XPADE (833 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
Eder Urruela
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎04-07-2009
Message 1 of 19 (833 Views)
Accepted Solution

XPADE

Hello I have some libraries which was compiled in a PA-RISC server, and now I want to make a new developmente with this libraries in a PA-RISC aplication, but in a Itanium machine, how can I make to run the compiler using the XPADE, I have it installed in the machines and I know that it work perfectly.

At the beggining the XPADE was as default mode, but i removed it, and now i don't how to make it the default compiling mode again.

Thanks!
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,290
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 2 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

Why would it be the "default" mode? If you want to run XPADE, you should use the absolute path to all of the tools and then export the correct environment variables.

Look at the documentation under:
http://www.hp.com/go/xpade
Frequent Advisor
Eder Urruela
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎04-07-2009
Message 3 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

I follow the instruccions i have find in the link

Copy your HP 9000 application source files to the target Integrity system where HP XPADE
is installed.
2. Change the$PATH variable to pick up compiler from HP XPADE directory.
3. Update makefile to pick up libraries and headers from HP XPADE directory.
4. Change makefile to use shared libraries instead of archive libraries if any archive library is
used in your product build scripts. This is because, the PA archive libraries are not part of
HP XPADE package as these are not officially supported.

But now I have find the following error:

cc -gc -O -Wp,-H256000 -DRELEASE -D_HPUX_SOURCE -D_CLASSIC_TYPES -DX11R6 -I/opt/XPADE/v3/usr/include -I/hpivi/tape/usr/include/X11R2 -I/opt/XPADE/v3/usr/includeX11R6 -I. -I../../inc Zt_Error.c
cc: Couldn't open the message catalog: "/opt/ansic/lib/nls/msg/C/cc.cat".
/opt/langtools/lbin/cpp.ansi: illegal option -- d
...

Should I remove some compilation flags.

Thanks!
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,290
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 4 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

>I follow the instructions i have find in the link

Did you do these:
3.4 Installing and Setting up HP XPADE Depot
Set environmental variables to refer to XPADE environment:
On HP-UX 11i V3 system:
...
On HP-UX 11i V2 system:
export SDKROOT=/opt/XPADE/v2
export TARGETROOT=/opt/XPADE/v2
Advisor
Kannan M Jeganathan
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 5 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

Where is the XPADE installed in the system?

Suppose it was installed in /opt/XPADE/v3. One could use the XPADE using:

export SDKROOT=/opt/XPADE/v3
export TARGETROOT=/opt/XPADE/v3
export PATH=/opt/XPADE/v3/opt/ansic/bin:$PATH

You could remove either -O or -g to get around this problem. Bascially -d is passed to cpp.ansi by the driver for enabling debugging optimized code.

But the actual problem is different one.
Frequent Advisor
Eder Urruela
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎04-07-2009
Message 6 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

The version which is instaled in my server is the v3.

I don't know if i'm doing something wrong, because i thougth I have this environment variables set, but they aren't!

I declare it but the system doesn't mantain it.

I do the export comand in the shell. that's the correct way? Or I have to declare it in a file?

Thanks!
Advisor
Kannan M Jeganathan
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 7 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

Could you get the output for the following command:

echo $SDKROOT::$TARGETROOT::$PATH; cc -c -v inp1.c
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,290
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 8 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

>I declare it but the system doesn't maintain it. I do the export command in the shell. What's the correct way?

If you export it, it will stay until you log off.
Acclaimed Contributor
James R. Ferguson
Posts: 21,184
Registered: ‎07-06-2000
Message 9 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

Hi:

>I declare it but the system doesn't maintain it. I do the export command in the shell. What's the correct way?

If you 'su -' the old environmental variables are discarded and a new environment is created. If you do a simple 'su' without the hyphen ('-') then most variables are preserved, _EXCEPT_ 'HOME', 'ENV', 'IFS', 'SHLIB_PATH' or 'LD_*' unless 'SU_KEEP_ENV_VARS' is set in '/etc/default/security' (see the security(4) manpages).

Regards!

...JRF...

Regards!

...JRF...
Frequent Advisor
Eder Urruela
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎04-07-2009
Message 10 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

Finally! I'm compiling in XPADE mode, I don't know why but modifying the environment variables in the .profile it works.

I know I'm compiling in XPADE mode becase the compiler admit old modifiers as -Ac. But now I have two doubts about problem would probably appear as I advance in my work.

I have the following call to the compiler and to the linker, for example

cc -c -O -Wp,-H256000 -DRELEASE -D_HPUX_SOURCE -D_CLASSIC_TYPES -DX11R
6 -I/opt/XPADE/v3/usr/include -I/opt/XPADE/v3/master/hpivi/tape/usr/include/X11R
2 -I/opt/XPADE/v3/usr/include/X11R6 -Ac -I. -I../../inc Zt_Error.c
ar ruv ../../lib/libZt.a Zt_Error.o
ar: creating ../../lib/libZt.a
a - Zt_Error.o

And I have the following PATH

/opt/XPADE/v3/opt/ansic/bin:/opt/XPADE/v3/usr/ccs/bin:/opt/XPADE/v3/usr/ccs/lbin
:/usr/bin:/usr/ccs/bin:/usr/contrib/bin:/usr/contrib/Q4/bin:/opt/perl/bin:/opt/g
vsd/bin:/opt/nettladm/bin:/opt/fcms/bin:/opt/wbem/bin:/opt/wbem/sbin:/opt/sas/bi
n:/opt/graphics/common/bin:/opt/atok/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/usr/contrib/bin/X11:/opt/
sec_mgmt/bastille/bin:/opt/caliper/bin:/opt/drd/bin:/opt/dsau/bin:/opt/dsau/sbin
:/opt/resmon/bin:/opt/firefox:/opt/gnome/bin:/usr/contrib/kwdb/bin:/opt/mozilla:
/opt/perl_32/bin:/opt/perl_64/bin:/opt/prm/bin:/opt/sfm/bin:/opt/swm/bin:/opt/se
c_mgmt/spc/bin:/opt/sentinel/bin:/opt/swa/bin:/opt/hpsmh/bin:/opt/thunderbird:/o
pt/langtools/bin:/opt/rdma/bin:/opt/mpi/bin:/opt/ssh/bin:/opt/ignite/bin:/opt/aC
C/bin:/opt/cadvise/bin:/opt/perf/bin:/opt/java1.4/jre/bin:/opt/spb/bin:/opt/hpvm
/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/obras/master/sh:.:/ORACLE/app/product/9.2.0/bin:/obras/master
/EC/INTERNO/sh

The first three folder are where are the XPADE cc compiler, the /opt/XPADE/v3/opt/ansic/bin, the ar linker is in the path /opt/XPADE/v3/usr/ccs/bin and libaries are in /opt/XPADE/v3/usr/ccs/lbin.

So i have the following doubts, I'm doing it right, and I will not find ELF file errors because im not using the linker well.

And the second, when I have finally the program, how can i execute it, I should execute it under XPADE or as if it where a normal program?

Thanks!
Advisor
Kannan M Jeganathan
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 11 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

Eder Urruela,

> So i have the following doubts, I'm doing it right, and I will not find ELF file errors because im not using the linker well.

Without using a linker (directly or indirectly through cc) you could not get any executable, the final program.

> And the second, when I have finally the program, how can i execute it, I should execute it under XPADE or as if it where a normal program?

You could execute the generated executable in IA itself with the help of ARIES. For more information about ARIES please refer to: www.hp.com/go/aries

Regards,
Kannan
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,290
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 12 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

>and to the linker,
>the ar linker is in the path

ar(1) is the archiver, not the linker.
Both ar and ld are in that path.
Frequent Advisor
Eder Urruela
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎04-07-2009
Message 13 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

Hello when I try to link the final exe file, called ivibuild I have the following error message.

/opt/XPADE/v3/usr/ccs/lbin/ld32: Unsatisfied symbols:
XtShellStrings (first referenced in ../../lib/libZtddServ.a) (data)
XtStrings (first referenced in ../../lib/libZtddServ.a) (data)
XtWindowOfObject (first referenced in ../../lib/libZtddServ.a) (code)
*** Error exit code 1


I had the same problem when I compiled this program without the XPADE, and I solved it adding the library /usr/lib/hpux32/libXt.so.1. which have the missing symbols.

but now it isn't a the solution because it duplicates many simbols.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
Advisor
Kannan M Jeganathan
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 14 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

> I had the same problem when I compiled this program without the XPADE, and I solved it adding the library /usr/lib/hpux32/libXt.so.1 which have the missing symbols. but now it isn't a the solution because it duplicates many simbols

Are you directly including /usr/lib/hpux32/libXt.so.1 (in the link line)? If so, it is incorrect. You should use -lXt. For the XPADE compilation (linking) it will pickup the appropriate libXt from /opt/XPADE/v2/usr/lib/libXt.*
Frequent Advisor
Eder Urruela
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎04-07-2009
Message 15 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

>/opt/XPADE/v2/usr/lib/libXt.*

I don't have that libary in my XPADE/v3/ directories, but finally I get compiling the program using the /usr/lib/libXt.1

but it's very posible it gives me a BUS ERROR

Thank you very much.
Advisor
Kannan M Jeganathan
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 16 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

> I don't have that libary in my XPADE/v3/ directories

You should have /opt/XPADE/v3/usr/lib/libXt.*. Otherwise you could download it from www.hp.com/go/xpade and "Download latest release".

> but finally I get compiling the program using the /usr/lib/libXt.1

You should not use this in XPADE build environment.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,290
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 17 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

>I solved it adding the library /usr/lib/hpux32/libXt.so.1. which have the missing symbols.

This are IPF shlibs. The PA shlibs are in /usr/lib/.
Frequent Advisor
Eder Urruela
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎04-07-2009
Message 18 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

Finally I have use the /usr/lib/libXt.1 because the libXt.a from de /opt/XPADE/v3/usr/lib provoques multiple error of redifined simbols.

I have finally got a successfull compilation, I hope it work, but when I reinstalled the XPADE i don't know if I have touch something I should not touch. but i dont know what.

Thanks again!
Frequent Advisor
Eder Urruela
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎04-07-2009
Message 19 of 19 (833 Views)

Re: XPADE

Closing thread
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.