Re: EX490 Recovery Disc (1283 Views)
Advisor
Message 26 of 60 (1,473 Views)

Re: EX490 Recovery Disc

Can you see your server on your network? How is your server and your Pc's for that matter getting their IP addresses? Fixed or DHCP?

Assuming everything is plugged into an ethernet router log on to the router to see if you see all your devices.

Tom

Occasional Advisor
Message 27 of 60 (1,468 Views)

MR G.

scroll up and read my post after walter and READ it Carefully...it will give you a CLUE on how to get yer server started and Seen....mine was a PITA as well...but after fiddling with it and harrassing TOM and JEFF....i got it to work..so DO NOT Give UP easily...HP are always a PAIN :)   but it WILL work...unless there is a Hardware issue...and i'm betting you don't have that Issue :)

these 2 guys are THE BEST...and i'm a tech...so yer in good hands... just watch out for jeff...he smiles alot (not sure why)...LOL

Daniel.

VoicesFYC.

Visitor
Message 28 of 60 (1,456 Views)

[ Edited ]

Hi Tom,

No, I cannot see the server on my network. The ethernet port on the back of the server is blinking as if there is activity there but when I log into my router (running Tomato using DCHP), it says there is nothing connected to that physical port.

The PC (Windows 7) is using an auto IP, not static. If it's relevant, I log into my router using 192.168.1.x.  Is it possible the previous ownder perhaps set up  the server with a different subnet?

I"ve tried resetting the router but no luck. Still solid read health port.

Thanks for your reply as well Daniel. I'm hoping to avoid the full reinstall if possible but will keep your post in mind if I have to go that route.

Thanks.

Visitor
Message 29 of 60 (1,446 Views)

Well this is embarrassing. Followed the directions to reinstall OS, which ultimately  failed because there is no drive in the unit! Seller told me 1tb drive was intact but I didn't check and now see all four bays are empty. **bleep**.

Occasional Advisor