Re: Upgrade from a 997/800 to a 997/1200 (225 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
AIT Midrange
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-10-2005
Message 1 of 8 (225 Views)

Upgrade from a 997/800 to a 997/1200

I have been researching upgrading our current system from a 997/800 to a 997/1200. There seem to be many different opinions based other users I have talked to. I would like to get inputs from this forum if possible. We are an Amisys Shop, the main problem is the Night Batch is running into the daytime online processing. During this night batch period we are running about 100% Cpu utilization and a heavy I/O load from 400 to 600 I/O's a second. There is heavy batch SUPRTOOL usage.
Please use plain text.
Esteemed Contributor
Dan Clifford
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎03-25-1998
Message 2 of 8 (225 Views)

Re: Upgrade from a 997/800 to a 997/1200

One thing to consider is the speed of the discs you are using. I have seen customers increase batch performance dramatically after they upgraded older slower discs with newer faster ones...
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Perignon
Posts: 3,775
Registered: ‎03-11-2003
Message 3 of 8 (225 Views)

Re: Upgrade from a 997/800 to a 997/1200

Hello,

Dan is certainly right. Other items of speed are a larger memory and, where the chipset can support that, Intel Application Accelerator. Of course, the number of programs loading automatically at startup is also a subject of concern.

Alain.
Frustrations surmounted are paving the way to expertise.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
AIT Midrange
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-10-2005
Message 4 of 8 (225 Views)

Re: Upgrade from a 997/800 to a 997/1200

The system is connected to a EMC 3930 Storage arrray. There are 20 fw/scsi connections with an average of 6 to 10 4.2 logical units per fw/scsi interface. The batch window starts with the TurboStore Backup taking a syncpoint and then the batch jobstreams are released by the Maestro scheduler. The cpu is 100% and the I/o rate is anywhere from 450 to 700 i/o per sec depending on when Transaction manager executes. The batch mix is heavy SUPRTOOL extract jobs. We were considering a N-Class when HP announced the end of the HP/3000. After that the management focus has been to convert the appplication to a HP-UX platform.
I remember horror stories about 997/1200's and 16 gigabytes of memory. I don't remember any clear resolutions.
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Fred Metcalf
Posts: 233
Registered: ‎12-02-1996
Message 5 of 8 (225 Views)

Re: Upgrade from a 997/800 to a 997/1200

Dave
Donâ t you feel like assigning points to the replies you received on this topic in July?
It may encourage more participation in this continuation of the topic.
Regards
Fred
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
AIT Midrange
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-10-2005
Message 6 of 8 (225 Views)

Re: Upgrade from a 997/800 to a 997/1200

Sorry, I assigned points to the answers, but I haven't heard any thing I didn't know already. Is there still a problem with the 997/1200 and greater the 8gigabytes of storage ?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Chuck Ciesinski
Posts: 830
Registered: ‎10-03-2000
Message 7 of 8 (225 Views)

Re: Upgrade from a 997/800 to a 997/1200

AIT,

It might help if we had some more information, such as what version of MPE you are running, how much memory is currently configured in the system, do you utilize User Volumes, what are your queues structured like, how many jobs are you running, waht other 3rd party tools you have, etc. These items would provide a little better detail. You could also try posting your question to the 3000-L@raven.utc.edu, a listserver monitored by even more HP3000 gurus.

My $.04 for inflation,

Chuck Ciesinski
"Show me the $$$$$"
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
AIT Midrange
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-10-2005
Message 8 of 8 (225 Views)

Re: Upgrade from a 997/800 to a 997/1200

Ok, We are using workload manager, there are about 12-18 groups configured. We use user volume sets . The two production accounts are the ones most used at night . The major production account has 60 4.3 gigabyte logical volumes, the other has 18 Lus.When the night batch window starts we have the TurboStore backups plus about 20 or more batch jobs running at the same time. Most of the batch jobs are using Suprtool to extract data from the production accounts.
A few years ago , before the HP annoucement concerning the HP/3000 we were planning to upgrade to a N-class or a 997/1200. When hp announced dropping support for the HP/3000, managements direction turned towards converting to HP-UX. I remember at the time that there were some performance issues with 997/1200's a greater than 8 gigabytes of memory. Does anyone know if that problem was fixed or still exists.
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation