Re: SQL Server Port Number required to Connect (844 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Martin J Kelly
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-17-2010
Message 1 of 6 (844 Views)

SQL Server Port Number required to Connect

I'm running 3.6.2 and am having a problem connecting to my SQL Server Instances unless I also hardcode the port number each is using. Any idea what I've done wrong?
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
macosta
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎09-28-2007
Message 2 of 6 (844 Views)

Re: SQL Server Port Number required to Connect

Hi Martin,

I'm not sure what else you were expecting. SQL Server expects a host\instance or host,port# spec. If you want to use hostname (or IP) and instance name, you may need to enable the Polyserve SQL Browser.

If you run into further issues, it may be worth opening a case with support to determine is something else is causing an issue here.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Martin J Kelly
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-17-2010
Message 3 of 6 (844 Views)

Re: SQL Server Port Number required to Connect

Here's what I have.
2 SQL 2000 Instances. One I can access via "Virtual SQL Server\Instance Name" and the other I can only access via "Virtual SQL Server\Instance Name, Port".

They are both on the same Host.

We've been using PolyServe for about 4 years now and to this point have not had to add the Port number. We're moving to 3.6.2 and both of these Instances are new.
Please use plain text.
Advisor
Tammy Lawson
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-26-2009
Message 4 of 6 (844 Views)

Re: SQL Server Port Number required to Connect

We have had a similar issue here that has started occurring for one of our developers - he can connect to some instances just fine without a port (ones that use an alias) but he has had to start specifying the port for others. I trained them early on to use the port for the apps so atleast I am okay there for now. Up until a month or so ago he did not have issues. We are currently at 3.6.1 but will be upgrading to 3.6.2 soon. The only other recent changes to our environment, was upgrading to HP support pack 8.3 from 8.2 (for our HP blades). I had my suspicions it was from that but I am unsure.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Emil Velez
Posts: 1,450
Registered: ‎05-17-2000
Message 5 of 6 (844 Views)

Re: SQL Server Port Number required to Connect

are any of the instances using the default port number and some are not ?
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Charlotte Bentley
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-23-2009
Message 6 of 6 (844 Views)

Re: SQL Server Port Number required to Connect

I am having fits with this problem running 4.0. I can connect by instance name from some machines, but not others. Even the same machine will connect by name sometimes, but require the port # another time. I do have PolyServe Instance Aliasing service running. I have the same mess if I stop the PS IA service and run with MS SQL Server Browser service instead. Any suggestion for how to investigate this would be greatly appreciated.
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation