Re: nnm 9.1 -> 9.2 hostname problem (2197 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
forwalker
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-20-2011
Message 1 of 10 (2,257 Views)
Accepted Solution

nnm 9.1 -> 9.2 hostname problem

Hi,

I have problem with nodes hostnames after upgrade from 9.1 to 9.2.

Management addess selection is:

1. seed ip/management ip

2. lowest loopback

3. interface matching

 

Before upgrade i had buch of nodes with name resolved from seed IP,

now it changed to public ip addesses of operator. (eg 77-45-14-76.sta.asta-net.com.pl)

Most It concernes nodes without loopback with two or more physical L3 interfaces.

How to come back to previous situation ?

Regards,

Piotr

Honored Contributor
LindsayHill
Posts: 742
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 2 of 10 (2,232 Views)

Re: nnm 9.1 -> 9.2 hostname problem

Hi Piotr

 

Sorry I can't help with your problem, but I just wanted to let you know that I'm seeing something similar with another system that's been upgraded from 9.11p3 -> 9.20.

 

I haven't quite gotten to the bottom of it yet, but it looks like it's pretty much the same thing you're seeing - some nodes that had been loaded from a seed IP previously (thus forcing a specific IP to be used for name resolution) are now using a hostname based on the reverse DNS of an interface IP. 

 

My name selection criteria is still short DNS Name, short sysName, IP. I could change to use short sysName everywhere, but that might change other nodes.

 

It's a bit frustrating, because now several devices are not in the right node groups, as my node group filters were based on nodeName, not sysName. Looks like I'm going to have to try removing/re-adding some devices, using the seed IP.

CCIE 36708 | @northlandboy | lkhill.com
Honored Contributor
LindsayHill
Posts: 742
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 3 of 10 (2,230 Views)

Re: nnm 9.1 -> 9.2 hostname problem

Just a little bit more to add to this, on some of the affected nodes, I can see that the management IP is still the loopback0.

 

But the IP that's been used to resolve the hostname is the first listed IP address. 

 

If I delete the node, then re-add it (using the IP that reverse resolves to the correct name), it shows up correctly.

 

Looks like I've got A) some manual node deleting/adding to do, and B) a case to log.

CCIE 36708 | @northlandboy | lkhill.com
Occasional Contributor
forwalker
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-20-2011
Message 4 of 10 (2,212 Views)

Re: nnm 9.1 -> 9.2 hostname problem

Hi, it looks like that we have the same problem, thanks for you post
Honored Contributor
LindsayHill
Posts: 742
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 5 of 10 (2,208 Views)

Re: nnm 9.1 -> 9.2 hostname problem

I've logged a case about it. Will let you know if we find a resolution.
CCIE 36708 | @northlandboy | lkhill.com
Honored Contributor
dieter boschung
Posts: 236
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
Message 6 of 10 (2,197 Views)

Re: nnm 9.1 -> 9.2 hostname problem

Hi

 

Make sure your nms-disco.properties has this line activated (remove the comment signs)

 

com.hp.ov.nms.disco.HostNameMatchManagementIP=true

Then restart ovjboss and run a config poll agains the node. That should make sure that the name of the node is set to the resolved name of the management address.

 

Kind regards

Dieter

HP Support
If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution.
Frequent Advisor
Thomas Buergi
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 7 of 10 (2,195 Views)

Re: nnm 9.1 -> 9.2 hostname problem

[ Edited ]

Did you check the nms-disco.properties file?

(HP BTO Software\shared\nnm\conf\props\ nms-disco.properties)

 

 

HostNameMatchManagementIP should be excluded.

 

#com.hp.ov.nms.disco.HostNameMatchManagementIP = false

 

 

 

HP BTO Software\shared\nnm\conf\props\ nms-disco.properties

****************************************************************************

# Lookup Management IP Address for the Node Host Name
#
# This parameter determines if disco should use management IP for the host name. Before 9.0, disco will lookup
# all available IP addresses to find a valid host name. The default value is true.
# If management IP does not have corresponding DNS name, IP address will be set to host name directly.
# It is highly recommended that customers only change this parameter at initial time to make the node host name
# stable. Late time change could break other configurations, such as node group settings and SNMP specific node settings,
# because node name could be changed.
#com.hp.ov.nms.disco.HostNameMatchManagementIP = false

Frequent Advisor
Thomas Buergi
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 8 of 10 (2,191 Views)

Re: nnm 9.1 -> 9.2 hostname problem

Ouch!, was a bit too late :-)

Frequent Visitor
Kristoffervo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-15-2012
Message 9 of 10 (1,994 Views)

Re: nnm 9.1 -> 9.2 hostname problem

Thank you, saved my day !

 

:D

Honored Contributor
LindsayHill
Posts: 742
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 10 of 10 (1,985 Views)

Re: nnm 9.1 -> 9.2 hostname problem

+1 from here too - we have just made this change, and it is now working as expected.

 

Thanks

CCIE 36708 | @northlandboy | lkhill.com
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.