Status color on NNM 6.01 under NT (85 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Albert Minoza
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-29-2000
Message 1 of 6 (85 Views)

Status color on NNM 6.01 under NT

We are using NNM 6.01 under NT flatform to monitor UPSs with SNMP. If there is
an alarm on the UPS, NNM receives the alarm messages but it does not change the
status color of the UPS icon from green to red or to any color. From the
documentation, samples programs can be found on c:\OpenView\contrib\ecs. I went
into this directory and found set of files. But the documentation does not
mention how to implement the change in status color. Any diea?

TIA,
Albert Minoza
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
Berlene Herren_1
Posts: 515
Registered: ‎10-15-1999
Message 2 of 6 (85 Views)

Re: Status color on NNM 6.01 under NT

Check out the setStatus utility in

/usr/OV/contrib/NNM/setStatus directory

maybe a bit different path for NT.

Berlene
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Albert Minoza
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-29-2000
Message 3 of 6 (85 Views)

Re: Status color on NNM 6.01 under NT

Thank you for your quick response.
I tried to do a search for setStatus utility but does not exist.
I found these files, ecsevgen.exe and ecsevout.exe under
c:\OpenView\contrib\ecs directory.
Do these files have something to do with changing status color?

Thanks again.
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
Berlene Herren_1
Posts: 515
Registered: ‎10-15-1999
Message 4 of 6 (85 Views)

Re: Status color on NNM 6.01 under NT

Albert, the contrib tools do not automatically get loaded when NNM for NT is
installed. The utility should be located on the CD.

Berlene
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Mike Frederick
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-29-2000
Message 5 of 6 (85 Views)

Re: Status color on NNM 6.01 under NT

May sound silly, but did you make sure that these devices are actually set to
managed under Edit->Manage Objects in NNM?
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
Hao Zhong_1
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-24-2000
Message 6 of 6 (85 Views)

Re: Status color on NNM 6.01 under NT

I have a similar question. When I send a OV_Node_Down SNMP trap to NNM by using
'ovevent' from the command line, NNM will not change the color of the node. Is
this the way it should be?

Hao
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation