HP laserjet model names (233 Views)
Super Advisor
ian_49
Message 1 of 9 (233 Views)
Accepted Solution

HP laserjet model names

Not being well informed about laserjet printers, I am confused by the plethora of models available. In partular please, I would like to find out what the suffixes numbers and letters mean (especially the letters)
What does the "N" signfy on a laserjet 5N .....ie in what way does the "N" model on a printer differ from one that doesnt have the "N" suffix.

Other suffixes are "L", "PLUS", "P", "M",
"si" (as in 4si) ;
also "V" as in 4 V.

Also, generally speaking, what is the difference between the "4" series, the "5" series, "6" series and others such as the "1000" series etc
Thanks Ian
Im not an expert
Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
Kyle Grimm_1
Message 2 of 9 (233 Views)

Re: HP laserjet model names

N stands for Network, M usaully stands for Macintosh, D stands for duplexer, T means you get an extra paper tray when you purchase it. Hope this helps.
Anyone need an employee?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
CA835871
Message 3 of 9 (233 Views)

The ???N??? means it???s a network printer. The non ???N??? printers do not come with a JetDirect card. The ???P??? typically means postscript. ???M??? usually means it is for the Macintosh platform. You are also putting more into the rest of the nomenclatures then is really needed. The ???si??? is just their larger printer platform for high volume. The ???Plus??? means nothing, it is used for marketing.