DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL (3563 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
Vague Assumption
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 1 of 16 (3,563 Views)

DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

My DL360 G5 5130 won't boot from either smart start or the firmware updater disk. RBSU lists it as #1 IPL device. Known good CD. Then I went, 'aha,' and said to myself, there must be an incompatibility between the DVD drive and hardware. So I tried an older CD-ROM (like G2 vintage). No luck.

Why would the CD device show as #1, but not allow a boot?

I tried to switch the boot controller to IDE from P400 SCSI, but it simply wouldn't take the change. Not possible.
Honored Contributor
KarloChacon
Posts: 4,376
Registered: ‎04-08-2007
Message 2 of 16 (3,563 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

hi

it's not booting from a Windows CD?

you can use this
HP USB Key Utility for Windows

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=15...

to use a USB key to run SSCD or Firmware CD

do you have ilo configured?

have you tried cleaning NVRAM?

regards
Didn't your momma teach you to say thanks!
Respected Contributor
juan quesada
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎01-22-2008
Message 3 of 16 (3,563 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

hi,

odd behavior, try minimal configuration on the server, (1 proc, 2 dimms, only 1 P400 in the PCI riser cage) and try again, it may be a conflict with the HW

regards,
Frequent Advisor
Vague Assumption
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 4 of 16 (3,563 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

Thanks, guys. I guess I can take the NC360T card in the riser board out.

When you say, clear out NVRAM, I would do that from the RBSU 'Reset Default System Settings?' Or is there a separate place?

I can erase the system once I get smart start running off the USB key; hopefully that will allow me to use the Windows Sever 2003 CD.

Does the utility demand a blank USB key? Or can there be other stuff on the key?
Advisor
Xteven
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 5 of 16 (3,563 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

There are 2 places were you can clear the NVRAM
1-IN teh RBSU under Advance Options-> Erase Non-volatile Memory.
2-Manually, open the cover of the server and in the back of the cover check for the system maintenance switch, locate that nip switch in the system boards, turn Off the server, turn ON S6, Turn on the server for about 5 seconds, turn the server off again and put S6 to its original position.

and also you will need a blank USB key because the program is going to formate the key to make it bootable!

x-teven
Frequent Advisor
Vague Assumption
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 6 of 16 (3,563 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

I followed your advice to toggle the #6 switch. I was rewarded with the mesasge, on boot, that the boot order had been returned to the default. However, I also got a new message. FF301, keyboard error. I tried four different PS/2 connector keyboards before having some success with a USB keyboard.

Anyway, no change. Wait! There was a change. The onboard NC373i's disappeared from the list of IPL devices.

I will use the USB key utility just to see if loading new firmware will make a difference, but I don't know how I can run Smart Start from a USB key if I can't get the OS loaded, as well, from a USB key. Will SmartStart, running off USB, be able to pause while I swap out the Smart Start USB and put in the Windows Server 2003 USB? I would not presume it will. My only hope is tht the firmware update will shake something loose.
Honored Contributor
KarloChacon
Posts: 4,376
Registered: ‎04-08-2007
Message 7 of 16 (3,563 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

hi

" I swap out the Smart Start USB and put in the Windows Server 2003 USB?"

windows 2003 from a USB key? I think is not possible I know W2008 yes but not W2003

you have to use you USB key with smartstart and insert a CDROM or USB CDROM

regards
Didn't your momma teach you to say thanks!
Frequent Advisor
Vague Assumption
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 8 of 16 (3,563 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

Aha! You can, Karlo, swap out one for the other. All you have to do is check the box that says the OS will come from a USB key instead of CD. Just too damn bad I had to read the readme that came with the USB Key Utility to learn this :) At any rate, the server is up under Windows 2003 Server standard edition. Now that I have a network connection life is good, again. Just have to hang a sign on it that says, optical drive doesn't work.

Honored Contributor
KarloChacon
Posts: 4,376
Registered: ‎04-08-2007
Message 9 of 16 (3,563 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

so

at the end you created a windows 2003 usb key bootable using this "HP USB Key Utility for Windows "

or you were able to use smartstart CD and select USB option?

i don't understand the last part (little silly lately)

regards
Didn't your momma teach you to say thanks!
Trusted Contributor
RaMpaNTe
Posts: 278
Registered: ‎05-13-2006
Message 10 of 16 (3,563 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

Hey.. humm sorry I don't know how to call you. But here is the question. Did the CDROM come with the server or is just a piece of HW you took from another machine? If its the one that came with the server then Multibay media backplane 412202-001 could be damaged. Try getting another CDROM from another server with the same connector and if it fails to recognize a CD then go ahead and request that part to be replaced.

Thanks,

\RaMpaNTe


BTW... don't forget to assign points.
You heve a question... I have an aswer!!!
Frequent Advisor
Vague Assumption
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 11 of 16 (3,559 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

Rampante: The server came with a slimline DVD. I did insert a compatible (seemingly so) slimline CD and I couldn't get the server to boot off of that either, so it could be a problem with the part number you mentioned.

Karlo: I booted off the USB key I'd loaded with Smart Start. Then I selected 'USB Key' as the source I'd like to draw the OS from by check the 'USB Key' check box. It prompted for the key with the OS and the rest was history.
Trusted Contributor
RaMpaNTe
Posts: 278
Registered: ‎05-13-2006
Message 12 of 16 (3,559 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

If you want I can verify whether the CDROM that came with the server is compatible or not. Please reply with the CR ROM part number so that I can check that for you.
You heve a question... I have an aswer!!!
Occasional Advisor
Millertime_1
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-04-2002
Message 13 of 16 (3,559 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

I've been having the same issue with one of my DL360 G5's. Tried, without success, replacing the drive from HP with a new one. [Replacement: DVD-ROM, P/N 1977098R-57, HP P/N: 294766-904].

Have to boot with a USB attached external DVD-ROM to get it working. Patched the server to the latest code and still a no go.

The server is brand new so let me know about the drive compatibility and if it is I will get this other piece replaced under warranty!

Thanks..
Occasional Advisor
Millertime_1
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-04-2002
Message 14 of 16 (3,559 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

A little update on this one, I tried another drive and multibay connector (the little board with the pins to adapt the connector) from a working DL360G5 (one that actually boots Windows Server 2003 CDs)and put it in the "problem" server. Still a no go and further I took the other set (DVD-ROM and multibay connector) over to the "good" server and it booted windows cd just fine. This MUST be some kind of BIOS/Firmware issue, I even took out the 400i controller on the "problem" server and still a no go.

The BIOS info vitals from the "good" and "problem" DL360G5 is as follows:
"good"
PID: 416565-01
BIOS: P58 06/28/2007
PROC1: Intel 3.00GHz, 4MB L2 Cache
PROC2: NONE

"problem":
PID: 416565-01
BIOS: P58 11/02/2008 (Supposedly fixes an IPL bypass problem)
PROC1: Intel 3.00GHz, 4MB L2 Cache
PROC2: NONE

Shazamm... How can I back-rev everything to the age of the "good" server and test this theory?

Given I'm installing VMWARE VI3 it would be really nice for this "supported" server to actually have a drive that I can use in my VMs. USB is a no go..

Occasional Visitor
NeilC
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-27-2009
Message 15 of 16 (3,559 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

I've got the same problem now on a DL 360 G5, since doing Firmware/BIOS updates. I will try to roll back the BIOS version once I get back onto site and can get a bootable CD in there. The current active BIOS version is 2008.11.02 and the machine fails with this. This definately worked before I applied all the patches.
Occasional Advisor
Millertime_1
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-04-2002
Message 16 of 16 (3,559 Views)

Re: DL360 G5 Won't boot from a CD listed as #1 in IPL

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I have a solution.. A certified HP technician arrived to have a look at my server and was initially just as baffled. He replaced the main motherboard and everything works perfectly now!
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.