Windows 7 NC4200 (8774 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
Dave Sunderland
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎05-04-2008
Message 1 of 69 (8,774 Views)
Accepted Solution

Windows 7 NC4200

Hi All,

Just wondering will Win 7 run on NC4200 I know HP haven't released any drivers for 7 so if it will run on nc4200 where would you get the drivers or will Vista drivers work?

Thanks
Dave
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,335
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 2 of 69 (8,774 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hi, Dave:

In short, Yes, and no. The issue is your GMA900 grahics adapter. It will not run Windows 7 or Windows Vista Aero. It will run everything else just fine.

If you can live without the Aero effects it may be worth it. I helped a friend upgrade a few nc6220 notebooks and all devices worked. Just no Aero effects. They seemed to boot up faster too than with XP. Just a subjective observation on my part.

You can use Vista drivers for most of the components, or when you connect to the internet, it will update to the latest drivers. I actually went to Intel's website and downloaded the latest graphics, chipset and wireless card drivers for the laptops.

The nc4200 is not supported by HP for Windows 7, so there won't be any W7 drivers coming out for it officially.

There will never be a graphics driver for the GMA900 that will let it run Aero. Microsoft says the card doesn't meet all the specs for Aero even though folks have run Aero on their GMA900's in the first Vista beta release. You can do an internet search for GMA900 and Aero, or GMA900 and Vista, or GMA900 and Windows 7, and find a ton of very unhappy campers!

Paul
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,335
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 3 of 69 (8,774 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Dave:

Here is a link to Intel's website for the official position on Aero support (none) for the GMA900 graphics adapter. I looked everywhere to see if there was anyone that had a modified driver posted publicly that would work after we updated those nc6220 notebooks. I came up empty handed.

http://www.intel.com/support/graphics/sb/CS-023606.htm

Paul
Frequent Advisor
Dave Sunderland
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎05-04-2008
Message 4 of 69 (8,774 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hi Paul,

Thanks for your helpful reply, I had a feeling the graphics chip might be a problem however its good to know the NC4200 will run Win 7 but without the Aero features.
I'll give 7 a try just satisfy my own personal curiosity, can always revert it back to XP if required.

Thanks again Paul for the helpful advice its much appreciated.

Regards
Dave
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,335
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 5 of 69 (8,774 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

You're welcome, Dave:

Yes, I think you will notice a slight improvement in performance with 7. I like W7 myself but I have PC's that will run it and the desktops that didn't run the all the graphics features, I just got a Vista/7 compatible used cheap graphics card.

Too bad you can't do that with most laptops.

If you had the successor to your model, the nc4400 it would have run all the features of W7.

If you need assistance finding any missing drivers, please post back. I can tell you right now you will be missing I think a "base system device."

It appears you have the broadcom wireless drivers...

I am gonna start you off with links to the Vista drivers for stuff that will most likely be missing...

Install in this order for best results:

Chipset: (Optional-Latest from Intel):
There is no chipset driver from HP. If you decide to install it, do it first, don't decide you want to try it later, and install over all your other drivers. That is not a good idea. I'm thinking the latest chipset driver may come with W7, so it's up to you.

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/download.aspx?url=/18494/a08/infinst911autol.exe&DwnldId=18494〈=eng

Graphics:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=32...

Audio: That will update automatically when you connect to the internet and Windows update downloads the new updates to W7 and latest drivers.

Otherwise you can try the Vista drivers. I preferred to wait for the update.

Vista Audio:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=32...

Broadcom Wireless driver:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=32...

Card Reader Driver:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=32...

Trusted Platform Module: (I think this is the one that comes up as a base system device).

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=32...

That ought to be everything.

Paul

Frequent Advisor
Dave Sunderland
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎05-04-2008
Message 6 of 69 (8,774 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Awesome reply Paul, your post answered all the questions that I was going to raise plus the driver links will be extremely useful. If I do get stuck with anything I'll certainly be back to ask your advice, thanks again Paul much appreciated.

Points are on the way m8.

Kind Regards
Dave
Frequent Advisor
Volker Daiker
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 7 of 69 (8,324 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hi Dave,

 

did you succeed installing W7 on the nc4200?

 

After I completed my nc6320 with the help of Paul, thanks again!, I'm also considering to upgrade my old nc4200. So it would be nice if you can tell me if you did successfully.

 

Paul, you mentioned that Aero does not work on th nc4200, same as on the nc6220. What about the nc6320, does it work there? Maybe it does look like a silly question as I do have the nc6320 running, but I'm not sure what Aero is and how to figure out if it does work or not and if it does work on my 6320, do I really use and need it?

 

Thanks,

 

Volker

 

Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,335
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 8 of 69 (8,319 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

[ Edited ]

Hi, Volker:

 

Aero is the special effects in Windows Vista and 7 that for example, you can kind of see behind an open window (Glass effect). The taskbar is almost the same color as the deskop, the desktop kind of fades into it.

 

When you mouse over minimized windows on your taskbar, they actually display a small version of the maximized window.

 

Without Aero, no glass effects. The taskbar is solid gray and minimized windows on the taskbar work like they do in XP. Just a list of what is open.

 

Your nc6320 should be displaying the Aero affects.  Unfortunately the nc4200 won't. You need the nc4400 to have those.

 

However, be of good cheer. If that is not a big deal to you, you should be able to run W7 just fine on the nc4200 and you will probably like it anyway.

 

The graphics driver I posted above should work.  Without it, you won't even be able to change the screen resolution on the nc4200 and your graphics acceleration will be disabled with the generic driver that is installed.

 

There is a trick to installing this video driver, however.  You run it Then it gives you an "Operating System Not Supported" error when it goes to install.

 

What you need to do is manually install the video driver by going into the device manager. Click on your VGA adapter. Click on the driver tab. Click on update driver. Select the "Browse my computer for software" method, and browse to C:\SWSetup\sp34749, make sure the "Include subfolders" box is checked, and then the driver should install and you will have decent graphics without Aero.

 

I even used this driver on a Dell XPS notebook with the same GMA900 video adapter, Windows 7, and it worked just fine for that too!

 

Paul

Frequent Advisor
Volker Daiker
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 9 of 69 (8,316 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

ok, maybe Christmas time I'll give it a try. I do have another W7 license, so why not use it. Probably it will speed up the old nc4200 same as it did on my nc6320 and then I would have same OS on all my computer systems, except this Aero stuff, probably not too bad.

 

But what I'm wondering: you wrote that this Aero stuff has been introduced with Vista already, and there are Vista drivers available for the nc4200, so why do these graphics drivers not work for the nc4200 and W7 including Aero?

 

Volker

 

Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,335
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 10 of 69 (8,312 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

[ Edited ]

Hi, Volker:

 

That is because the Intel GMA900 video chip in the nc4200 is not Windows Vista or W7 capable. There is no Aero in Vista either.

 

Google "no Aero with GMA900" and you will find many many posts of very upset people that have this chip in their notebooks/desktops, and Microsoft said the adapter does not meet the WDDM reqjuirements for Aero. So none of the system chip manufacturers were able to write driver programs for it.

 

The solution for a desktop is simple.  Buy a Vista or W7 capable video card. I did that for my dc7100 desktop that has the onboard GMA 900.  You can't do that with a notebook.

 

If you read some of the posts, when Vista was in beta development, it had video drivers for the GMA 900 graphics and they had Aero.  When the final release came out, the aero was gone and people were mad as heck.

 

Anyway, no one on the planet has Aero working on a GMA900, and if they do, they have not gone public with what they did or what driver they modified to get it to work.

 

Believe me. I looked and looked and looked.

 

Paul

Frequent Advisor
Volker Daiker
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 11 of 69 (8,303 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hi Paul,

 

for sure, I do believe you, it just sounds curious that HP seems to offer a graphics driver for the nc4200 and Vista which does not support the Aero.

 

Anyway, I do have another question: I opened the control panel of my nc4200 and checked for the graphics card. It tells me "Mobile Intel 915GM/GMS,910GML Express Chipset Family". Is this same as the GMA900 you did mention or is it something else?

 

Volker

 

Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,335
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 12 of 69 (8,300 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hi, Volker:

 

Same-same.

 

The video adapter in the Mobile 915 chipset is the GMA 900, just like the video adapter in the Mobile 945 chipset is the GMA 950 in your 6320.

 

Paul

Frequent Advisor
Volker Daiker
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 13 of 69 (8,287 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hi Paul,

 

ok, propably it does not make much sense to upgrade the nc4200 to Win7.

 

But, I found some cheap nc4400 on ebay, could be another option, those do have the GMA 950 chipset.

However, do you know if I can use the memory modules and the hard disk from my nc4200 in the nc4400? (I upgraded the nc4200 to 2 GByte of memory and most cheap offered nc4400 do not have that and also a smaller hard disk).

 

Volker

 

Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,335
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 14 of 69 (8,285 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hi, Volker:

 

If you don't mind the memory only running at 533 MHz (4200's standard memory) instead of the 667 MHz that is supported in the nc4400, it will work fine.

 

I don't know about the hard disk. Is the one in the 4200 an IDE disk?  it may be a SATA disk in the 4400.

 

Paul

Frequent Advisor
Volker Daiker
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 15 of 69 (8,283 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Slower memory should not really be a problem, propably I won't take notice of that.

 

The nc4200 does have an IDE hard disk, don't know about the nc4400.

But I found a nc4400 with 80 GByte hard disk, might be OK.

 

What about the battery and docking station, do they still fit?

That would be great, but I'm afraid they won't.

 

Volker

 

Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,335
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 16 of 69 (8,280 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hi, Volker:

 

I really don't know. They might.

 

I think the 2 machines look the same, don't they?

 

For example an nc6400, and a 6910p can swap batteries and docking stations.

 

Here's the specs on the 2 models. The 4400 has a SATA HDD, so you won't be able to swap those.

 

http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/12448_na/12448_na.HTML

 

http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/12137_na/12137_na.HTML

 

Paul

Frequent Advisor
Volker Daiker
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 17 of 69 (8,279 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Yes, they do look quite similar. Battery seems to work as some vendors sell same battery for both models!

Docking station we do not know, but as the 6320 uses same as the 4200 we might be lucky for the 4400 too.

Memory should work although not at max speed.

Hard disk 80 GByte should be ok, and as far as I do know I still do have a 100 GByte in an external card reader which might also work in the notebook and could be swapped if desired.

 

Maybe I try it, hundreds of those notebooks are sold on ebay and I like this relatively small, but well built stuff.

Can we be sure that Win 7 does really fully work on the nc4400?

And, is there something special which I should take care if in case I try to get a used nc4400?

 

Volker

 

Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,335
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 18 of 69 (8,277 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hi, Volker:

 

I'm pretty sure everything will work on Windows 7.

 

The video adapter is the GMA 950 and that works with Windows 7

 

Those are nice machines. I just don't like that they don't have DVD's.

 

In a smaller older machine, I like the 2510p. Small 12" widescreen with a DVD onboard.

 

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-Compaq-2510P-Core-2-Duo-1-3ghz-2GB-DVDRW-/370556454602?pt=Laptops_Nov05&h...

 

Paul

Frequent Advisor
Volker Daiker
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 19 of 69 (8,273 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hi Paul,

 

I do not mind having no DVD, I got already an external one and when travelling I do not really need a DVD. Ok, one time my wife wanted to see a DVD video, that did not work, but it was once only.

 

The advantage of the 4400 for me would be, that I can use the memory modules (I checked those installed on my nc4200, they are already 667 MHz!, P/N 374663-431), I can use the battery which is not too bad, probably I can use the docking station, so just have to accept the 80 GByte hard disk instead of a 120 GByte which I do currently have. Or is there a SATA --> IDE adapter available for notebooks too?

 

Anyhow, the 2510 does not look too bad either. Do you know the screen resolution of that model? Is it also XGA or is already a higher wide screen resolution in 16:9 format?

 

Volker

Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,335
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 20 of 69 (8,269 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

[ Edited ]

Hi, Volker:

 

Here is the link to the quickspecs on the 2510p.

 

http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/12717_ca/12717_ca.PDF

 

It uses the same memory as your nc4200 as the processor in this model can only run at 533 MHz.

 

It can run a 64 bit operating system and though it doesn't say it, I bet you can also install 4 GB (1 x 4 GB) of memory in that little box because it has the Mobile Intel 965 chipset. If you install Windows 7 64 bit.

 

The resolution is WXGA 1280 x 800 - 16:9.

 

I would not be surprised if it doesn't use the same docking station as the nc4200 and maybe the battery too.

 

Paul

 

 

Frequent Advisor
Volker Daiker
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 21 of 69 (8,266 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hmmmm. Strange, is the 2510 newer or older than the 4400?

Should be newer, but It does have a PATA disk drive, which means I could use mine from the 4200.

Further the CPU is slower ?

 

But the strange thing is that the spec tells that we can install one single memory module only, is that true?

So if you want to have 4 GByte you need to get one single 4 GByte module. But I do have two 1 GByte modules which I'd like to use and Win 7 32 Bit would also be fine.

 

Volker

 

Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,335
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 22 of 69 (8,263 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hi:

 

Oops, I guess I didn't do my homework on the memory.

 

Yes only one module, and it says max is 2 GB, but I bet it will take a 4 GB module because the chipset supports up to 4 GB and at the time they wrote the specs, I bet there were no 4 GB DDR2 modules available.

 

That is odd that it is an IDE drive in a newer PC. That model came out about a year after the nc4400.

 

Here is the service manual. Yes only one memory module and I queried one of the hard drive part numbers and it is indeed a PATA hard drive.

 

http://bizsupport2.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c02729317/c02729317.pdf

 

Paul

Frequent Advisor
Volker Daiker
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 23 of 69 (8,235 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

[ Edited ]

Hi Paul,

 

one more question about the 2510p: in Germany I usually do find a nc2400 but not a 2510p. Do you know the difference between those?

 

Edit: forget about this question, I found a 2510p which does look nice. Maybe will be mine. Does have an Intel Mobile GMA X3100 graphics chip set, is that ok for Win7?

 

Second edit: forget also this question, you answered it already by sending me the specs.

 

Looks like this notebook has been optimized for size and weight and therefore does not have second memory slot and and a slower CPU (2*1.2 or 2*1.3 GHz) and maybe a small power supply and a 4200 ppm hard disk. But that's what I want as long as it does meet my requirements.

Do you think it is running about same speed as a nc4200 or could it be little faster?

 

Volker

 

Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,335
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 24 of 69 (8,228 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

Hi, Volker:

 

I would think the 2510p would be little faster. While the processor is slower in speed it is dual core and I think these notebooks consume less power.

 

I still think on 4 GB PC2-6400 or PC2-5300 memory chip will work in that machine even though the specs state max memory is 2 GB.

 

I have a 6910p which has the same chipset and graphics. HP specs state maximum memory is 4 GB (2 x 2 GB).

 

I have 8 GB (2 x 4 GB) in that box running Vista x64.  Works great.

 

So, based on that info, I would say since the 2510p has one memory slot, it can take 4 GB just fine.

 

...and if your wife would like to watch a movie on it, she can.

 

Paul

Frequent Advisor
Volker Daiker
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 25 of 69 (8,227 Views)

Re: Windows 7 NC4200

[ Edited ]

Hi Paul,

 

officially there are 4 GByte modules available for the nc2510p, but I never saw a used one to buy. But I found one with 2 GBytes which does look fine and my nc6320 does also have 2 GBytes only and does work well with Win 7 32Bit. And this is what I do intend to install on the 2510 too.

It just would be too bad if the videos wouldn't run well, but I do assume that it is more likely a Win 7 issue rather than a processor speed issue on the nc4200 which makes those videos not working well. On Win7 the necessary codecs are included while they are not on XP and you need some extra software such as VLC in order to play them.

Further the docking station from the nc4200 does propably not fit, same for the battery. But this is not really important.

 

Is there already a discussion thread here available about Win7 and the nc2510 where I can pick your links to the driver packages?

 

Ah, I found the reason tof the PATA hard disk: it is an 1.8" hard disk with special HP connector. That's too bad, cannot swap with the nc4200. Still struggeling what to do, nc4400 or nc2510 or stick to the old nc4200 until it breaks. If my idea about Win7 codecs is correct the videos might also run on the nc4200, but who knows that really. And I do not really need Aero, life is also fine without that stuff.

 

Volker

 

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.