Re: Remote Syslogging-HP Procurve 2600 (1405 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Uplift
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
Message 1 of 7 (2,294 Views)

Remote Syslogging-HP Procurve 2600

[ Edited ]

I am attempting to set up remote sys logging on my HP Procurve 2600 series switches, I used the following commands to enable it but it doesn't seem to work.

logging facility syslog
logging 192.168.X.X

the firewall is off on the machine I am sending to and the listener is set to allow incoming from the switches, I am not receiving any logs on the listener, is there more to it?

Are these the right commands?

 

P.S. This thread has been moved from Switches, Hubs, Modems (Legacy ITRC forum) to ProCurve / ProVision-Based. -HP Forum Moderator

Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 2 of 7 (2,294 Views)

Re: Remote Syslogging-HP Procurve 2600

please send me sh run your switch
cenk

Occasional Visitor
Uplift
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
Message 3 of 7 (2,294 Views)

Re: Remote Syslogging-HP Procurve 2600

hostname "CORA HP2610-48-PWR #1"
snmp-server contact "Steve Branin"
snmp-server location "Coralville Mez"
mirror-port 37
qos dscp-map 101110 priority 6
interface 44
name "CMAU"
exit
ip default-gateway 192.168.1.4
ip routing
logging facility syslog
logging 192.168.1.143
snmp-server community "public" Unrestricted
vlan 1
name "DEFAULT_VLAN"
untagged 1-52
ip address 192.168.1.80 255.255.255.0
ip igmp
exit
vlan 20
name "voice"
ip address 192.168.2.1 255.255.255.0
tagged 1-50
voice
ip igmp
exit
fault-finder bad-driver sensitivity high
fault-finder bad-transceiver sensitivity high
fault-finder bad-cable sensitivity high
fault-finder too-long-cable sensitivity high
fault-finder over-bandwidth sensitivity high
fault-finder broadcast-storm sensitivity high
fault-finder loss-of-link sensitivity high
fault-finder duplex-mismatch-HDx sensitivity high
fault-finder duplex-mismatch-FDx sensitivity high
stack commander "CORA"
stack member 1 mac-address 001f289ecd80
stack member 2 mac-address 001f289f4480
stack member 3 mac-address 001f289f6100
stack member 4 mac-address 001f28833dc0
password manager
Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 4 of 7 (2,294 Views)

Re: Remote Syslogging-HP Procurve 2600

logging 192.168.1.143
command enough

which system log server using
cenk

Occasional Visitor
Uplift
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-22-2011
Message 5 of 7 (2,294 Views)

Re: Remote Syslogging-HP Procurve 2600

Honored Contributor
cenk sasmaztin
Posts: 1,435
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
Message 6 of 7 (2,294 Views)

Re: Remote Syslogging-HP Procurve 2600

please test with
teraterm pro

whit use logging 192.168.X.X
command
cenk

Occasional Contributor
bellfox
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-27-2013
Message 7 of 7 (1,405 Views)

Re: Remote Syslogging-HP Procurve 2600

very simple;

 

in switch add :

logging facility syslog

logging 172.16.1.50 (this is my syslogd server)

 

in this case i used FreeBSD-9.2 as syslogd server

in /etc/syslog.conf, please add:

+172.16.1.31

*.*                 /var/log/switch-31.log     (let's said this is first switch)

 

+172.16.1.32

*.*                 /var/log/switch-32.log     (let's said this is second switch)

 

+172.16.1.33

*.*                 /var/log/switch-33.log     (let's said this is third switch)

 

 

Then, don't forget create the log files by touching them all by:

touch /var/log/switch-31.log          (repeat this touching for the other switch that you have)

 

in /etc/rc.conf, please add (this is efective for run syslogd every boot start) :

syslogd_enable="YES"

syslogd_flags=""

 

restart the daemon of syslogd (in FreeBSD) /etc/rc.d/syslogd restart

suggestion: sometime all of them could be effective by reboot the server

Please, make sure that syslogd running properly, check the service by : ps ax | grep syslogd

 

simple Testing:

in syslogd server do : tail -f /var/log/switch-31.log

 

in switch, if you have enabled the ssh remote, do the remote the switch using ssh, but please use the wrong password (it should repeat for three times), and check the result of "tail" above, you should see the log about wrong password login.

 

ok bro, i hope you can do these successfully...see ya!

 

(# weh island - Indonesia #)

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.