HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue (7869 Views)
Reply
TJB
Occasional Visitor
TJB
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 1 of 14 (7,869 Views)

HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

Hi All,

 

Has anybody had issues with logging into the HP 5400 series switches via the web console?

 

We upgraded all of our HP 5400 switch firmware from K.14.41 to K.14.60 and as a result we now can no longer web console into any of our HP 5400 switches from any of the workstations/servers previously used!

 

When we try to web console into a switch from any previously used server/workstation prior to the firmware update, we get stuck on the login screen which will take credentials but then keeps jumping back to the login screen.  We now only have one server which will let us login to our HP 5400 switches!

 

This same issue also occurs in HP Procurve Manager. We can't use Live View on our HP 5400 switches but we can use Live View on our newly purchased HP 2800 switches!? We can also web console into the new HP 2800 switches OK but they have different firmware (N.11.15) and have no security set yet.

 

It seems to be some kind of Java issue and so far we have uninstalled and reinstalled both Java and IE8, cleared the IE8 and Java cookies and updated the firmware to K.14.65 without success.

 

We are at a loss with this now.

 

Any ideas would be most appreciated

 

Trevor.

 

 

Valued Contributor
Helper
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
Message 2 of 14 (7,853 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

Hi,

 

Regarding Web Management.

Have you try to disbale then enable the webmanagement ?

Are you working with SSL (crypto cert) webmanagement ? If yes, have you try to regenerate it or suppress then create it agan ?

 

5400 (2810 is a little bit different)

web-management
web-management plaintext

If SSL :

crypto key generate cert 1024
crypto host-cert generate self-signed satart-date end-date xxx_LAN SI xxx city region fr
web-management ssl

 

Regarding PCM, what is the version ? Are you up-to-date ? PCM 2.3/3.x correctly manage these switches with the latest auto-update.

http://h10144.www1.hp.com/customercare/support/software/network_management.htm

We have already encountered partial or complete liveview information relevant to firmware or PCM bugs.

 

Also the latest version for 2810-xxG is N.11.25 :http://h10144.www1.hp.com/customercare/support/software/summarypages/n-j9021-c.htm

For your information 2810-xxG are replaced by E-Series 2910al-xxG (firmware W.14.xx based on K.14.xx 5400 branch of code).

 

Otherwise you should open a case, sorry.

 

Regards.

Visitor
SVEY
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Message 3 of 14 (7,725 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

Hi,

 

i got the same issue with two different 5412zl Switches. It seems to be a general problem.

 

If you go directly to https://ipaddress/configuration/device_view.html (or device_viewf.html) it is working on every switch except for the 5400zl.

 

Did anybody found a solution?

 

regards

SVEY

Valued Contributor
Helper
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
Message 4 of 14 (7,714 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

Hi,

 

It works fine for me but with a different URL path running K.15. code.

ProCurve Switch 5406zl(J8697A)

K.15.02.0006, ROM K.15.10

 

http://10.91.100.56/html/nhome.html

 

Bye.

Occasional Contributor
crm114
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-14-2011
Message 5 of 14 (7,343 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

Am also having the issue on K.15.02.

i created the self signed cert, disabled / enabled web management ssl

reset the manager and operator passwords

and fail to logon with error message invalid user name/password  on web-ui session

TJB
Occasional Visitor
TJB
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 6 of 14 (7,331 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

I finally fixed this issue by upgrading the 5400zl switch firmware from K.14.65 up to K.15.02.0005. This update seems to do away with the flawed Java authentication that was causing our login issues.

Occasional Visitor
Otsi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-16-2011
Message 7 of 14 (7,316 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

 

so have any of you had login issues with the k15.02.0005 from cli(ssh) or console connection. I receive a half login screen and nothing else I cannot seem to enter my credentials and this is the second switch I am having a similar issue with.



Any suggestions ?

 

 

Visitor
SVEY
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Message 8 of 14 (6,925 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

i'm currently testing with a 5412zl and Version K.15.04.0003.

I still have the issue that the Live View through PCM+ is not working. (PCM+ 3.20.1741)

 

The Live View of my 5406zl is working fine.

Any new ideas?

 

regards

SVEY

Valued Contributor
Helper
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
Message 9 of 14 (6,920 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

Hi,

 

I'm actually waiting for the fix, it should be available in a couple of weeks. I can't tell you if this will be a PCM fix or a K.15 product fix, i wish it will be a PCM fix ...

 

Bye.

Valued Contributor
Helper
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
Message 10 of 14 (6,897 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

Hi,

 

The fix is available and working in the latest release K.15.05.0002.

 

Bye.

Advisor
Handshaw
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-23-2008
Message 11 of 14 (6,306 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

At K.14.65, ROM K.12.21 we could webview into our 10 zl switches

We upgraded to K.14.84, ROM K.12.22, and still could webview

We also had one switch upgraded to K.15.03.005 (don't like the interface, will avoid)

After the upgrade on 9/7/11 we started having some serious application communications delays/problems with out "Showcase" application.

After much application/server troubleshooting/frustration we finally decided to reverse the network upgrade.

So I downgraded ALL 10 zl switches back to K.14.65 and the problem went away?!?

So we are stuck at K.14.65, and like everyone else can no longer webview.

 

Valued Contributor
Helper
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
Message 12 of 14 (6,257 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

Hi,

 

For your information, i'm a partner we have had to wait until K.15.06.0009 or K.15.07.xxxx to upgrade our customers and obtain a stable situation regarding performwance, stability (dynamic routing, multicats, nlb, etc.).

 

Bye.

Occasional Visitor
Sumarwoto_Hadi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-10-2012
Message 13 of 14 (6,140 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

Same as your problem, my 5406zl I also stagnated in the webgui login ..

 

My 5406zl initial firmware is k.14.34 I've tried to upgrade to K.15.02.0005 I even try to upgrade to K_15_06_0008 but has not been solved

 

If anyone has successfully

Occasional Visitor
parrottcf
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-13-2012
Message 14 of 14 (6,033 Views)

Re: HP ProCurve 5400 web console issue

We had the same problem as well with the 15.06.0008 version we just put on for a new installation. The web interface was working prior with 15.02.0005, but not after. We would just get a login screen and entering the user name/pw wouldn't work. Found out from poking around the CLI that apparently the user name is reset to blank after the update. I got around the issue by leaving the user name blank and entering the management password and got into the web interface fine. From there, you can set a user name/pwd again for management and operator levels.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.