Re: OVPA - how many CPU's is my DB using? (253 Views)
Reply
Regular Advisor
rleon
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎07-27-2006
Message 1 of 11 (328 Views)

OVPA - how many CPU's is my DB using?

[ Edited ]

Hi everyone ..

 

Is there a way to configure OVPA to tell me how many or which CPU's a specfic DB instance or appliacation is using?

 

thanks

Ricardo

 

 

P.S. This thread has been moved from HP-UX > System Administration to OV Performance Management Forum - HP Forums Moderator

 

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Patrick Wallek
Posts: 13,720
Registered: ‎06-21-2000
Message 2 of 11 (306 Views)

Re: OVPA - how many CPU's is my DB using?

What are you hoping to do with this knowledge?

 

With the way processes are assigned CPU time this is going to be a moving target.  Each DB process, at some point, will likely run on every CPU on the system for some amount of time.  Processes are generally not locked to a specific CPU.

Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
rleon
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎07-27-2006
Message 3 of 11 (303 Views)

Re: OVPA - how many CPU's is my DB using?

Hi Patrick

 

Thanks for the response ..

 

That is what I was also thinking but maybe if I provide addtional detail there is another way to to skin this cat.

 

Basicly we have a DB instance that "paid" for 2 CPU's on a shared server that is hosting other databases.


We want find a way to determine how many CPU's this instance is using.

 

Thanks

Ricardo

 

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Patrick Wallek
Posts: 13,720
Registered: ‎06-21-2000
Message 4 of 11 (299 Views)

Re: OVPA - how many CPU's is my DB using?

What you might be able to do is use a ps command with a custom column list to display, among other things, the PCPU (# CPU utilization) for each process.  If you then look specifically for processes related to your specific DB, then you could add up the %CPU column.  If you assume that 2 CPUs = 200% usage, then you can determine if they are going over that amount of usage.

 

For example:

 

# ps -eo user,pid,ppid,pcpu,stime,tty,time,args
USER       PID  PPID  %CPU    STIME TT           TIME COMMAND
root         0     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           01:37 swapper
root         8     0  0.00  Dec 26  ?           00:00 supsched
root         9     0  0.00  Dec 26  ?           00:00 strmem
root        10     0  0.00  Dec 26  ?           00:00 strweld
root        11     0  0.00  Dec 26  ?           00:00 strfreebd
root         2     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           00:14 vhand
root         3     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           11:11 statdaemon
root         4     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           00:35 unhashdaemon
root        12     0  0.00  Dec 26  ?           00:00 ttisr
root        13     0  0.00  Dec 26  ?           00:00 ioconfigd
root         1     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           00:49 init
root        19     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           00:23 lvmkd
root        20     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           00:24 lvmkd
root        21     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           00:23 lvmkd
root        22     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           00:23 lvmkd
root        23     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           00:24 lvmkd
root        24     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           00:23 lvmkd
root        25     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           01:19 lvmschedd
root        26     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           00:01 smpsched
root        27     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           00:01 smpsched
root        28     0  0.00  Dec 26  ?           00:00 sblksched
root        29     0  0.00  Dec 26  ?           00:00 sblksched
root        30     0  0.02  Dec 26  ?           00:10 lvmdevd
root        31     0  0.00  Dec 26  ?           00:00 lvmattachd
root      1430     1  0.02  Dec 26  console     00:00 /usr/sbin/getty console console

 

I would have to do some experiments to come up with a way to add up the column with the %CPU values.  I know it can be done, but I don't know the syntax to do it easily.

 

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Patrick Wallek
Posts: 13,720
Registered: ‎06-21-2000
Message 5 of 11 (297 Views)

Re: OVPA - how many CPU's is my DB using?

Something like this would sum the 4th column, which is the %CPU column in my ps command:

 

# ps -eo user,pid,ppid,pcpu,stime,tty,time,args | grep monitor | awk '{sum+=$4} END {print sum}'

 

Alter the 'grep' portion to look for your database name, or whatever you desire.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
rleon
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎07-27-2006
Message 6 of 11 (284 Views)

Re: OVPA - how many CPU's is my DB using?

Hi Patrick

 

Im running 11.31 on an rx8640.

 

And I dont have the o optiontion in the ps command..

 

 

# ps -eo user,pid,ppid,pcpu,stime,tty,time,args
ps: illegal option -- o
usage: ps [-edaxzflP] [-u ulist] [-g glist] [-p plist] [-t tlist] [-R prmgroup] [-Z psetidlist]

Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
rleon
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎07-27-2006
Message 7 of 11 (280 Views)

Re: OVPA - how many CPU's is my DB using?

I got it

 

UNIX95= ps -eo user,pid,ppid,pcpu,stime,tty,time,args

 

 

Please use plain text.
HP Expert
Ramkumar Devanathan
Posts: 1,561
Registered: ‎07-31-2002
Message 8 of 11 (275 Views)

Re: OVPA - how many CPU's is my DB using?

as long as there is a clear way to distinguish/identify the processes that enable the db instance you can create an app definition in the parm file (/var/opt/perf/parm - it already contains some examples). Once you configure the app definition in the parm file, restart OVPA (esp scope).
Then, you start getting the APP_CPU_TOTAL_UTIL metric for this app/set of processes - this is a portion of total cpu on the system. so if there are 8 cpu cores and you get 25% utilization, then you have 2 CPU cores being utilized. Pl try it out - using ps command is so passé :).
HP Software Rocks!
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
rleon
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎07-27-2006
Message 9 of 11 (259 Views)

Re: OVPA - how many CPU's is my DB using?

I created a report and performed the extract ..

 


02/05/2013|00:00:00| 17.54|
02/05/2013|00:05:00| 11.77|
02/05/2013|00:10:00| 12.91|
02/05/2013|00:15:00| 13.78|
02/05/2013|00:20:00| 10.64|
02/05/2013|00:25:00| 12.70|

 

Is there a way for me to specify the application and also generate this report with a daily total as compared to a 5 minute interval?

 

Please use plain text.
HP Expert
Ramkumar Devanathan
Posts: 1,561
Registered: ‎07-31-2002
Message 10 of 11 (256 Views)

Re: OVPA - how many CPU's is my DB using?

Glad to know you have come this far.

 

Have a look at the reptfile in /var/opt/perf folder - this determines the metrics that get printed in the extract output.

 

For options, have a look at the manpage for the extract command.

I will get back soon with the right cmd syntax for your need.

 

- RamD

HP Software Rocks!
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
rleon
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎07-27-2006
Message 11 of 11 (253 Views)

Re: OVPA - how many CPU's is my DB using?

Thanks ..


There are so many options .. I must be missing something.

 

SUMMARY=1440

 

and also tried -xw for weekly.

 

Still playing around with it but I feel like I am getting close.

 

Also if I use


APP_CPU_TOTAL_UTIL

 

And simply added up all of the 5 minute intervals ..

 

This will tell me the total amount of cpu the app used for that hour ..

 

so if the total is 200.00 and we have a min of 8 cpus alocated with a max of 10 ..

 

that would be the db is using all 10  for that hour?

 

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation