Re: DL320 G6 - B110i RAID Controller - Rebuild Raid 1+0 (2674 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
anyCOPY
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 1 of 9 (2,707 Views)

DL320 G6 - B110i RAID Controller - Rebuild Raid 1+0

Hi all,

 

we have a HP DL320 G6 Server, running a Smart Array B110i RAID controller, with 2 x 750GB SATA disks.

 

Yesterday, one of the disks failed. We have replaced the faulty disk, and in the Option Rom Config ( BIOS ), it states RECOVERING. This message has been standing there now for almost 24 hours. Is this normal behaviour? Does a RAID rebuild really take this long?

 

Attached screenshot of the config screen ( through ILO )

 

Thanks in advance for your responses.

 

Kay Dieckmann

anyCOPY ApS

København - Danmark

HP Pro
-Cisco-
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-05-2010
Message 2 of 9 (2,695 Views)

Re: DL320 G6 - B110i RAID Controller - Rebuild Raid 1+0

Hello the issue you are having is not common, can you check the status from the ACU (Array configuration utility)? and maybe post a screenshot.

**Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP.**
Occasional Advisor
anyCOPY
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 3 of 9 (2,690 Views)

Re: DL320 G6 - B110i RAID Controller - Rebuild Raid 1+0

Hi,

 

sadly no, we are running ESXi on this server, so no Windows is available. Also, upon booting, I tries to boot up from C:, but stalls there.

 

Also, the server is located in a datacenter, so at this time, I dont have physical access to the server, unless I drive there. ( which is why I'm on ILO )

 

Any other thoughts?

Esteemed Contributor
Goutham_Sabala
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎02-16-2012
Message 4 of 9 (2,688 Views)

Re: DL320 G6 - B110i RAID Controller - Rebuild Raid 1+0

Hi, 

 

One Gb will take about 15mins, this is theorteical value , it completely depends on the controller, rebuilding of the array happens when the controller is free, usually controller that has a cache works faster than the one without, B110 is a dynamic controller which simply means that the load is on the OS for rebuilding, It also depends upon the rebuild prioirty has been setup in the array config utility ( which cannot be changed untill the array is completely up )

Was the post useful? Say thanks by clicking the white KUDOS Star!
Goutham Sabala
Occasional Advisor
anyCOPY
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 5 of 9 (2,684 Views)

Re: DL320 G6 - B110i RAID Controller - Rebuild Raid 1+0

Hi Goutham,

 

Thanks for also answering in my thread.

 

By your statement, you are contradicting what Cisco said. He claims its not normal behaviour for a RAID rebuild to take this long, while you state that 1GB =15 minutes. With a 750GB SATA drive, that would equal 11.250 minutes=187,5 hours which is roughly 8 days.. for a RAID 1+0 rebuild. I hope you're not serious, because that is unacceptable in any enterprise environment

 

Also, we're not using an Array Configuration Utility. The screenshot I posted is the only way of telling what the RAID is doing, since we're not running a 'normal' OS on the server, but ESXi ( for 2 virtual machines in VMWare ).

 

Thanks for your input though, any other thoughts are greatly appreciated

 

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,285
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 6 of 9 (2,683 Views)

Re: DL320 G6 - B110i RAID Controller - Rebuild Raid 1+0

>> One Gb will take about 15mins

Based on this it would take a week?

I have seen several cases with a smartarray 410 without cache when recovering took 1 day for a 300GB disk - seems to be normal. Obviously it is much faster with cache.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Occasional Advisor
anyCOPY
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 7 of 9 (2,681 Views)

Re: DL320 G6 - B110i RAID Controller - Rebuild Raid 1+0

hi Torsten,

 

Also thanks for contributing.

 

Based on what you said, 300GB in 24 hours, I should be able to have my RAID rebuilt tomorrow by the end of the day.

 

I will show some more patience, and report back in here when/if its done.

 

Kay Dieckmann

anyCOPY

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,285
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 8 of 9 (2,675 Views)

Re: DL320 G6 - B110i RAID Controller - Rebuild Raid 1+0

This is a background operation, so you can continue to work. Depending on the load it could take a bit longer to sync the data.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Occasional Advisor
anyCOPY
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 9 of 9 (2,674 Views)

Re: DL320 G6 - B110i RAID Controller - Rebuild Raid 1+0

Well, thats the issue, its not a background operation for us.

 

It was the first disk in the array that failed. We shut down the server, replaced the faulty drive with a spare ( in slot 1 ), and booted the server up. In the Option Rom Configuration for Arrays ( see first post screenshot ) it states that the Status is Recovering, with no progress indicator. If I let the server go through the POST boot, it comes up with a message that it's trying to boot from C: , but nothing happens. So we're stuck with a non-working environment, I guess, untill the rebuild is completed.

 

In hindsight, should we have placed disk 2 ( the working one ) in slot 1, and put the disk to rebuild to in slot 2?

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.