Swinstall Problem (935 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
foxyau
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
Message 1 of 10 (935 Views)

Swinstall Problem

[ Edited ]

Hi when I install a software which download from hp wesite, I cause this problem:

 

swinstall -s fullpath/softname.depot

The target "Hostname:/" fail Analysis, so the task cannot be excuted...

 

can anyone help me.

 

 

P.S.This thread has been moved from Systems Management (OpenView-OP Mgmt) Support and News Forum to HP-UX > patches- HP Forums Moderator

HP Expert
Ramkumar Devanathan
Posts: 1,674
Registered: ‎07-31-2002
Message 2 of 10 (933 Views)

Re: Swinstall Problem

Hi,

 

if you have downloaded the software please check the install guide for the steps to install the product. this should contain the command line or steps to install the software on hp-ux.

 

if the information is clear and you have to run the install using swinstall, then try the swinstall UI based installation.

HP Software Rocks!
Occasional Advisor
foxyau
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
Message 3 of 10 (930 Views)

can you tell me the steps?

can you tell me the steps?

HP Expert
Ramkumar Devanathan
Posts: 1,674
Registered: ‎07-31-2002
Message 4 of 10 (928 Views)

Re: can you tell me the steps?

I am not sure for which software you require install steps. in any case the steps are documented in the install guide that comes along with the software.

 

Please check the documentation.

HP Software Rocks!
Occasional Advisor
foxyau
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
Message 5 of 10 (926 Views)

Re: can you tell me the steps?

I am afraid there is no document with the software package. Do you have any common installation documents?

HP Expert
Ramkumar Devanathan
Posts: 1,674
Registered: ‎07-31-2002
Message 6 of 10 (922 Views)

Re: can you tell me the steps?

[ Edited ]

run swinstall, this opens up the UI. then install the package from local depot file. these are the common steps to install from a hp-ux software depot file.

 

i doubt that the common installation steps might be enough. tell me which software this is you are attempting to install (unless you wish to keep that a secret) and i will try to get the installation doc. there has to be one IMO.

HP Software Rocks!
Occasional Advisor
foxyau
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
Message 7 of 10 (917 Views)

Re: can you tell me the steps?

unzip-6.0-hppa-11.11.depot

HP Expert
Ramkumar Devanathan
Posts: 1,674
Registered: ‎07-31-2002
Message 8 of 10 (914 Views)

Re: can you tell me the steps?

Hello, this is the unzip utility. when you mentioned HP software i thought you were referring to software such as 'OpenView Operations', etc.

 

 Anyhow, did you check out this answer from Steven Protter and others?

 

http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/System-Administration/sudo-installation/td-p/4265519

 

 

HP Software Rocks!
Occasional Advisor
foxyau
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
Message 9 of 10 (909 Views)

Yes, Thanks, Please see the below error infor;   * Beginn...

Yes, Thanks, Please see the below error infor;

 

* Beginning Analysis Phase.
* Source: HOSTNAME:/DATA3/unzip-6.0-hppa-11.11.depot
* Target: HOSTNAME:/
* Target logfile: HOSTNAME:/var/adm/sw/swagent.log
* Reading source for product information.
NOTE: The command "/sbin/mount" exited with a status code of "1".
The following is the output from the command:
vxfs mount: Cannot open /dev/vgbak/lvbakup: No such device or address
vxfs mount: Cannot open /dev/vg01/DATA2: No such device or address
NOTE: End of command output. Non-zero exit status may or may not be
a failure. Look for additional messages.
ERROR: Entry for filesystem "/dev/vg01/DATA2" in "/etc/fstab"
could not be mounted. If you do not want this file system
mounted, comment it out of the "/etc/fstab" file, or set the
"mount_all_filesystems" option to "false".
ERROR: Cannot continue the Analysis Phase until the previous errors
are corrected.

HP Expert
Ramkumar Devanathan
Posts: 1,674
Registered: ‎07-31-2002
Message 10 of 10 (904 Views)

Re: Yes, Thanks, Please see the below error infor; * Beginn...

This is not per se HP Systems Management/Operations Management question. Please contact the moderator to have this query shifted to the appropriate forum for HP-UX.

 

That said, i can still answer your question -

The only error is that not all filesystems are mounted. and this can be overcome if you choose the option to not mount all filesystems. this is something that you must do in the swinstall gui - options menu.

 

if you are using command line -

 

swinstall -x mount_all_filesystems=false $PWD/<...>.depot \*

 

Another option is to remove the offending entry in /etc/fstab and re-run the swinstall.

 

HTH

- ramd

HP Software Rocks!
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.