how to put interface in unmanaged status in NNM 8.10? (834 Views)
Reply
Trusted Contributor
hp4u
Posts: 545
Registered: ‎09-16-2010
Message 1 of 8 (834 Views)

how to put interface in unmanaged status in NNM 8.10?

Hi Experts,
Can anyone guide me how to put any interface for particular node in Unmanaged status?


Regards,
Dharmendra
Regards,
hp4u
Please use plain text.
Advisor
Manpreetss
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎11-16-2010
Message 2 of 8 (834 Views)

Re: how to put interface in unmanaged status in NNM 8.10?

Hi Dharmnedra,

You can use a command line.....ovtopodix -G
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
hp4u
Posts: 545
Registered: ‎09-16-2010
Message 3 of 8 (834 Views)

Re: how to put interface in unmanaged status in NNM 8.10?

Hi,
Can you explain little bit?
I don't want any changes in node status.I want only that interface to be in Unmanaged status.

Regards,
Dharmendra
Regards,
hp4u
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
b0bby
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-10-2010
Message 4 of 8 (834 Views)

Re: how to put interface in unmanaged status in NNM 8.10?

Hi Dharmnedra,

yes you can do this by adding the Interface IP add in netmon.noDiscover, so that in next discovery NNM would Ignore this IP address from discoverying.

$OV_CONF/netmon.noDiscover

EXAMPLES
The following entry describes a single IP address:
10.2.112.86 # ISDN Interface(your notes to remember next time)

Thanks



Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Giirish
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎11-28-2009
Message 5 of 8 (834 Views)

Re: how to put interface in unmanaged status in NNM 8.10?

Hello,

Here basically inside network devices you will find many ip's. Might be your customer want unmanage the unwanted IP addresses. through SNMP walk utility find the IP address available on that node then, check the run the following command to Unmanage that only.
ovtopodix -G
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
hp4u
Posts: 545
Registered: ‎09-16-2010
Message 6 of 8 (834 Views)

Re: how to put interface in unmanaged status in NNM 8.10?

Is this command is available in windows NNM 8.10.It shows unrecogonized?

Regards,
Dharmendra
Regards,
hp4u
Please use plain text.
Advisor
WW599651
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎03-19-2011
Message 7 of 8 (830 Views)

Re: how to put interface in unmanaged status in NNM 8.10?

Hi

The ovtopofix -G will not work in NNMi series . You have to put the ip address of the nodes in netmon.noDiscover file under conf directory and restart netmon service.

Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
asoloperto
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
Message 8 of 8 (825 Views)

Re: how to put interface in unmanaged status in NNM 8.10?

Hello,

please ignore all posts until now. There is no netmon on NNM 8.x or above. You have the following options:

 

1. In the NNMi Web UI:

Go to the inventory workspace and open the Custom Interfaces view. Filter the list to your interfaces which you want to set to unmanaged. Select the lines and use menu item Actions > Management Mode > Not managed.

 

2. From the command line

Use the command nnmmanagementmode.ovpl (see reference page)

 

3. Design an interface filter and use it to set the matching interfaces to not polled (Monitoring Configuration)

 

I would use option 3. As I am on 9.10 I am not pretty sure if the command exists in 8.x or if the action is present, but my general advice is to upgrade to 9.10.

 

HTH and kind regards

 

Alessandro

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation