Re: HP Proliant M110 G6 Reset BIOS will affect RAID 0? (739 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-12-2013
Message 1 of 7 (765 Views)

HP Proliant M110 G6 Reset BIOS will affect RAID 0?

Hello to everybody.

 

[HP Proliant M110 G6 & W2008 Server]

 

I have a problem in an old client that I'm not sure how to solve it.

 

All the user's passwords have been expired, also Administrator password. I have tried to restablish it using Hirens Boot but CD boot and USB boot are not enabled at BIOS.

 

When I try to access to it the BIOS has password enabled that I don't know.

 

I have been out of my last company and they said that they have no idea about it, but the client is trying to access to the data stored on this server and I'm trying to help him.

 

My question is:

 

- Is there any problem if I reset the BIOS (on motherboard) with the RAID 0?

- Will be data corruption or problem with RAID Array?

 

I guess that I will need to config the Array again, but I'm afraid on loosing data on the hard drives...

 

All help will be welcome!

 

Best regards.

HP Pro
Posts: 1,944
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 2 of 7 (759 Views)

Re: HP Proliant M110 G6 Reset BIOS will affect RAID 0?

You should just be able to turn on switch 6 to clear the BIOS password. Refer to this document

 

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/kb/docDisplay?javax.portlet.begCache...

 

 

 




__________________________________________________
No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!      I work for HP

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Acclaimed Contributor
Posts: 23,940
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 3 of 7 (759 Views)

Re: HP Proliant M110 G6 Reset BIOS will affect RAID 0?

[ Edited ]

Did you have a look at system dip switch 8?

ON: Clears the BIOS admin password

 

 

The manual says switch 5-7 are reserved.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-12-2013
Message 4 of 7 (748 Views)

Re: HP Proliant M110 G6 Reset BIOS will affect RAID 0?

Thanks both for the answer.

 

I will try what you both say and I reply the advances here.

 

Torsten, where did you find 8 is for clearing the BIOS admin password

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Best regards.

Acclaimed Contributor
Posts: 23,940
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 5 of 7 (744 Views)

Re: HP Proliant M110 G6 Reset BIOS will affect RAID 0?

[ Edited ]

In the Service guide PDF, page 108.

 

title

 

HP ProLiant ML110 G6 Server

Maintenance and Service Guide

 

Fourth edition  March 2011


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Highlighted
HP Pro
Posts: 1,944
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 6 of 7 (739 Views)

Re: HP Proliant M110 G6 Reset BIOS will affect RAID 0?

I think Torsten is correct, looks like a misprint in the document I referenced. There should also be a sticker inside teh chassis lid that explains the switch positions

 




__________________________________________________
No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!      I work for HP

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Acclaimed Contributor
Posts: 23,940
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 7 of 7 (735 Views)

Re: HP Proliant M110 G6 Reset BIOS will affect RAID 0?

[ Edited ]

I'm sure resetting the BIOS will reset the embedded disk configuration to "non-RAID" - be carefull.

However, I would try to mount the disk(s) to another PC or whatever to try if you can get the data or hust try your boot cd (or BartPE, UBCD4WIN or whatever) to just "mount" the disk.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.