HP DL 380 Gen8 - Nvidia Quadro 4000 - No ILO ? (1014 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
davudoeden
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Message 1 of 6 (1,014 Views)

HP DL 380 Gen8 - Nvidia Quadro 4000 - No ILO ?

Hello,

 

I've installed a NVIDIA Quadro 4000 Graphics Card in our HP DL380 Gen8 Server since that time its not possible to 

use the remote console from ILO.

 

I only get a blank screen with a video resolution of 720*400.

 

Any ideas how to get the ILO to work ?

 

Regards,

D. Oeden

Honored Contributor
Oscar A. Perez
Posts: 643
Registered: ‎11-01-2005
Message 2 of 6 (993 Views)

Re: HP DL 380 Gen8 - Nvidia Quadro 4000 - No ILO ?

[ Edited ]

iLO still works, just you cannot do Remote Console with the nVidia Quadro card because, the Remote Console feature requires a special physical bus between iLO and the Video chip that is only possible with the video chip we put on the systemboard (in the Gen8 case, the video is embedded in the iLO chip itself)

Valued Contributor
LouisH
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 3 of 6 (985 Views)

Re: HP DL 380 Gen8 - Nvidia Quadro 4000 - No ILO ?

Why do you say iLO doesn't work? If it a matter of not having an advanced iLO license pack to actually manage remotely (keyboard input etc.) HP will provide a temporary license to use. that said, all iLO's let you view server POST screen, which is great for troubleshooting a rebooting server. With the new Gen8 servers, you can do so much more thru iLO. It is well worth the money for an advanced license pack that gives you virtual media, remote interactive KVM, advanced server health monitoring and alerting, more advanced scripting tools for use with the CLI

 

Anyway, just my 2 cents...

 

Louis

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,303
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 4 of 6 (982 Views)

Re: HP DL 380 Gen8 - Nvidia Quadro 4000 - No ILO ?

... but all the output goes to the quadro card, the ILO cannot show the output of this card. You can only use remote desktop once the OS is up.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Occasional Visitor
davudoeden
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Message 5 of 6 (140 Views)

Re: HP DL 380 Gen8 - Nvidia Quadro 4000 - No ILO ?


Torsten. wrote:

... but all the output goes to the quadro card, the ILO cannot show the output of this card. You can only use remote desktop once the OS is up.


Hello again,

 

that's bad :-(

 

We have more than 20 HP Proliant Servers... Most of them with an ILO Advanced License..... 4 of them with an NVIDIA Quaddo Pro card installed.

 

If the OS is up, there is no problem... But what if the OS won't come up ? ILO is an absolute great tool for managing the servers without going down to the server room.

 

HP: Is there any other way to get the output tho the ILO Interface with installed graphics card ?

Trusted Contributor
waaronb
Posts: 384
Registered: ‎10-26-2012
Message 6 of 6 (121 Views)

Re: HP DL 380 Gen8 - Nvidia Quadro 4000 - No ILO ?

Unfortunately that's how it's designed.  ILO remote console only works if the built in adapter is the one you use.  I don't know how the ILO is supposed to take the video output of any 3rd party card and convert it for you.  If you find a server that does that, maybe you should let HP know so they can license that technology in ILO 5. :)

 

You should be able to use the other features of ILO, and once the system has booted up it can do an RDP pass-through (which is not much different than using RDP directly except  you're authenticating through ILO and all that).

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.