ZR2240w Display: IPS LED or TFT LCD? (328 Views)
Collector
bmb2013
Message 1 of 3 (328 Views)
Accepted Solution

ZR2240w Display: IPS LED or TFT LCD?

[ Edited ]

Hi. I am considering buying two HP ZR 2240w displays but I am finding conflicting information on this display model. In most information provided in HP websites this display shows up as an IPS LED technology display but when I downlad the user guide from the HP website, the specifications page presents the display as having TFT LCD tchnology. I am not an expert, but I believe these are different technologies.

I have contacted HP pre-sales support which was unwilling to help. I have also contacted HP chat support who claim not to have the tools required to assist me. Can someone clear this up for me?

Thank you.

P.S.This thread has been moved from Macintosh-Compatible Products to Monitor-HP Forums Moderat

Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
Skylarking
Message 2 of 3 (291 Views)

Re: ZR2240w Display: IPS LED or TFT LCD?

TFT LCD is the basic building block of ones modern flat computer display. It is based on a liquid crystal display using thin film transistors deposited on a glass substrate. These transistors perform the switching of the liquid crystals which either allows light to pass or blocks light from passing through the liquid crystal. Light is provided by either cathode tubes or leds and it passes via red, green and blue filters that sit over each sub pixel. That way the display can create color.

Different types of TFT LCD displays exist, TN (twisted numatics) is commonly used by gamers as it switches the pixels on/off very fast so there is little to no ghosting, IPS (In Plane Switching) is commonly used where wide viewing angles with accurate color is more important than switching speed (ghosting).