Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command (721 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
MSEMEA
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎09-28-2004
Message 1 of 14 (721 Views)

FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

Hallo,
I have a problem, when a user tries to add an attachment he becomes the above mentioned error. Did anyone had same experiences or knows what to do?

Thanks for your help in advance
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Ian McKerracher_1
Posts: 153
Registered: ‎04-08-2005
Message 2 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

Hello Msemea,

I believe that FTP Error 500 can refer to any one of a number of errors. Did you receive any additional messages after "Invalid Port Command"?


Regards,

Ian

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
MSEMEA
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎09-28-2004
Message 3 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

I received no other message, that is exactly my problem
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Michael Schulte zur Sur
Posts: 4,040
Registered: ‎06-18-2003
Message 4 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

Hi,

please post the used command.
Adding an attachment? That sounds more like email to me. What sense could make an attachment with ftp?

greetings,

Michael
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
MSEMEA
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎09-28-2004
Message 5 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

we are using the functionality of adding attachments to a service call. Wich is nothing else then a link to an ftp server where the file is stored. How do I figure a command?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Michael Schulte zur Sur
Posts: 4,040
Registered: ‎06-18-2003
Message 6 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

Hi,

if you are using ftp then you have an ftp client and an ftp server. The client issues commands to the server. So, what are you using? I still do not get what you are trying to accomplish. You are transfering files, right? And where comes this service call into the picture?

Michael
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Ralf Puchner
Posts: 1,657
Registered: ‎04-22-2003
Message 7 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

Is there a firewall involved? maybe the given ports for control-/data transfer are blocked.
Help() { FirstReadManual(urgently); Go_to_it;; }
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
MSEMEA
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎09-28-2004
Message 8 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

where the service call comes up see attachment...what you see in the picture is when a user tries to save a service call where he added an attachment or he opens the service call and tries to open an attachment.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Michael Schulte zur Sur
Posts: 4,040
Registered: ‎06-18-2003
Message 9 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

Hi,

this is more a windows matter than tru64 unix.
You would have to find out, who handles the ftp server part of the backend and there you could see what ftp command the client issues.

Michael
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Al Licause
Posts: 233
Registered: ‎03-31-2003
Message 10 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

You might start with what type of systems are in use on both ends and the versions they are running.

The more detail you can provide the easier it will be for someone to pose a solution.

You might try running tcpdump on the unix side and/or ethereal on the pc side to view the conversation and see just which port the application is trying to use.

I encountered something similar recently when a linux system attempted to ftp to a tru64 system. It seems that the linux client was connecting to the kerberos port rather than the ftp port.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Ralf Puchner
Posts: 1,657
Registered: ‎04-22-2003
Message 11 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

Are you sure you are using a Tru64 system? The given output doesn't show any involved Tru64 systems, instead you provided a windows like screenshot (which is useless like any other gui outputs).

The given error message could indicate:
a) a firewall/port issue
b) a stupid microsoft problem (ms siteserver do have some bugs giving this message, have a look into the knowledgebase)
c) passive/active mode of ftp leading to problem

good luck.
Help() { FirstReadManual(urgently); Go_to_it;; }
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
MSEMEA
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎09-28-2004
Message 12 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

The given error message could indicate:
a) a firewall/port issue
b) a stupid microsoft problem (ms siteserver do have some bugs giving this message, have a look into the knowledgebase)
c) passive/active mode of ftp leading to problem

a) it does not seem to be a firewall issue, the connection test is successful
b) and c) we are just checking

Thanks for your help
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Ralf Puchner
Posts: 1,657
Registered: ‎04-22-2003
Message 13 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

ftp uses different ports, so a connection test is useless without knowing which ports are involved.

Btw. this is a tru64 and not a windows problem forum.
Help() { FirstReadManual(urgently); Go_to_it;; }
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
MSEMEA
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎09-28-2004
Message 14 of 14 (721 Views)

Re: FTP Error 500: Invalid port command

I somehow recognized that I am in the wrong Forum, sorry for that. I have opened a thread here http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=960431
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation