Re: Patching OS (298 Views)
Reply
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,001
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 26 of 34 (351 Views)

Re: Patching OS

#export PTHREAD_MUTEX_SPINVAL=old
#export PTHREAD_COMPAT_MODE=1
>after logout and login

 

Did you restart  Data Protector Services?

Did you follow the directions:

export PTHREAD_MUTEX_SPINVAL=old
export PTHREAD_COMPAT_MODE=1
3. Restart the Data Protector Services:
/opt/omni/sbin/omnisv -stop
/opt/omni/sbin/omnisv -start

 

The demon will inherit the environment so it doesn't matter if you logout.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Johnson Punniyalingam
Posts: 2,246
Registered: ‎09-22-2008
Message 27 of 34 (347 Views)

Re: Patching OS

Are you using top command to check rds process showing (High Cpu usage) ..? or you using Glance to check

 

Regards,

Johnson

Problems are common to all, but attitude makes the difference
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Naj
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 28 of 34 (329 Views)

Re: Patching OS

Hi Dennis,

I had restart the service as said, btw, where can i check this configuration after restart the service?

____________________________________________
:: Really appreciate if you could assign some points.
:: Don't know how to assign point? Click the KUDOS! star!
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Naj
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 29 of 34 (329 Views)

Re: Patching OS

Hi Johnson,

Im using glance to check the CPU usage, my i know is there has any issue using top command on 11.31? if so, how to overcome top command issue?

Thanks

BR
Naj

____________________________________________
:: Really appreciate if you could assign some points.
:: Don't know how to assign point? Click the KUDOS! star!
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Naj
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 30 of 34 (321 Views)

Re: Patching OS

Hi,

 

After export as said and restart omnisv, CPU utilization remain same.

 

 

Glance C.04.70.001             22:12:56 serverA+     ia64                                                 Current  Avg  High
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU  Util   S                SU                                                        U                         | 77%   78%   81%
Disk Util   F                                                                                                    |  1%    3%    4%
Mem  Util   S                          SU        U                                                               | 85%   85%   85%
Swap Util   U                   UR          R                                                                    | 34%   34%   34%
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                           PROCESS LIST                                               Users=    3
                         User      CPU %    Thrd Disk        Memory       Block
Process Name     PID     Name   ( 400% max) Cnt  IOrate      RSS/VSS      On
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
rds                14131 root        207.7    28   0.0   299.7mb  331.7mb SLEEP



____________________________________________
:: Really appreciate if you could assign some points.
:: Don't know how to assign point? Click the KUDOS! star!
Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,001
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 31 of 34 (312 Views)

Re: Patching OS

>where can I check this configuration after restart the service?

 

What configuration?  The amount of CPU usage?

 

>is there has any issue using top command on 11.31?

 

Only that it doesn't give you as much info as glance.

 

>After export as said and restart omnisv, CPU utilization remain same.

 

Other than patch to the recommended libpthread patch PHCO_41407, you'll need to talk to the Response Center.

I suppose you could download caliper and see where you are spending time.  If you are spending your time in libpthread, then the patch isn't working.  If you are spending time in rds, then maybe things are working as they should?

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Naj
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 32 of 34 (309 Views)

Re: Patching OS

HI

do you have link for response center?

____________________________________________
:: Really appreciate if you could assign some points.
:: Don't know how to assign point? Click the KUDOS! star!
Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,001
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 33 of 34 (307 Views)

Re: Patching OS

>do you have link for response center?

 

You will need a support contract.

http://www.hp.com/go/hpsc

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Johnson Punniyalingam
Posts: 2,246
Registered: ‎09-22-2008
Message 34 of 34 (298 Views)

Re: Patching OS

came cross this thread.

 

http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/General/rds-at-100-CPU-using-glance/m-p/3210254#M89910

 

does your top & glance shows the same % usage of CPU by process rds.?

Problems are common to all, but attitude makes the difference
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation