Sizing a server to replace K-510 (229 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
Arthur Luimes_2
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-19-2003
Message 1 of 15 (229 Views)
Accepted Solution

Sizing a server to replace K-510

Dear HP-guru's,

I am in the process of a sizing exercise to replace an old K-510 server with four processors which was purchased 6 years ago. The system runs Oracle and the CPU's are 60-70% full during an average day. Memory or disk activity does not seem to be a problem for performance.

Will any modern A-class machine with 2 processors and the same amount of memory have better performance than this machine? Any other ideas on the machine to purchase?

Thanks for your feedback,

Arthur Luimes
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Peter Godron
Posts: 4,470
Registered: ‎02-13-2002
Message 2 of 15 (229 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Arthur,
as a starting point you could use:
http://www.abtechsys.com/hp_servers/hp_servers.html

It is notoriously difficult to draw clear comparisons between machines, but one initial way is to look at the TPM figures.

There are other TPM sites as well.

Also try to take into account future upgrades (Oracle 10 can take a lot more memory than Oracle 8)....
Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,131
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 3 of 15 (229 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Arthur,

you will find your new server here (Itanium2)

http://www.hp.com/products1/servers/integrity/entry_level/index.html

or here (PA-RISC)

http://www.hp.com/products1/servers/entry_level/index.html

All servers are faster than yours, but it depends on some factors like software requirements (memory+IO), user count, OS version ...

BTW, an A-Class isn't that modern nowadays.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! star in the left column!   
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Chan 007
Posts: 749
Registered: ‎12-06-2005
Message 4 of 15 (229 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Arthur,

Please find this link, which has more links and inputs from many.

http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=991019

Chan
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Arunvijai_4
Posts: 4,194
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Message 5 of 15 (229 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Hi Arthur,

You can go for Itanium machines which delivers good performance,

http://www.hp.com/products1/servers/integrity/index.html

-Arun
"A ship in the harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for"
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Arunvijai_4
Posts: 4,194
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Message 6 of 15 (229 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Arthur,

You can also consider this,

http://reviews.cnet.com/4511-5_7-4.html?qt=hpserverseditorsratingtab&do=1&ds=1

-Arun
"A ship in the harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for"
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Arthur Luimes_2
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-19-2003
Message 7 of 15 (229 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Arun,

Your CNET review may indicate that I need to evaluate an Intel Platform. Sorry for my stupidity, but does that mean that I need to move to LINUX? Or will HP-UX 11i run on an Intel platform?

The Intel servers are really cheap. To compare prices, any idea on what I would need to pay for a rp3440-4?

Thanks,

Arthur
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Arunvijai_4
Posts: 4,194
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Message 8 of 15 (229 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Hi Arthur,

You can run HP-UX 11iV2 (11.23) on IA-64 better known as Itanium. Also, you can install Linux and perform a Multi-boot, if you require.

Integrity servers support the following platforms :- HP-UX 11iV2, RHEL, Windows 2003,etc..

-Arun
"A ship in the harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for"
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Arunvijai_4
Posts: 4,194
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Message 9 of 15 (229 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Hi Arthur,

Sorry for the multiple post: If you are intrested in Itanium servers, take a look at this page, HP Integrity entry-class servers

http://www.hp.com/products1/servers/integrity/entry_level/index.html

-Arun
"A ship in the harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for"
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Victor BERRIDGE
Posts: 2,576
Registered: ‎07-10-2000
Message 10 of 15 (229 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Hi Arthur,
If you were to run HPUx on intel then you are talking of Itanium procs...

You didnt mention what hPUX you are running nor what version of oracle...(mem size nad how many users?)

I dont know the price of the lastest RP but Im sure with less than 60'000Euros you would find something very good (2 PA 8600 or 8700 and 4 GB RAM)


All the best
Victor
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Peter Godron
Posts: 4,470
Registered: ‎02-13-2002
Message 11 of 15 (228 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Arthur,
you first establish what machine you need and then get prices.
Cost should be secondary to business need. It's no good getting a cheap machine, that just about does the job, and then you have to expand!
Please also remember support costs tend to be higher on older machines. So what you save in support costs, can be added to purchasing budget.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Patrick Wallek
Posts: 13,720
Registered: ‎06-21-2000
Message 12 of 15 (228 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Have a look at the HP Enterprise Configurator:

http://h30099.www3.hp.com/configurator/

This allows you to configure the various models of machines and see the retail prices for them.

To replace the K510, I would probably look at an rp3410 or rp3440, depending on your I/O card requirements.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
TwoProc
Posts: 2,202
Registered: ‎01-11-1999
Message 13 of 15 (228 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Keep in mind that if you go Itanium, you'll have to fully import/export your database. You'll get nothing less than great outstanding performance compared to where you've been, but you'll experience what would be the same as a full O/S changeout. If I were you, I'd look at a used L series - 4 procs at 550 or 650 Mhz would be killer compared to where you're at now, and a used one of these would cost very little. This would also allow you to do little more than just copy your database over to the new box. Put plenty of ram in the box and keep your processes off of hard disk, and you'll fly. Get HP Support to give you a price to put it under support, and you'll be happy with the results. You probably won't have any larger support bill, and you should be to tune that thing up to be immensely faster than where you are.
"[That boy] is about as sharp as a sack of wet mice" - Foghorn Leghorn
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
TwoProc
Posts: 2,202
Registered: ‎01-11-1999
Message 14 of 15 (228 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Arthur,

You need to talk to this guy...

http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=1011145
"[That boy] is about as sharp as a sack of wet mice" - Foghorn Leghorn
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Chushia
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎08-12-2001
Message 15 of 15 (228 Views)

Re: Sizing a server to replace K-510

Arthur,

Arun gave me the link. It's great they found a "buyer" for me. But I was not asking to sell but rather to buy. The machine I have now has been on lease and now we are thinking of owning it.

Best regards,
Chushia
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation