Re: GNM 9.10 (546 Views)
Reply
Valued Contributor
bebu
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
Message 1 of 11 (567 Views)
Accepted Solution

GNM 9.10

Hi,

 

Tenant information of a particular node(from Remote management server) in GNM is showing as "Default Tenant" instead the tenant name.

 

I have verified with Uuid of GNM and RNM, but still it takes the object in "Default group".  Help me to sort out of this..

 

 

Thanks folks.

Bebu

Honored Contributor
Ian_4
Posts: 3,738
Registered: ‎10-04-2000
Message 2 of 11 (562 Views)

Re: GNM 9.10

Probably when you seeded the node you did not specify the Initial Discovery Tenant. Delete the node from the seed and from topology then read it with the proper Initial Discovery Tenant.  Hope this helps.

Valued Contributor
bebu
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
Message 3 of 11 (558 Views)

Re: GNM 9.10

You are correct!

 

I tried with the below command

 

nnmloadseeds.ovpl -t MyNewstCustomer -n 10.10.10.10

 

in RNM -> It considers the nodes to the mentioned tenant name and security group.

 

But in GNM -> still it shows as in default tenant and default security group.

 

(Where i have already created tenants on both with same Uuid)

 

is there any keyword for security group while adding nodes same like tenants. ? wondering why the synchronization is not happening.

Honored Contributor
Ian_4
Posts: 3,738
Registered: ‎10-04-2000
Message 4 of 11 (546 Views)

Re: GNM 9.10

 

This is clearly a defect that needs to be fixed, one thing you can try is to use the UUID for the –t option and see that makes a difference. Hope this helps.

Valued Contributor
bebu
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
Message 5 of 11 (538 Views)

Re: GNM 9.10

[ Edited ]

Thanks friend! But still no go. Its lacking some where.. :( :(. It shows as default tenant. some times tenant coloumn itself not appears / available on GNM.

Honored Contributor
Ian_4
Posts: 3,738
Registered: ‎10-04-2000
Message 6 of 11 (533 Views)

Re: GNM 9.10

If the tenant is not appearing, then that is a UI issue. What version of the browser are you using? It might that you are using Firefox 8 or 10? NNMi support 3.6 or IE 8  did you test that out. This may solve the display problem but you may still have the first issue that need to be fixed, I think it is a defect.

 

Hope this helps.
 

Valued Contributor
bebu
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
Message 7 of 11 (525 Views)

Re: GNM 9.10

Yes, It was UI problem, I installed IE8 and it is running fine.

 

for GNM, i have got below messages in system information -> Global Network Management

 

Subscribed Global Managers
        'a1c77f73-58d8-452e-9a61-e26314062923' has 6,925 queued messages
        '579603bb-901c-42da-a257-15a6f9183b47' has 55,868 queued messages

 

Now this turned to warning message. I also checked ovstatus. I have found no 'nmsdbmgr' service is running. which is using Oracle DB. i tried with

1. ovstart -d -v nmsdbmgr ->

o/p :

 

 # ovstart -d -v nmsdbmgr
  ** Debug flag ('-d') was specified. Expect additional output. **
ovstart: connected to ovspmd on attempt 1
ovstart: sent START request to ovspmd
ovspmd: Object manager nmsdbmgr is not registered.  See ovaddobj(1m).
ovspmd: Attempt to start HP OpenView services is complete.
ovstart: EOF from ovspmd, exiting

 

2. i tried ./nmsdbmgr -start

Cannot find user ID number for 'nmsdbmgr'.
The password file doesn't contain it, or is protected,
or other error.

 

3.i tried ./initnmsdb.ovpl
Removing /var/opt/OV/shared/nnm/databases/Postgres
Recreating /var/opt/OV/shared/nnm/databases/Postgres
chown: `nmsdbmgr:nmsdb': invalid user
Initializing database

i could not trace it.

 

 

Honored Contributor
Ian_4
Posts: 3,738
Registered: ‎10-04-2000
Message 8 of 11 (522 Views)

Re: GNM 9.10

You can try the steps listed under the "Remedying a Destroyed Database on global"  in the NNMi Deployment Reference.

 

Hope this helps.

HP Expert
dieter boschung
Posts: 236
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
Message 9 of 11 (517 Views)

Re: GNM 9.10

Hi Bebu

 

First of all, if you have Oracle as DB not the embedded Postgres, then nmsdbmgr is not running as it is a front end to start and stop the embedded Postgres DB.

 

If you do have Postgres configured, then you must have the corresponding user and group defined in /etc/passwd respectively /etc/group.

 

I assume you have Oracle configured since nmsdmgr is missing from your passwd file.

 

If you want to remove stale GNM subscription then please folow this document: http://support.openview.hp.com/selfsolve/document/KM1293497

 

Hope this helps

Dieter

HP Support
If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution.
Valued Contributor
bebu
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
Message 10 of 11 (512 Views)

Re: GNM 9.10

Thanks Dieter!now, i understand the functionality. same way, It would be great, any advise on RNM and GNM tenant mapping.

Valued Contributor
bebu
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
Message 11 of 11 (496 Views)

Re: GNM 9.10

It got fixed in patch1. Thank you all folks!!!

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.