ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool. (3478 Views)
Reply
Advisor
yesilbeyaz
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
Message 1 of 35 (3,478 Views)
Accepted Solution

ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

[ Edited ]

For some reasons I can not mount iso with virtual media. So I want to upgrade ilos firmware. Can I do the upgrade from linux tool ipmitool? I can do lots of things. But not sure about firmware upgrade.

Is there a how to?

 

Thanks

Honored Contributor
Jimmy Vance
Posts: 1,576
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 2 of 35 (3,451 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

Not sure if it is possible to do the firmware over ipmi. You can extract the .scexe file and load the .bin file using the iLO web interface

Advisor
yesilbeyaz
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
Message 3 of 35 (3,442 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

I have ilo1 and 2 but none of them has ilo upload menu. Am I missing something? Not sure but maybe ilo 3 has such feature?

I maybe upload using PXE boot?

Honored Contributor
Matti_Kurkela
Posts: 6,271
Registered: ‎12-02-2001
Message 4 of 35 (3,433 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

ILO1: Use a web browser to login to the iLO web UI with an account that has iLO configuration privileges, open Administration tab, select "Upgrade ILO firmware" from the left column.

 

ILO2: Use a web browser to login to the iLO2 web UI with an account that has iLO configuration privileges, open Administration tab, select "iLO 2 Firmware" from the left column.

MK
Advisor
yesilbeyaz
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
Message 5 of 35 (3,420 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

I tried different user levels, as there are OEM, Administrator, Operator and User. Tried loggining with each of them, but I donot see ilo firmware update menu. Are you sure there must be?

Honored Contributor
Oscar A. Perez
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎11-01-2005
Message 6 of 35 (3,412 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

You cannot update iLO firmware using IPMI. Try logging to iLO webGUI and flash it from there or download the Online Flash Component for your OS.
Advisor
yesilbeyaz
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
Message 7 of 35 (3,392 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

There  is not an option on Webgui.

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,451
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 8 of 35 (3,381 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

[ Edited ]

What servers do you have and what are the installed versions?

 

Is this a LO100 by chance?


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Honored Contributor
Matti_Kurkela
Posts: 6,271
Registered: ‎12-02-2001
Message 9 of 35 (3,370 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

iLO 1 web GUI login should look like this:

 

ilo1-login.png

 

 

After login, the firmware upgrade option can be found like this: (bright red text added by me)

ilo1-upgrade.png

MK
Honored Contributor
Matti_Kurkela
Posts: 6,271
Registered: ‎12-02-2001
Message 10 of 35 (3,366 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

iLO2 web GUI login screen should look like this:

ilo2-login.png

 

And the firmware upgrade option is the first one on the Administration tab:

ilo2-upgrade.png

MK
Advisor
yesilbeyaz
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
Message 11 of 35 (3,355 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

Here are each screen shot and you can see servers' model. Note that firemware download button on some of them says only this:

Firmware Download

  TFTP Server IP Address: Firmware File Name:
(Relative to TFTP server's root)

Please enter TFTP server IP address and firmware fully qualified filename.
Refresh browser for status.

Note: After a successful download the BMC will automatically reset.

 

 

 

1.png

 

 

 

2.png

 

3.png

 

 

4.png

 

5.png

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,451
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 12 of 35 (3,349 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

[ Edited ]

these are all LO100.

get the bootable usb image from the web.

 

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/psi/swdDetails/?sp4ts.oid=3884344&sp...

 

 

For virtual media/kvm you need the advanced licence.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
anthony11
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 13 of 35 (3,338 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.


Jimmy Vance wrote:

Not sure if it is possible to do the firmware over ipmi. You can extract the .scexe file and load the .bin file using the iLO web interface


I've been doing that for BIOS on ESXi iLO4 systems, but in this case, why not just run the .scexe file directly?

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,451
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 14 of 35 (3,337 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

Here is the linux file (Version 4.26):

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/psi/swdDetails/?sp4ts.oid=3884344&sp...

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Honored Contributor
Matti_Kurkela
Posts: 6,271
Registered: ‎12-02-2001
Message 15 of 35 (3,328 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

Note that Torsten's link was for G6/G7 series servers with LO100 only.

 

For the version of LO100 in DL140 G3, you'll need another download:

 

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/psi/swdDetails/?sp4ts.oid=3285485&sp...

MK
Advisor
yesilbeyaz
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
Message 16 of 35 (3,296 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

Thank you guys. Some more questions;
Is LO100 older version of ILO1 ?

@anthony11
    Can you please post the command that you use to flash BIOS via ipmitool within linux? All my servers are Debian based. So I may try to upgrade LO from ssh using ipmitool?
    
On linux file version page, .scexe file, there are these linux versions,
    Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 (x86), Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 (AMD64/EM64T), SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 10 (x86), SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 10 (AMD64/EM64T), Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 Server (x86-64), Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 Server (x86), SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 (x86), SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 (AMD64/EM64T), Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 Server (x86), Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 Server (x86-64)
    
Our servers are debian so can I still install .scexe file?
    
Thank you again.

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,451
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 17 of 35 (3,290 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

create the bootable usb key and boot to update. a reboot is needed anyway.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Honored Contributor
Jimmy Vance
Posts: 1,576
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 18 of 35 (3,288 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

LO100 is not in the same family as any generation iLO. It was used in the G6/G7 ProLiant 100 series systems.  The 300, 500, 700 series ProLiant and the Blade server all have iLO

 

the .scexe file is pretty much a shell script.  you should be able to run the scexe file and if all the dependencies are there it should work. If not you can extract the files by running something like listed below so you can poke around in the scripts

 

/filename.scexe --unpack=path/that/you/select

 

 

 

 

Advisor
yesilbeyaz
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
Message 19 of 35 (3,281 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

As I said in first post, I can not mount iso image, It does not work on some server. And I read also some other having same issue. So I tried to upgrade LO via alternative method. From SSH by ipmitool, or PXE boot.
Regular Advisor
anthony11
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 20 of 35 (3,277 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

[ Edited ]

yesilbeyaz wrote:
As I said in first post, I can not mount iso image, It does not work on some server. And I read also some other having same issue. So I tried to upgrade LO via alternative method. From SSH by ipmitool, or PXE boot.

What ISO image?  iLO 2 2.20 is available here:

 

http://h20566.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/psi/swdDetails/?sp4ts.oid=1135772&sp...

 

Download the .scexe file and run it.

 

For iLO 1 (which I've never used) 1.94 is here:

 

http://h20566.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/psi/swdDetails/?sp4ts.oid=397991&spf...

 

 If you had a .iso file, you could just copy that to the system and do a read-only loopback mount to extract files from it.

 

 

 

Trusted Contributor
Casper42
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎10-07-2010
Message 21 of 35 (3,269 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

Anthony, he has LO100i which as mentioned above is NOT the same as iLO.

LO100i was a 3rd party BMC with HP Firmware.
This was only used in some 100 series machines to save cost.

iLO 1/2/3/4 are all HP Designed ASIC (Processor).
As of Gen8, LO100i is no longer used and all new models have iLO4.

So while the help is appreciated, stop giving him download links for iLO :)
Trusted Contributor
Casper42
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎10-07-2010
Message 22 of 35 (3,263 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

PS: It looks like you can only do a USB Firmware update on those LO100i models like Torsten reccomended.

Download this and run it from a WINDOWS machine to create the USB Key.
Then you can put the USB Key into the DL180 and boot from it.

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/psi/swdHome/?sp4ts.oid=3884340&spf_p... - Management
Regular Advisor
anthony11
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 23 of 35 (3,256 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

Doh.  Sorry.  I only saw "I have ilo1 and 2" early on and missed the later information.

 

Advisor
yesilbeyaz
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
Message 24 of 35 (3,248 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

Ok thank you guys. I now know that they are only Lights-Out 100i Remote Management no way of ILO. And there seems to be only usb media key. But I can make is iso maybe and use PXE boot to flash LO.

 

Only think I still wonder, do you think PXE boot can be used to flash firmware logically?

Trusted Contributor
Casper42
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎10-07-2010
Message 25 of 35 (3,234 Views)

Re: ILO Firmware update via command line with ipmitool.

The HP USB Key deployments typically use DOS as the underlying OS and I am not sure you will be able to easily get that to work over PXE.

If you download the above SP62696.exe I linked to, you will find you can extract the contents with any decent zip/rar type tool.
They provide the USB contents, raw files and ISO.
The ISO is using Floppy emulation within the El Torito boot spec and is emulating a 2.88MB Floppy disk.

If you can somehow chain load that ISO over PXE, you might be able to get it to work.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.