Re: Operational Status down (294 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
HELP_TC
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-27-2013
Message 1 of 7 (402 Views)

Operational Status down

Hi ,

 

we are using NNM version 7.53

 

We see few interface is showing down for the network devices. When we open the interface it show administration status up and operational status down. Can you please tell me how can we bring the operational status up for those interface.

 

We have few more port for which both are up but the interface not coming under monitoring.

 

Could you please help on this .

 

Regards

Honored Contributor
LindsayHill
Posts: 743
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 2 of 7 (392 Views)

Re: Operational Status down

Normally if the status is admin up/operational down, that means the port's enabled, but nothing's plugged in (or the server is shut down).

Plug something in, or admin disable the port.
CCIE 36708 | @northlandboy | lkhill.com
Occasional Contributor
HELP_TC
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-27-2013
Message 3 of 7 (359 Views)

Re: Operational Status down

Hi Thanks for your reply,

 

Devices are connected to the ports, but still we are seeing operational status down, please let us know if any thing need to be checked on our NNM server end.

 

We have few port which have both (admin & Opert) up, but still the interface is not coming under monitoring.

 

Could you please assist.

Honored Contributor
AndyKemp
Posts: 751
Registered: ‎05-17-2010
Message 4 of 7 (348 Views)

Re: Operational Status down

What numerical value is being returned for the interface status ? 

 

ifOperStatus 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.8

 

There are 7 possible values :

 

1 : up
2 : down
3 : testing
4 : unknown
5 : dormant
6 : notPresent
7 : lowerLayerDown

 

 

Have a nice day :)

Andy Kemp,  CISSP
Occasional Contributor
HELP_TC
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-27-2013
Message 5 of 7 (344 Views)

Re: Operational Status down

This is what i can find for the interface.

 


Interface Administration Status: up

Interface Operational Status: Down
 

Capabilities
•isCDP


Addresses
  IP Level: IPv4

User Defined Variables:

•Name: ifStatusAssigned - Value: Str:-
•Name: ifStatusLifecycleState - Value: Str:-
•Name: ifStatusNotes - Value: Str:-
•Name: multicastProtocol - Value: Long:0
•Name: ifStatusReasonObj2 - Value: Str:-
•Name: igmpVersion - Value: Long:0
•Name: ifStatusReasonObj1 - Value: Str:-
•Name: ifStatusReasonIndex - Value: Long:0
•Name: ifStatusReasonAlarmObj - Value: Str:-
 

 

 

Is this what you asked us to check? If not , how do we check what you asked ?

Honored Contributor
LindsayHill
Posts: 743
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 6 of 7 (335 Views)

Re: Operational Status down

Use snmp - either a MIB browser, or snmpwalk/snmpget.

CCIE 36708 | @northlandboy | lkhill.com
Frequent Advisor
tanish
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Message 7 of 7 (294 Views)

Re: Operational Status down

nnmsnmpwalk.ovpl -c <communitystring> <nodeip> ifOperStatus

 

check the o/p for that interface, if its value is showing as 2 then you can confirm that there is something need to be corrected from the network team.

 

Cheers!

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.