Re: Upgrading Disks on a NetRAID 1Si (76 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
Jose L. Rodiño
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-06-2004
Message 1 of 4 (76 Views)

Upgrading Disks on a NetRAID 1Si

I have a Netserver LC2000 with 3x9Gb on RAID 5 over a NetRAID 1Si with a W2K server. I wish to REPLACE my 3 9Gb disks with 3 36Gb. Is there some kind of tool to migrate the "Logical Disk" content to the new one, or I must use Backup/Reinstall/Restore method?

Thanks in advance...
Jose
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Mark Young_2
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎10-14-2003
Message 2 of 4 (76 Views)

Re: Upgrading Disks on a NetRAID 1Si

Hi,

You have to use the backup/reinstall/restore method.

Sorry,

Mark
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Mark Young_2
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎10-14-2003
Message 3 of 4 (76 Views)

Re: Upgrading Disks on a NetRAID 1Si

Hi,

I was just thinking. I suppose if you had 3 empty slots in the server, you could install the three new drives and set up a new RAID5 on them and then copy everything from the existing drive to the new one. I'm not sure how much Windows 2000 will like this, but I'm sure there are some solutions to get over any bumps in the road.

Mark
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Greg Carlson
Posts: 1,075
Registered: ‎01-21-2002
Message 4 of 4 (76 Views)

Re: Upgrading Disks on a NetRAID 1Si

Jose,

You would need to do a combo of what Mark stated, first create a new logical drive with the new 36gb hdds. Then use Ghost or some other similar app to copy the data to the new logical drive and make it bootable..> Then delete and reformat the original partition so that you boot to the new logical drive... You would be best to do a backup and restore however which is what HP would recommend.

Ciao,
Greg
Lets Roll!
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation