Reading Glance/iX correctly (289 Views)
Frequent Advisor
Michael Simone
Message 1 of 5 (289 Views)

Reading Glance/iX correctly

I'm somewhat new to MPE, and am trying to get a handle on using Glance to monitor system hogs. I have an N4000 with 4 400-MHz CPUs. When I see CPU spike near 100% on Glance, I pay attention (and try to keep my boss from panicking). However, I'm wondering about the CPU column on the Global screen--our "big" jobs often show 99% in this column, which according to Help represents the CPU used by that process in the last interval. But if I have several jobs showing 99%, what does that mean? Does it actually go to 400% because there are 4 CPUs (Unix does this)? Or is it not a good gauge.

I realize we can't live our lives watching Glance, but I need to give my staff a tool to watch for runaway jobs, excessive processes run by users, etc.

Thanks!
Honored Contributor
Eric Sorensen_1
Message 2 of 5 (289 Views)

Re: Reading Glance/iX correctly

Hello Michael,

A process that takes all of the CPU is not necessarily a problem-- if no other process is asking for CPU, then the system will allow one process to use all of the available resources.

If there are active sessions (processes) in the CQ and a batch job in the DQ, then the system will first attend to the CQ processes, and if there is any CPU-time left, the lower queues' processes may get some CPU time. If there are no processes above it that ask for CPU, then even a batch job in the lowest queue can take 100% of the CPU (if the job has enough work for the CPU to do...). "System hogs" must be defined as a process in the same or higher-priority queue taking lots of CPU-time when another process is waiting for CPU. Often this can be resolved quickly-- just altproc that process to a lower priority...

A system with 4 processors can show a total CPU usage percentage (in the detail lines on the "Global" screen) of up to 400%.
A problem well defined is half solved.
Esteemed Contributor
Dan Clifford