Re: MPE to CUPS (181 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
dan dobbs
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎11-19-2001
Message 1 of 5 (181 Views)

MPE to CUPS

Greetings, all. I'm trying to print to a CUPS printer from my HP/3000. 1) Can it be done, and 2) what would the settings in npconfig/ioconfig be?

Cheers!

-dd
Hey, that's not a spoon.
Esteemed Contributor
Dan Clifford
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎03-25-1998
Message 2 of 5 (181 Views)

Re: MPE to CUPS

Dan,

Does this printer have an HP JetDirect card or box?
Esteemed Contributor
Dan Clifford
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎03-25-1998
Message 3 of 5 (181 Views)

Re: MPE to CUPS

Dan,

Her is some more information that may help:

How do I set up a network printer on the 3000? DocId: KBRC00000591 Updated: 1/13/00 11:52:03 AM

PROBLEM
Setting up network printing on the 3000. RESOLUTION
How to configure a network printer on the HP3000

Before getting started, be aware that network (tcp/ip) printing on the HP3000
is supported on MPE release 5.5 or greater via a HP JetDirect interface and the
printers listed below:

Color laserjet
Laserjet 5si
Laserjet 4 Family
Laserjet 5L
Laserjet III Family
Laserjet II Family
HP 5000/C Series
HP 5000 LP/LPQ Series Impact printers (LP500, LPQ500-1500) partno C320xB or C
HP 5000/D Series
All PaintJets, Deskjets, QuietJets, ThinkJets


The first step is to add the printer LDEV. You can add it in SYSGEN (which
requires a system reboot) or add it dynamically with the ioconfig utility:

:ioconfig
IOCONFIG A.00.00 (catalog A.00.00) (c) 1994 Hewlett-Packard Co.

ioconfig: ad [ldev #] id=hptcpjd path=none class=[device class]
ioconfig: exit
keeping to group CONFIG.SYS
Purge old configuration (yes/no)?Automatic yes


Next, the NPCONFIG file must be created. There are two sample configurations
called NPSAMP1.PUB.SYS and NPSAMP2.PUB.SYS. Please note that the setup files
mentioned in the NPSAMP files and the "Native Mode Spooler Reference Manual"
do NOT exist on your system unless you create them !! It's best to start by
creating a very simple NPCONFIG file in the editor [NOTE: Refer to the
"Native Mode Spooler Reference Manual" for 5.5 for additional NPCONFIG file
parameters].

In this example, your printer ldev number is 15 and it's ip address is
198.10.10.47

:editor
HP32201A.09.00 EDIT/3000 THU, OCT 9, 1997, 4:10 PM
(C) HEWLETT-PACKARD CO. 1993
/a
1 15 (network_address=198.10.10.47)
2 //
/k npconfig.pub.sys,unn

Make sure that you are logged on as manager.sys, the file is kept unnumbered
and that the ip address does not include preceding zero's (e.g. the ip
address in the above example is entered as 198.10.10.47, not 198.010.010.047).

If your printer does not support pjl, then set pjl_supported to false:

:editor
HP32201A.09.00 EDIT/3000 THU, OCT 9, 1997, 4:10 PM
(C) HEWLETT-PACKARD CO. 1993
/a
1 15 (network_address=198.10.10.47
2 pjl_supported=false)
3 //
/k npconfig.pub.sys,unn

Before trying to print, verify that you can ping the printer from the 3000:

:ping.net.sys 198.10.10.47

-------- PING/XL (ICMP Echo Requestor) : Version B0509000 --------

PARAMETERS INPUT:
----------------
Remote IP address in hex : $0F2C3024
Number of packets : Default of continuous stream
Number of data bytes : Default of 64 bytes

---- PING $0F2C3024 : 64 byte packets ----

64 byte(s) from $0F2C3024 : icmp_seq = 1, time = 3 ms
64 byte(s) from $0F2C3024 : icmp_seq = 2, time = 2 ms
64 byte(s) from $0F2C3024 : icmp_seq = 3, time = 2 ms
64 byte(s) from $0F2C3024 : icmp_seq = 4, time = 2 ms
64 byte(s) from $0F2C3024 : icmp_seq = 5, time = 2 ms
64 byte(s) from $0F2C3024 : icmp_seq = 6, time = 2 ms

use cntl-y to stop the pinging. If the printer does not respond to the ping,
you have some troubleshooting to do (can the printer be pinged from other
nodes on the network? if the printer is on another subnet, is the gateway
configured properly? etc).

After successfully pinging the printer, go ahead and start up the spooler
and send a spoolfile.
Frequent Advisor
dan dobbs
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎11-19-2001
Message 4 of 5 (181 Views)

Re: MPE to CUPS

The CUPS printer is actually on another box, so all the Jet Direct stuff isn't applicable.

But, on the positive side, I did figure it out. I had to enable LPD on my CUPS box (Red Hat Fedora 3, in the cups-lpd file), and then create an entry in my ASPCONF (Espul software from RAC) to print to an LPD device.

That is, unless, there's a way to make a config in npconfig.pub.sys that points to a LPD queue---I can see that you can alter the port number, but nothing about print queues. So, I guess that would be a 'no'. :>)

Cheers, and thanks for the responses!

-dd
Hey, that's not a spoon.
Frequent Advisor
dan dobbs
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎11-19-2001
Message 5 of 5 (181 Views)

Re: MPE to CUPS

The CUPS printer is actually on another box, so all the Jet Direct stuff isn't applicable.

But, on the positive side, I did figure it out. I had to enable LPD on my CUPS box (Red Hat Fedora 3, in the cups-lpd file), and then create an entry in my ASPCONF (Espul software from RAC) to print to an LPD device.

That is, unless, there's a way to make a config in npconfig.pub.sys that points to a LPD queue---I can see that you can alter the port number, but nothing about print queues. So, I guess that would be a 'no'. :>)
Hey, that's not a spoon.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.