Assement Tool and Patches (159 Views)
Advisor
Fred.B
Message 1 of 5 (159 Views)
Accepted Solution

Assement Tool and Patches

I got this job a couple months ago I have limited Unix experience from past positions, and I’m primarily a windows guy (I know I’m from the dark side). I am in a position where I need to get Java 6 working on our Unix server, and according to HP I need to have specific patches loaded to accomplish this. So in investigating I discovered that our system is about 3 years behind in patches (since it was installed). First off I ran the Assessment Tool and discovered that I need to apply the following patches/pack:

PHCO_41202 – 11.31 Software Distributor Cumulative Patch
PHKL_41588 – 11.31 vm cumulative patch
PHSS_39886 – S700_800 11.X OV EMANATE 15.3 PA-RISC Consolidated Patch
PHSS_39887 – S700_800 11.X OV EMANATE 15.3 IA-64 Consolidated Patch
PHSS_41168 – 11.31 KRB5-Client Version 1.3.5.03 Cumulative Patch
QPK1131(B.11.31.1009.353a) – Quality Pack Depot for 11i v3 August 2010

In doing some research I understand that running the script that I downloaded with the patches will create a Depot that contains everything inside of it and that it does not matter where it is located in the file system as long as there is enough hard drive space. The only volume that has enough space is our main data volume, and not /tmp as recommended. All 5 (or 6 items if PA-RISC is loaded also) totals about 1GB, and my /tmp has about 3GB of free space, but according to the depot script you need a lot more free space. So I would like to do a sanity check that having it on the main data volume is ok?

Next question is the two 11.X OV EMANATE 15.3 Consolidated Patches. Do I install both patches, or do I only install the IA-64? My uname returns: B.11.31 U ia64. If only one of them why does it give you both?