Re: Java installed is 32 bit or 64 bit (331 Views)
Reply
Valued Contributor
Syedfurquan
Posts: 360
Registered: ‎09-19-2011
Message 1 of 8 (483 Views)

Java installed is 32 bit or 64 bit

Hello,

 

I am using HP-UX 11.31 March 2013 on Itanium Blade 860C i2 server.

 

Now we are in the phase of installing Oracle Middleware and facing issues in installation. As per oracle support they are telling teh java installed is 32 bit.

 

How can I confirm teh version installed is 32 bit or 64bit? I checked older post and found out there is no separate JDK fro 32 bit and 64 bit but how can I confirm this.

 

Attaching soem o/p from server for reference.

 

# /opt/java6/bin/java -version

java version "1.6.0.16" Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0.16-jinteg_09_oct_2012_05_53-b00) Java HotSpot(TM) Server VM (build 20.9-b04-jre1.6.0.16-rc1, mixed mode) # #

 

#file /opt/java6/bin/java /opt/java6/bin/java:    PA-RISC2.0 executable dynamically linked -not stripped

 

# /opt/java7/bin/java -version java version "1.7.0.07" Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0.07-jinteg_2013_07_11_08_03-b00) Java HotSpot(TM) Server VM (build 23.21-b01-jre1.7.0.07-rc2, mixed mode) #

 

#getconf KERNEL_BITS

64

 

# swlist -l product |grep -i jdk   Jdk15                

1.5.0.26.00    Java 1.5 JDK   Jdk60                

1.6.0.16.00    Java 6.0 JDK   Jdk70                

1.7.0.07.00    Java 7.0 JDK #

 

Please help

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 24,853
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 2 of 8 (469 Views)

Re: Java installed is 32 bit or 64 bit

[ Edited ]

>How can I confirm the version installed is 32 bit or 64 bit? I checked older post and found out there is no separate JDK

 

Nothing to check, both 64 and 32 bit java are always installed.

If you want 64 bit, you must use -d64.

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Syedfurquan
Posts: 360
Registered: ‎09-19-2011
Message 3 of 8 (463 Views)

Re: Java installed is 32 bit or 64 bit

Thanks Dennis.

 

That's fine. I saw your earlier post and found same solution.

 

But if java is installed why it is giving error as jre installed is not found. Install java above 1.3 version.

 

Also application team is asking to install java with the application "user" who is going to install application. Is it possible.

 

Regards,

Syed

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 24,853
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 4 of 8 (459 Views)

Re: Java installed is 32 bit or 64 bit

[ Edited ]

>if java is installed why it is giving error as JRE installed is not found. Install java above 1.3 version.

 

Have you exported JAVA_HOME?  What does the error look like?

 

>application team is asking to install java with the application "user" who is going to install application.

 

You want to have another copy of java?

 

 

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Syedfurquan
Posts: 360
Registered: ‎09-19-2011
Message 5 of 8 (443 Views)

Re: Java installed is 32 bit or 64 bit

Hi Dennis,

 

>

Have you exported JAVA_HOME?  What does the error look like?

 

I have not exported JAVA_HOME. How can I do that? The error we are getting at the time of application installation is after completing 92% it gives error something like not able to link java with application directory.

 

>You want to have another copy of java?

 

I tried installing Itanium_JDK_JRE7.0.0.7 and Itanium_JDK_6.0.20 but I installed both on default location with root user and it doesn't help me out.

 

Then we thought unistall weblogic and install it again so at the time of unistalling it fails giving error as jre not found in some directory path it is giving and then install jre 1.3 or above.

 

Regards,

Syed

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Syedfurquan
Posts: 360
Registered: ‎09-19-2011
Message 6 of 8 (436 Views)

Re: Java installed is 32 bit or 64 bit

Hello,

 

Can I install jdk with a specific user like dba?

 

The application team is asking to install jdk with the user installing the application. Please suggest.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 24,853
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 7 of 8 (430 Views)

Re: Java installed is 32 bit or 64 bit

[ Edited ]

>I have not exported JAVA_HOME. How can I do that?

 

export JAVA_HOME=/opt/java6

Or:

export JAVA_HOME=/opt/java7

 

>I installed both on default location with root user and it doesn't help me out.

 

Why not?  If you install it and export JAVA_HOME, it should use that one.

 

>Can I install jdk with a specific user like dba?

 

No, SD installs must use root unless packaged with run_as_superuser=false.

Please use plain text.
Esteemed Contributor
ranganath ramachandra
Posts: 375
Registered: ‎05-16-2003
Message 8 of 8 (331 Views)

Re: Java installed is 32 bit or 64 bit

JAVA_HOME should be set to "/opt/java" or "/opt/java7" .

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation