Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6? (576 Views)
Advisor
MathewA
Message 1 of 36 (576 Views)

RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

Hi all,

I'm new to OpenVMS but I hope you guys will still help me out :)
I am doing some work on the network environment here and one of the computers is running "Compaq DECWindows Motif for OpenVMS, Version 1.2-6".

I would like to be able to remotely access that computer and access both mouse and keyboard.
On the other Windows and Linux computers I have been using Windows' own RemoteDesktop or a VNC programm.

Now I wondered if it was somehow possible to do the same here or whether maybe the operating system already offered a solution for this.

I hope you gurus know the system and know how to solve this problem.
Any help would be hugely appreciated!

Kind regads,
Mathew
Honored Contributor
marsh_1
Message 2 of 36 (576 Views)

Re: RemoteDekstop/VNC possible in version 1.2-6?

HI,

try using an x-windows emulator like reflections for example to access decwindows via telnet or ssh. there is also a vnc client for vms - just google for openvms vnc.

hth

Advisor
MathewA
Message 3 of 36 (576 Views)

I found a ported version of TighVNC but that requires perl and "a recent version of X" ;)

at least according to the readme.

I also found references to a vnc version for openvms by Hunter Goatley but a) it was only for the newer openvms versions and b) i could only find the release notes and no working download locations.

Transfering data from the computer to the ftp server is not the problem by the way. All I need to do is "see" the desktop like with VNC or RemoteDekstop and control the mouse and keyboard.
Honored Contributor
marsh_1
Message 4 of 36 (576 Views)

hi,

which alpha or vax system is this and what is the version of vms ?
what is the reason for needing a windowing type session ?

hth

Honored Contributor
Steven Schweda
Message 5 of 36 (576 Views)

> I would like to be able to remotely access