Cisco OR Brocade (1369 Views)
Reply
12a
Occasional Advisor
12a
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 1 of 8 (1,369 Views)
Accepted Solution

Cisco OR Brocade

Hi

Can You Please Help me on This Query

Which one is the best switch for Encl c7000 CISCO MDS or Brocade ?

 

Please use plain text.
HP Pro
Sudhakar Subramaniam
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎12-07-2010
Message 2 of 8 (1,366 Views)

Re: Cisco OR Brocade

Hi ,

You can use either one of the switch.

 

  • Brocade 8GB SAN Switch

  • CISCO MDS 9124e 4Gbit SAN Switch.

I would feel that CISCO is better.

Sudhakar

------------------------------

 

Please use plain text.
12a
Occasional Advisor
12a
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 3 of 8 (1,365 Views)

Re: Cisco OR Brocade

Thank you very much Mr.Sudhakar , But is there any more different features between them  ?

Please use plain text.
HP Pro
Sudhakar Subramaniam
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎12-07-2010
Message 4 of 8 (1,362 Views)

Re: Cisco OR Brocade

There are differences , but selection of switch depends on your requirement.

 

You can refer the quick specs link beloe to know about all switched wich are compatible.

 

 

http://h18004.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/12810_div/12810_div.pdf

 

refer Blade c- class san interconnects.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Johan Guldmyr
Posts: 3,821
Registered: ‎06-14-2009
Message 5 of 8 (1,361 Views)

Re: Cisco OR Brocade

[ Edited ]

Hello,

It's possible to mix Brocade/Cisco in a SAN but you lose functionality.

So whatever you get now, you're probably stuck with.

Personally I like Brocade better but that's because I've most experience with them and I believe that this is what most people use in their SAN.

If you guys are more comfortable with Cisco from for example Ethernet networks then you'll feel at home with the Cisco MDS SAN switches.

9124e is a 4G switch while Brocade now have 8G switches for the c-class. See http://www.compaq.com/storage/saninfrastructure/switches/mds9124e/index.html

For that reason I'd go with the 8G. It saves ports.
But there are 4G Brocade as well..
Both Cisco MDS and Brocade SAN switches has many features, the Brocade feels more mature (they've made switches longer?) so supposedly they have more.



Click the Kudos Star if this was a good post.
Please use plain text.
12a
Occasional Advisor
12a
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 6 of 8 (1,357 Views)

Re: Cisco OR Brocade

 

Thank you :) But Could you please tell all feaures of Brocade

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Johan Guldmyr
Posts: 3,821
Registered: ‎06-14-2009
Message 7 of 8 (1,355 Views)

Re: Cisco OR Brocade

Hi, this depends.

Would you get the 4G or the 8G?

Here it is for the 8G:
http://www.compaq.com/storage/saninfrastructure/switches/b8gbsscblade/index.html


Click the Kudos Star if this was a good post.
Please use plain text.
12a
Occasional Advisor
12a
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 8 of 8 (1,352 Views)

Re: Cisco OR Brocade

Thank you Very Much

Brocade Is the best One ^_^

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation