See attachment.

Thanks for any help,

 

Ray

 

Please use plain text.
Visitor
Ray Winchester
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-28-2003
Message 5 of 6 (426 Views)

Re: Missing Spare Management option in ACU

Here is attachment.

Please use plain text.
Visitor
Ray Winchester
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-28-2003
Message 6 of 6 (417 Views)

Re: Missing Spare Management option in ACU

I tried also to do it aci cli with command

 

ctrl slot=0 array A add spares=1:8

 

Got message reason "assignable spares not available"

 

attaching diag report.

 

We have 50 identical servers and only this one so far has this error.

 

System managements has no errors. Raid battery is OK.

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation