Recording Flex AIR applications (883 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
AlexPerf
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-02-2012
Message 1 of 8 (883 Views)

Recording Flex AIR applications

Hello,

 

The application suite we are working with is built with Flex and some parts of it are Adobe AIR applications running on client machines. Is there a way to record AMF communications between these AIR apps and the server using Flex protocol? I mean the same way Flex scripts are recorded. I haven't found a way to do that for now.

LoadRunner 11.50 is used.

There's probably a long workaround by using Charles Proxy, analyzing requests/responses and creating the script manually, but I'd prefer doing that from VUgen.

 

Thank you in advance,

Alex

Valued Contributor
Moshka
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 2 of 8 (844 Views)

Re: Recording Flex AIR applications

Hi,

 

have you tried to record the AIR application as a WIN32 application via VUGEN?

LoadRunner DEV Eng.
LoadRunner - your performance, our passion!
Occasional Advisor
AlexPerf
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-02-2012
Message 3 of 8 (808 Views)

Re: Recording Flex AIR applications

Sure I have. LoadRunner starts the application, I see the process in the Task Manager, but it never shows up as a window.
Valued Contributor
Moshka
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 4 of 8 (805 Views)

Re: Recording Flex AIR applications

AIR applications are usually OOB (out of browser) applications.

 

does the application has a web version?

 

if it does, why not record the web application?

LoadRunner DEV Eng.
LoadRunner - your performance, our passion!
Occasional Advisor
AlexPerf
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-02-2012
Message 5 of 8 (800 Views)

Re: Recording Flex AIR applications

It does not have a browser version. Adding it to the build process will introduce changes the developers want to avoid.

Occasional Advisor
AlexPerf
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-02-2012
Message 6 of 8 (760 Views)

Re: Recording Flex AIR applications

I would like to put a feature request for recording Adobe AIR applications. How can I do that?
Advisor
Hemed
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-27-2011
Message 7 of 8 (753 Views)

Re: Recording Flex AIR applications

Hi,

 

AIR applications *should* be supported as as part of Win32 application recording.

 

Please contact product support to assist in this issue. We will do our best to solve this ASAP.

 

Thanks,

Nir Hemed

LoadRunner R&D

Occasional Advisor
AlexPerf
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-02-2012
Message 8 of 8 (608 Views)

Re: Recording Flex AIR applications

An update on the matter - looks like there's an issue with recording Adobe AIR applications in Windows 7. A possible workaround for now is to do recordings in Windows XP machine.
The defect QCCR1J30014 was created on the issue.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.