Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6? (320 Views)
Reply
Honored Contributor
Joseph Huber_1
Posts: 1,082
Registered: ‎02-03-2004
Message 26 of 36 (321 Views)

Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

Do I see it right: You are not able or not allowed to make substantial changes to the applications ?
From Your description the applications is distributed over several programs/processes, but the GUI part can only have a single instantiation, i.e. can't run at the same time on diffrent displays, right ?

In this case a VNC type access is the only solution (with the VMS/DECW version upgrade needed).

On the other hand, if the application can be distributed so that the GUI can be started on several displays, or stopped and restarted without terminating the whole application, then a "classic" X11 way is possible: just login from a remote X11 desktop and start the GUI there.
http://www.mpp.mpg.de/~huber
Advisor
MathewA
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎06-14-2009
Message 27 of 36 (321 Views)

Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

ok, the measurement-program is started via the command prompt and then appears as a gui.

all measurement are then started via this gui and i can see the progress of the measurement in this gui.


so i need to be able to see this gui.

i need to open the program with the gui locally, so i cannot just open a session and start a new gui-session of the program because i need to be able to see the gui-session already running so i can see how far along the measurement is.


so:
- i open the program on the local machine (gui appears)
- i start the measurement and walk back to my office
- from my office i want to connect to the remote machine and see how far the measurement has gotten which means i need to see the program i started locally (its gui)

Honored Contributor
Hoff
Posts: 4,962
Registered: ‎01-29-2006
Message 28 of 36 (321 Views)

Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

Ok, we're going to try something tricky.

From your Unix box...

Launch an Xterm.

From the Xterm, issue ssh -Y into the OpenVMS box.

Invoke your application.

Do you get a display?
Honored Contributor
Hoff
Posts: 4,962
Registered: ‎01-29-2006
Message 29 of 36 (321 Views)

Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

ps: You're going to be buying a hardware VNC, as I suspect you're not in a position to change the software.

That'll require you to identify the graphics interface, as graphics hardware this far back may or may not have an interface compatible with a hardware VNC solution.
Honored Contributor
marsh_1
Posts: 986
Registered: ‎03-25-2004
Message 30 of 36 (321 Views)

Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

hi,

why don't you try brian reiters suggestion, use telnet as the protocol as your version of tcpip does'nt support ssh. hoff has already posted up links on decwindows.

hth

Trusted Contributor
RBrown_1
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 31 of 36 (320 Views)

Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

>>>>>
so:
- i open the program on the local machine (gui appears)
- i start the measurement and walk back to my office
- from my office i want to connect to the remote machine and see how far the measurement has gotten which means i need to see the program i started locally (its gui)
<<<<<

Why not:
- start an x-server in your office
- connect to the VMS system
- start the program (gui appears)
- watch and see how far the measurement has gotten
Advisor
MathewA
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎06-14-2009
Message 32 of 36 (320 Views)

Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

a) because I need to be able to look at it on two different computers and a measurement takes anything from 6h-48h which means the remote computer won't be running the whole time

b) i'm not the only one using the measuring computer and i want to be able to see whether their measurements are done so i can start my next one and to supervise their measurements
Honored Contributor
marsh_1
Posts: 986
Registered: ‎03-25-2004
Message 33 of 36 (320 Views)

Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

hi,

"which means the remote computer won't be running the whole time" - do you mean you have to switch off your pc ?

"i'm not the only one using the measuring computer and i want to be able to see whether their measurements are done so i can start my next one and to supervise their measurements"

is this simply the restriction of using one physical graphical interface or are there other (application ?) reasons for single streaming your workload ?

Honored Contributor
Hoff
Posts: 4,962
Registered: ‎01-29-2006
Message 34 of 36 (320 Views)

Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

Ok, here's the summary as I understand it.

MathewA has an existing OpenVMS-based laboratory-control application software that apparently can't be modified and that is presently running on a Personal Workstation running OpenVMS Alpha V7.3 with DECwindows V1.2-6. This configuration is operating at a remote location from the interested users, and MathewA and others wish to monitor and to remotely manage the progress of same from arbitrary locations around the network.

VNC would be ideal, as MathewA has reasonably realized and has commented on.

VNC is not available here via software.

Remote DECwindows will work for one remote user, but not for multiple remote users nor for sharing the output and status of an operating application.

In summary, this is not possible with the current technologies available, as currently configured. There are potential ways to alter the configuration to allow this, and with varying degrees of disruption and disturbances to the existing environment.

Of all of these approaches, a hardware VNC solution is likely the easiest and least disruptive, presuming a VGA-compatible graphics controller is present in the Personal Workstation.

If application modifications are in play, then there are other solutions, including moving to a web interface.

if upgrades are in play, then there may be a software VNC server solution available here or (and this is a much bigger leap) a hardware-based solution using some of the Integrity virtualization options available on more recent boxes. Or potentially of a move to CHARON-AXP or analogous, though the involvement of hardware laboratory control tends to require extra cost and effort to over move to an emulation solution (and VNC).

Valued Contributor
Mike Kier
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎05-18-2003
Message 35 of 36 (320 Views)

Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

Off the wall...

Put a cheap PC with an X-server app next to (logically network-wise) the lab system. Bring up the X-display for the application on it using DECterms or telnet or whatever to launch it so that the display goes to that PC... Then, VNC into *that* PC from your remote locations to control the application.
Practice Random Acts of VMS Marketing
Advisor
MathewA
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎06-14-2009
Message 36 of 36 (320 Views)

Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

@hoff: that sums it up nicely :-)
i'll contact the manufacturer of the lab system but i doubt i will be able to move to x-windows or a new openvms. at least not without unreasonible amounts of cash for such a "simple" upgrade.
it just won't fly spending thousands on being able to remote control the system.

@mike: that's a pretty niffty idea :-)
unfortunately room constraints won't allow for that and it's not to green ;-)
it's also not that easy to retrain people. once it's set up everyone would want to use it but until then i doubt anyone would want the hassle for something people don't know yet that it will make their life so much easier in the long run and improve productivity.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.